Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Good value for money and great location

Posted Dec 1, 2017
We had the angel room, checkin at another hotel just around the corner. We were lucky enough to get an early check in which was super handy for us. Room was OK, bed was nice and big. There was a coffee pod machine for coffee and tea, bar fridge, umbrella and safe. Pillows were too flat however, ceilings were a bit low throughout the room and the bathroom needed a shower curtain, drain and a higher shower stand. Breakfast was at the check in hotel, good standard European selection cheese, meats, cereals, bread. I personally was very happy with breakfast. There was early morning construction and bells though so if you’re a light sleeper bring earbuds. Also the heating in the room couldn’t be controlled and it got sooo stuffy at night so you had to open windows which meant it was louder with the bells at 5am.. Hotel was overall great value for money and in such a convenient easy location in old town. Everything was walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Pirate bed in ideal location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Our room had a pirate bed! How amazing is that! It also had a view directly looking at the beautiful clock tower of Luzern! Great location overall. The only downside was having to check in one block away, but it was fast and easy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Anni, Hotel Management
Dear Sam Thank you for your good ranking. Hope to see you again here in Lucerne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Excellent location!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Cons: Lighting for reading and a chair for watching tv.
Right off the Reuss River and the most famous landmarks, walking distance to the Bahnhof, all sights and right in the middle of the main shopping area. Good restaurants all around. AND we were upgraded to the King's Suite! You might have to carry your luggage up a short flight of stairs from the elevator. CNN and CNBC available on tv. Definitely would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location to see all the sights of Lucerne

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Great location! The room was very clean and had good amenities, including the soaps, shampoo, and free coffee. Interesting decoration too.
Cons: I think there was a crack or leak in a pipe of the sink in my bathroom (Symphonie Room) causing water to spill on the floor. This could be fixed.
Location: So many options! Chapel Bridge, Needle Dam, Rathouse Brauerei, boat trip on Lake Lucerne, churches, Clock Tower and city wall, Mt. Pilatus.
Fantastic location, less than 2 blocks from the Chapel Bridge and river, and just a few more blocks to Lake Lucerne. Very close to many restaurants and sights of the Old Town. Charming hotel, with a lot of character. Also, it was very clean, and I appreciated that it had free coffee in the room. It was a little bit noisy at night with the windows open, but otherwise, a really great option for seeing the sights of Lucerne.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Thank you so much for the good ranking
5 out of 5
by Xiaoshu

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and nice service. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable in the Center of town

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great amenities. Great value. Great Location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Very Nice location historical hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Very historical building Location is perfect at the Lucerne old downtown 1 min to the lake. Room is clean but no air condition. Price is good worth it Only the first time enter old down town will be very confused about the driving, how to drive to the hotel due to the restrictions showed on the GPS, actually the old town allowed the hotel guests driving in, so just Drive followed the GPS though nearly no other cars on the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Altstadthotels Luzern, Hotel Management
Dear Zy Thank you for your good rating. Wish you a nice vacation
4 out of 5
by Svetlana

Great location, could be noisy, hard to find

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great, but they don't tell you that you have to check in in a different hotel, and it's hard to find if you are driving.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a home run

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
There is no pool, so I am not sure why this place is given a high rating for "pool." That was deceiving to our decision to choose this accommodation. Room was very clean. The only personal product provided was soap. We enjoyed the location in Old Towne, be it somewhat noisy. The young man at the reception desk was disinterested in his job. He greeted us and other guests grumpily and seemed annoyed when his peace and quiet were disturbed. We will stay at/recommend other accomodations.