Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel located on the beachfront in Viareggio. It claims to be 4* but judging it on its current condition this would be 4* some years ago. It's now more like a 3.5-4star hotel. This once fine establishment now caters to a lot of low cost package tour groups which is fine, but if you want quiet and sophistication then perhaps look somewhere else nearby. The rooms are well equipped with a/c, minibar and free wifi. Beds are rock hard! And furnishings are a bit dated. Hotel staff are all pleasant but sometimes casual in their appearance. Hotel facilities are good and it has a lift. Though if you struggle with stairs don't choose an annex room.
3 out of 5
by Colin from Bolton

A very well run, comfortable hotel Great Location

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great enjoyable stay at the Astor - have stayed in other hotels in Viareggio and though not the best its very good. Main issue are the hugely expensive bar prices - after the first time we made sure to drink outside, also there is no pool and use of the local beach is for a payment. The rooftop sunbathing area is wonderful with great views. A very good variety or breakfast items and a really friendly reception team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel on the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Judy from Oakville, Ontario

Good hotel in off season to sight see the area

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
We used Viareggio as a starting point to see Cinque Terre, Pisa and Lucca. Train connections to these places are excellent. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, even upgrading us to a larger room because we were staying for 6 days. Bear in mind this is totally off season and there was lots of room, I doubt this would happen in season, in the summer.
4 out of 5
by Denise from Cheltenham

Great position

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Whilst the position of the hotel was good the room was cramped and furnishings past their best. Wifi was impossible in the room. Good breakfasts!
5 out of 5
by Samira

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Excellent location, close to beach, restaurants

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach, clean hotel rooms, excellent maid service, great views from the sixth floor balcony to the sea and mountains
Cons: don't stay in the standard room
Location: Very close to the beach and walking promenade. Shopping and dining facilities are very close by.
Caution - If you book a standard room, be prepared to accept a room in the older part of the hotel. No elevator, and the room smelled like disinfectant. After upgrading to a room on the sixth floor and getting the room we thought we had originally booked, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was included and very good. Dining on the open air balcony was lovely. We will definitely consider coming back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Caryn from new york city

Decent hotel, nothing fancy

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable rooms. needs a bit of updating but still decent. right on beach and bikes are available.
5 out of 5
by Amanda from Rochester, NY

Lovely hotel, lovely location!

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Astor and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was very spacious, though a teeny bit dated. We had a suite which had a tremendous amount of storage and hooks for hanging wet towels/bathing suits/etc. Our children loved the indoor pool. The location is directly across from the beach, restaurants, and shops, which was very convenient. The street to get to these spots is a bit busy, but cars recognize and obey crosswalks. We rented an umbrella/chairs for a small price across the street for the day, which was perfect. The hotel staff was very accommodating. They called cabs for us upon request and made check out/check in quite easy. The complimentary breakfast was pretty extensive and the waitstaff was very professional and friendly. If you are coming from the train station, you will need a cab, or be prepared to walk 3.5 miles or so, though it is a fairly direct route. Cabs run between $10-$15. Overall, would definitely stay again!