Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in town.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Very nice staff, close to restaurants and attractions. Room was a little small for my liking, and the A/C unit was not working properly so my room was warm and humid which made it uncomfortable to sleep.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - we walked to everthing.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Location: Right by the Chapel Bridge and you can walk to the city wall and the city Lion. Very nice!
The hotel was easy to find and comfortable for all. Our room was extra large and very nice - lots of windows which was nice for the cool air - not so good when the noise level picked up at night, but with windows closed, no problem. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was excellent as was our server - Oxana from Siberia, Russia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location but not if you want to sleep

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We were in a suite (room 502). There's no air conditioning. Even though it wasn't that hot out the room was stuffy and warm. There are lots of fans but they are not enough. We kept our windows open all the time. You could smell exhaust from the kitchen and the church bells ring ALL night long on the hour (and slightly before the hour) MORE THAN ONCE as well as on the half hour. Don't stay here if you want to sleep!!! The bed was super hard too. The room is a really awkward layout and there are funky angles everywhere that you can bang into. The bedroom door doesn't open fully so beware of banging your shin or toes on the metal bed frame that you have to scoot around to get to one side of the bed. The shower has a really awkward angle so really only half of it is usable. There's a huge beautiful tub in the room but it practically takes up half the space in the mjm part. That space could have been utilized so much better during their renovation but not adding a huge soaker tub. Maybe it gets used in the winter but I can't imagine it does in the summer. On a positive note the hotel staff was very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast was good although I wish there was more fruit. If you want a little break from swiss food the Italian restaurant has excellent pizza!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Your Team from Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz , Hotel Management
Dear LJF, Thank you for your visit and for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you liked our friendly staff, our breakfast buffet and our pizzas. We are sorry that you could not fully enjoy your stay here with us. Our suite is normally very popular especially because of the tube and chimney. We also have other rooms with different furniture and sizes. One information at the end: all church bells in Switzerland ring every hour. (e.g. 12 times + 3 times if it is 3am or pm) This might be new for you but this is Swiss tradtition and history ;-)
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from


Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Good position. Good breakfast
Cons: Get aircon. A replacement coffee machine would have been nice. If it isn't working don't leave it in the room.
Location: Great location. Though surrounded by noisy restaurants. Good when it's cold, I'm sure.
It was hot and humid, the hotel has no aircon, Friday night was extremely noisy with loud music going on virtually the whole night which we could here stifling in our room with the window closed. The lovely coffee pod/hot water machine didn't work. There was no replacement, we were informed that it was being fixed 'next week' after we'd left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Your Team from Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz , Hotel Management
Dear Wotif, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you liked our breakfast and location. All of us are very sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. You are right we do not have an aircon but have ceiling fans and mobile a/cs and we are located in the vibrant center of Lucerne and there is nothing we can do about the noise at night in the street. We promise we would if we could. All the best and kind regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fremont, CA

Extremely difficult to access

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location near the lake.
Cons: Provide shuttle and porter service.
This hotel can only be accessed by walking. We walked about half a mile dragging our suitcases on cobbled roads. No fan or a/c in the room - the weather was 85F and we could not get much sleep. The staff does not speak much English. Stay away!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Your Team from Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz , Hotel Management
Dear Ani Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you you liked the location of our hotel. Obviously you have choosen the wrong hotel for your stay in Lucerne. Next time you should book a modern four or five star business hotel at the main train station with a/c and not a beautiful, historic, boutique hotel in the city center(all pedestrian zone) of Lucerne. By the way - all our staff speak at least 2-5 languages (Englisch, French, Italian, Spanisch, Portugese). Kind regards
5 out of 5
by Cynthia

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017
Dear Cynthia, WOW - Thank you for your 5 stars :-) It was a pleasure to have you here. Hope to see you again one day. Kind regards Your Team Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz
2 out of 5
by Igor

Terrible Choice

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
If I could give zero stars, I would. The hotel is in an excellent part of Lucerne, so I certainly can't fault it at all on location. The problem is how they handle issues that arise. This hotel is an old building and does not have air conditioning, which is expected in a lot of European hotels. We were traveling through Europe and dealt with this just fine, however the way this particular room was situated, it became unbearably hot. It was 30C/86F. After trying everything, the room would not get any cool than that and my wife and I decided to check out around 11 pm and walk with our luggage to another Hotel in Lucerne. The hotel staff was unable to make any refund decisions at the time because the person who could wasnt there. I didn't make much of this because I'm used to a certain level of customer service so I just assumed they would refund me for the night since the room ended up storing luggage for a few hours and then we left. I get an email a few days later when I'm in another country explaining to me that while Americans assume air conditioning is available everywhere that it is not so in Europe (as if I expect them to rebuild old buildings to suit me). Then they graciously stated that they want me to be satisfied with my stay so they credited me 20% of the hotel stay. I have emailed 4 times and have called and this fictitious decision maker is either not around or ignoring me for weeks now. I would not recommend this hotel because they have zero customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017
Dear Igor, Thank you for your feedback here on Expedia. We are really a bit suprised because we are still in direct contact with you via E-Mail to find a solution that fitts both parties you as a guest and us as hotel. As good solutions might need some time, we kindly ask you for your patience in this matter. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Everyday we do our best to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. To clarify for all other travellers and guests: We provide ceiling fans and bring portable fans & aircons on request. Plus noone from the hotel staff confirmed that this guests get a full refund !! So Mr. Igor we will get back to you via E-Mail. Kind regards Your Team Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Centrally located, walking distance to everything

Posted May 20, 2017
Nice breakfast, very nice restaurant and staff, charming lobby, beautiful location
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Team Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz , Hotel Management
Dear Jimmy Wow! Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear, that you had a great time at our beautiful hotel. We all hope to see you again. Kind regards Your Team Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz
4 out of 5
by Maneet

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you Maneet! It was a pleasure to have you here. Kind regards Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz
5 out of 5
by lea

A Great Place to Stay Right on River in Old Town

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lucerne You can actually walk to this lovely, small hotel from the train station. It is situated right on the river and right in the thick of the old town. You walk out the door and the old, charming city is right there with all of its cute shops and great restaurants and fabulous ambience. The amenities were all there, the staff was great, it was beautifully decorated, the price was right and we absolutely would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017
Dear lea Wow! Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you obviously had a great time here with us. Just a small thing to add our clarify: we are located in the heart of the old city center just 2 steps away from river Reuss - but you are right the location is amazing :-) Hope to see you again some day. All the best & kind regards Your Team Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz