Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as described!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
This hotel is actually not a hotel but a few rooms attached to the villa volpi hotel, a 10 minute steep walk up the hill. All meals and staff are found at villa volpi, there are no real facilities to speak of at suite accommodation. It's not as discribed in the information at all. In fact, we chose to upgrade for €70/night to stay at villa volpi. I would recommend villa volpi but not suite accommodation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

basic! All facilities at neighbouring villa volpi

Posted Aug 16, 2016
At suite accommodation is just a room and empty fridge. Considering this is 30 minutes drive from Lucca you would expect some self catering facilities or complimentary water at least. Breakfast and evening meals are served at villa volpi, a 10 minute walk up the very steep hill. After a day we upgraded our rooms to be on this site. The pool was much better and it meant everything was available on site. I would recommend staying at villa volpi, although I have to say, whilst we were there, the hotel was full and owners Marco and Adrian's, though lovely, just didn't appear to be able to cope with the amount of people staying. We waited an hour and 10 mins to receive a basic lunch of salad and cold meats, as Adrianna both takes the orders and brings out the food. There just didn't seem to be enough staff; in our 5 day stay, the public hotel toilets never had the soap or toilet paper refilled, nor the light bulb fixed. There were huge cobwebs in our room. There was a long wait at evening for meals, to pay etc. The hotel was gorgeous in stunning a stunning location but the service we encountered, for what we paid, does not warrant 4* at villa volpi. I would not recommend staying st suite accommodation at all, there are not the facilities to make the stay comfortable. I don't believe it is adequately described in the information. Even with the most spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside. Regardless, I would highly recommend you hire a car as its €30 each way to Lucca.
4 out of 5
by Janet from Interesting place in gorgeous location

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very hard to find in the dark..!!look for villa volpe where you have to go to register.far in country so dining in adjacent restaurant is main option and food mediocre.
5 out of 5
by Family of 3 from Germany

We would give it a 10 if we could

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
When we called in the afternoon from Milan explaining that we were delayed due to traffic, the desk clerk (Michael) told us to follow the signs for Villa Volpi and that we probably wouldn't make it in until later than we anticipated. He offered to "look for" us if we couldn't find the hotel. We were impressed by his sincere effort to ensure that we got there safely. We didn't get there until almost midnight. Without the GPS and the desk clerk's specific instructions it would have been hard to find at night but we made the trip easily. We were greeted at the entrance to Hotel Volpi (not Suite Accomodation) by Adrianna who is perfectly suited to the hotel industry. She helped us carry in our old cat and showed us to our room, ensuring that our every comfort was met. The room was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. The grounds and views are breathtaking. The comfort of the room was fantastic. We had a king-sized bed and a lovely couch equal to a twin bed. Both were extremely comfortable; we couldn't have asked for better. It was quiet, safe, and the parking was perfect because we could see the car from our window. There were no cramped quarters or tiny parking spaces. Breakfast was good; the coffee was plentiful. The service was prompt and cheerful. The staff was a host of angels. Before checking out we were allowed to see some of the historical suites and buy a book in English which explained how special Hotel Volpi is. We hope to return.
5 out of 5
by Ted

Tranquil villa in the hills

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels
Amazing views, great place to relax. Accommodations are very modern and well maintained.
5 out of 5
by Eirik

Very nice hotel!!

Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels
Very nice staff, view and food!! No complaints!!
4 out of 5
by KLJ

Amazing food and the views are unbelieveable

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels
These villa style rooms are located away from the main building so you have to know to check in at the main hotel. Other than the first confusing bit sorting out which building to check in at, we had an amazing time. If you are looking to just 'chill' while being within driving distance to all things Tuscany. this is your spot. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from torino

Un paradiso sui colli dii Lucca

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Siamo stati una settimana in questa sorta di hotel diffuso che comprende suite accomodation, castello di mammoli e villa volpi. Tutte e tre le strutture sono molto belle ma la principale, villa volpi, dove tutti gli ospiti convergono per la colazione, e' veramente superba. La piscina con vista sui colli vale da sola il viaggio. Ci torneremo sicuramente.