Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from canada

character property with great staff

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: as above
Location: as above
stayed for two nights in room called fairway 1 . The building is full of character - exposed beams etc and a great view over the amazing gardens . Very large room with all amenities and a king bed . Bathroom was also a good size - shower no tub if that matters . Breakfast was prepared by the owner in separate building and his wife is the hostess - you could preorder the day before from a huge variety . It was excellent and the dining room again was full of character and classic furnishings . The owners are very hands on , very friendly and keen to offer you information on anything from the history of the property to local and regional attractions / events . All the staff were the same - friendly and helpful - can't say enough positive . The only minor concern was that despite the great character of the room - it was very nice - sound travelled through the walls way to easily .The good news was that the neighbours seemed to know this - they obviously could hear my tv as easily as i could hear theirs - and were to bed early - and quiet :) The grounds are amazing , walk to town is easy - maybe 10 minutes and area / town is ancient and interesting . Loved the owners and staff , loved the character and fixtures , hope the walls can be sound proofed a little or everyone is as polite as my neighbours :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

One night stay

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast, quiet location
Cons: Better signage around the property. Making the room access more weather-proof - enclosing the stairs and verandah from the elements.
Location: Ludlow Castle is within easy driving access. You pay for parking in the town and pay in advance, so you need to guess how long for your visit.
We were driving around the UK in late Nov 2016 and needed to stop in Ludlow for a night. This lodge is on the outskirts of the town, but if you have a car it's not a problem to find. There are multiple buildings to the place and it is slightly confusing to find the check in office as the place if for more than just accommodation. Our room was up some stairs above the office area. It was a bit tricky to negotiate in the wet weather and the vegetation debris over it, but not impossible. Our room (or rooms actually - it was more like an apartment) was quite spacious and comfortable. It would be ideal to spend multiple days for a visit, not just overnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

A Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 16, 2016
We picked the Elm Lodge as we had a day planned at Ludlow races. We stayed in the suite above the office. The room was very nicely decorated and was warm and comfortable, with everything we needed for our stay (and more) provided. The owners and the staff were very welcoming, recommending somewhere to eat that evening. After a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed, breakfast was served in the main house. It was freshly cooked by Barbara and was excellent. Barbara and Steve were extremely pleasant hosts. We left wishing we were staying more than one night and would definitely return in the future for a longer visit, and perhaps do some of the walks suggested in the "things to do" folder in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable base for exploring Ludlow area

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Quiet situation and excellent breakfast
Location: Attractive town with historic interest - castle, parish church, architecture etc. Very attractive hilly countryside - endless hiking opportunities.
Good size room with very large bed and clean shower room. Good tea/coffee facilities. Warm welcome and excellent breakfast. Pleasant quiet country situation, yet only a few minutes from centre of Ludlow..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
A very comfortable place to stay. Easily the best place we have stayed at in Ludlow. A twenty minute comfortable stroll into the centre of the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good Hotel in lovely country surroundings

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Our room, the food and staff plus we were away from the town centre and so was quiet and relaxing.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Elm Lodge has a golf course, walk out to the country or head in towards the town of Ludlow. Its about five minutes or so by car into Ludlow.
The Elm Lodge was attractive in a quiet country area just on the outskirts of Ludlow town centre. Our coach house was roomy attractive clean and warm, looking out to the tree tops. The staff were helpful friendly and breakfast selection was very good and food was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Somerset

An excellent place to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: A very quiet location, handy for Ludlow town centre - set in beautiful scenery.
I can't fault this place. So many hotels have only one easy chair so the other occupant has to sit on the bed to watch TV. Not this one, though. It provides a sofa. The choice of breakfast food was much better than one usually finds. The staff were approachable and friendly. And one gets a fridge containing complementary bottled water and real milk in a jug.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Quiet stay in a rural location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and friendly hosts
Cons: Room just needs a bit of TLC with perhaps matching curtains, bedding and sofa. Fluffy towels would have been nice but ours were flat and worn.
Location: Location was lovely with a short drive into Ludlow for evening meal on recommendation from host. Charlton Arms hotel and Wheatsheaf Inn were great
A lovely retreat with a friendly couple making your stay a comfortable one with superb breakfast. Superior room was a big room with new bathroom. A bit dated in the bedroom and although decoration was good it needs new curtains and declutter of artificial flowers and modern decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: everything could not fault
Cons: Nothing although location direction off main road on website could be clearer.Good
Could not fault the location, comfort, friendly owners, breakfast also excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Spacious, clean, comfortable, peaceful, excellent breakfast, lovely view from room, and friendly and helpful hosts. Very good value for money.