Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel in Luzern

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The location is great!
Cons: Air conditioning would be marvelous
Location: Lots of shopping and souvenirs, lots of historical sites and museums to see.
We stayed at the Hotel Krone for 3 nights. The location is excellent, in the middle of the old town area, lots to see and do within walking distance. The breakfast was included and pretty good. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning and even with the small fan provided, the room got pretty stuffy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, our stay here was very good and we would definitely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by l, Hotel Management
Dear Sheryl Thank you for your good rating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Small hotel within walking distance of the centre

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Very close to the main central station. Within the city center with shops and restaurants nearby. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Didn't try the food as there were plenty of places nearby to eat. Since we arrived early, we left our luggage at the lobby with no worries. Check in and check out were fast and easy. Just be prepared to pay a small tourist fee per person upon check out. Rooms equipped with tea and coffee (nespresso) machines. No air-conditioning but each room is equipped with a very small table fan that didn't really do the job well during the summer heat. Had to open the windows all the time to let in some breeze. But, by doing so, the noise from the street affected our rest. The noise started at 6:00am with garbage collection and went on with the construction that was taking place exactly under our window. And that's not to mention the noise made by passers-by. We booked two similar types of rooms on the first floor but found out that one was smaller than the other. Felt a bit cheated since the rooms were not identical. However, despite the above flaws, we would recommend starting in this hotel, provided they did something about the heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous location with great staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location & front desk staff
Cons: A/C, better value for breakfast
Location: Everything is nearby
Nice, clean room, with excellent location in old town Lucerne. Walk everywhere to major attractions. Breakfast is good if included otherwise not worth the price. No A/C but wasn't needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bozeman, MT USA

Great location within short walk to everything.

Posted May 27, 2017
Great location that opens into a plaza. Really short walk down to waterfront. Affordable rate. Rooms are nice. Staff was helpful and attentive. Shower was awesome! Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great hotel in the heart of the city

Posted May 23, 2017
Had trouble getting to the hotel using the GPS App on my iphone. Called reception and received excellent guidance. Once we arrived we discovered the location and accomodations were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good inexpensive hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel was inexpensive. I stayed in the single person room and it was nice. Breakfast could have had hot food but it was ok
4 out of 5
by Kristyn

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, location, and breakfast. However, I did not appreciate the construction going on right underneath our window. Prior notification and room change offer would have been nice...waking up at 7am to sledgehammer noise was not fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very impressed

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This hotel was easy to get to - a short walk from the train station, in a beautiful cobblestone square in the Altstadt. Room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well laid out. Breakfast available from 7 - 10:30am (11 on weekends), fresh and good selection. Staff were all genuinely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel overall

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Excellent location; recently renovated; modern room; big TV; comfy bed; helpful lobby staff; decent breakfast Cons: Room is clean but smells not pleasant; a bit chilly even with the max temperature; one of the cleaning ladies was rude
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA, Australia

Good value for Lucerne's Old Town

Posted Jan 17, 2017
After doing a bit of research, we chose to stay at this hotel for two main reasons: 1) location and 2) value for money. Based on these two criteria, Hotel Krone met the mark and did not disappoint at all. The location of this hotel is one of its biggest plusses - perfectly situated in Old Town with plenty of restaurants / cafes / shops nearby. Rooms were small (to be expected) but very well-equipped considering it is only a 3-star hotel. Breakfasts were fine and staff were friendly. If you are looking for absolute peace and quiet, then this may not be the right hotel for you as we could hear doors slamming in the floor above us and noises from the breakfast room downstairs whilst in our rooms. However, if you are simply looking for a comfortable, well-equipped hotel in the middle of Old Town at a good price (for Lucerne), then you can't really get much better than Hotel Krone.