Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful, full of character

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel is about 2 miles outside the city of Lucca, it's peaceful, full of character and charm. Breakfast is great, lots of choice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Fantastic staff - lovely location, very relaxing old style hotel. Ideal base for touring north Tuscany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Comfortable Hotel lovely gardens

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Clean, polite staff, swimming pool
Cons: Thought the evening menu was a little bland in comparison with the restaurants sourced elsewhere
Location: Luca is wonderful, Florence very warm and a little too commercialised in my opinion. The coast is a half an hour train ride away
Nice stay the staff were very accommodating and the grounds were lovingly maintained, enjoyed the alfresco dining. The hotel is about 3km from Lucca centre which is a truly beautiful city, I recommend that you spend some time there. I advise having possession of a vehicle if you stay here as the road is not safe for pedestrians, just watch out for the overzealous Italian drivers hha!
4 out of 5
by Adam

Old world charm

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in the hills just outside the city of the road in from Pisa. The grand old building had an old world charm. The decor is opulent if a little faded. The room wad spacious and the public areas welcoming. It actually felt like you had walked into the setting for a novel set in the belle epoque.
5 out of 5
by John

Nice stay in Lucca

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for one night, and spent time near the pool, and had drinks in the bar, and an excellent meal outside, as it was so warm. Very nice hotel, with lovely features. No other restaurants in the area, that were open, but we had a lovely meal.
5 out of 5
by Angela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carsten

Gem tugged away from the crowds in Lucca

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Extravagance for a good price. Really nice property with lots of history. Garden is gorgeous and staff super friendly. Recommended good restaurants and gelaterias in the area.
5 out of 5
by Tim

One of the best!

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
This was one of the nicest 4 star hotels we stayed in on our 26 day trip through Italy! We would stay here again anytime! The staff was great the room was wonderful! The breakfast was great and grounds are really amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC, NY

Peace and Quiet - just outside of Lucca

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Almost all of the staff is great - especially the front desk staff.
Cons: The bartender could spend a bit more time AT the bar, or watching guests, rather than watching the television.
Location: Some of Lucca's best food is "outside the wall" so here's an ideal starting point to visit them. A fabulous pastry shop, is just across the road.
La Pricipessa is an oasis of peace and quiet. Some may find this hotel too far outside of town, but for us, it was perfect. Lucca is a tough town, since you really can't drive IN town, but if you are staying at La Pricipessa you really do need a car. So plan on parking your car in the ample parking lot at La Principessa - and driving just inside any of the gates of the city. Parking is available as soon as you enter any gate, just pull into a "blue" space and pay the parking meter... then walk and walk all over town, knowing that when you are done visiting the city - a peaceful hotel awaits you and a welcoming staff will be there to greet you. Entering the hotel is like entering the villa of an old friend...(if your friends own magnificent, old villas) There is a wonderful "great room" for gathering and relaxing, an intimate (though invigorating) bar room decorated in bright green and purple with white furniture and a lovely breakfast room where there is a bountiful display to start your day. Many of the furnishings of the villa are period pieces adding to the charm. The beds, while very comfortable, lack serious pillows - a real weakness here. The two flat pancakes provided called pillows are hard. Toiletries are not up to par for a four star hotel either... perhaps a larger bar of soap and better shampoo would add to the hotel's allure. Almost ALL of the rooms are quite large (though try to avoid the rooms on the very top floor, which are more like monk-cells
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely grounds, beautiful building, nice pool

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The setting is lovely and so is the building. Enjoyed swim in the pool Breakfast was good, Manager helpful, recommended fabulous restauran
Cons: our room on the 4th floor was too small; shower door didn't work
Location: The wall around Lucca is a lovely place to walk the town is fun, great restaurants
We enjoyed two nights here, wish we'd stayed longer. Perfect place to recover from flight and drive.Beautiful surroundings, chestnut trees, roses. Gorgeous landscaping. A peaceful relaxing spot.Close to the Old Town in Lucca. We would be happy to return