Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jaipur

Excellent Location, Right opposite to the Station

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Location, Behavior of the staff
Cons: The breakfast layout
Location: A short walk to the lake, chapel. Its a market close by, so most things are at a stones throw.
Excellent location in the heart of the city, close to the chapel & the lake. Reception desk is courteous. A good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cabada

I stayed in a single room.They are tiny but clean

Posted Nov 7, 2017
I left my room every morning 8:00, even when I came back at 2:00, the room was cleaned. Sometimes cigarette smoke filled the tiny lobby.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Great proximity to train station. Decent place.

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Location is perfect to train station--only 2-1/2 blocks walk to hotel. Typical small European room and bath, but it was fine and clean. Not a big issue, but the front desk is often unattended and service is handled by the sister hotel 1/2 block away. Unfortunately, the elevator got stuck in mid-evening while desk was unattended. I heard their alarm bells and had to walk down to sister hotel to let them know about the elevator. Probably took about 20 minutes to get the guests out of the elevator. For some reason, we did not have hot water in our room at 10PM. I called to the front desk and they managed to resolve the problem for the morning, as hot water was plentiful at 6AM.
5 out of 5
by Fred

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Larry

Not impresive

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Price much to high for a stay in the middle of renovations.
5 out of 5
by Wai Yee

Good

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
We are very pleased with the triplex room and spacious for three people. The room is clean. The staff is very helpful while we stay and give us clear direction to the nearby sightseeing locations. The location is very convenient
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location helps

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Location made it a great place to stay. Room was clean, but small and plain. Expected more for what I paid. Maybe A/C
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably wouldn't stay again

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Location straight across the road from the Luzern train station. Photos are quite deceiving in the hotel advertising. Rooms are very basic and the hotel smells like someone has smoked in it. Very friendly staff, but they are very proud of Monopol (sister hotel) where its like Alpina is just forgotten about completely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, every expensive in Luzern

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Need to check in at Hotel Monopol, then arrange us to stay at monopol hotel , Room is big but no air-con, make surd you can get a room have window, otherwise its really hot even in march
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location and room decor.
Cons: The entrance.
Location: Very close to the train station and a bridge away from Old Town, plenty of eateries and restaurants around. Shopping and Lucerne Museum is nearly.
Hotel is currently under constructions so the entrance is a bit awkward. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is about a block away from the train station and just a bit away from Lucerne Old Town. Room is modern and clean, elevator is small.