Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
The location was good if you want to stay in the northern part, far from the old part though, the hotel looks old, breakfast was not good. Wouldn't go back,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Nice, clean hotel in a great location; friendly staff, usually. Breakfast on the terrace w panoramic views across rooftops of Rome.
Cons: Better choice at breakfast. Limited toiletries. Reception was rather frosty when we checked in at midnight - a smile or two would have helped.
Location: Close to Via Veneto, elegant side of town; walking distance to Borghese and Trinita dei Monti (Spanish Steps) - but we walked almost everywhere!
Great base from which to explore the Eternal City. 4th floor room, small but clean. Back facing, view to the inner courtyard, into other people's rooms. Better view from the terrace where breakfast is served. Good espresso, prompt and polite service. Limited choice of cold cuts and one non descriptive type of cheese - this in a city that justly prides itself on fabulous food! Overall, satisfactory for a long weekend away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Classy and quirky

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Overall a pleasurable experience. Sophisticated area of the city , ideal base for a sightseeing trip. Staff helpful and generally service ok. Negative; As this was my wife's 50th I paid a £260 upgrade for a suite, primarily as facilities included, a jacuzzi and multi function massage shower. Unfortunately neither fully worked ( most of the jets ). After 3 trips to concierge and promise of repair, I was then informed that the jacuzzi wasn't faulty, it was just never fully installed to work ?! Likewise the shower. I am loathed to pick fault, but these were offered as key features of the upgrade and really were not fit for purpose!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Posted Aug 31, 2017
An amazing hotel. We love staying there. The air conditioning did fail in our room one night, but the problem was speedily fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice Hotel, Close to main sights

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Great location with an awesome rooftop restaurant.
Cons: A/C unit was noisy and the bathroom was in need of an update.
Location: Walking distance to most of the sights in Rome, except Vatican City which we took a cab to.
We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our time there, especially the rooftop restaurant (breakfast and dinner) with a nice view of the city. The room was pleasant with the added bonus of having a tub in the bathroom (did not see another during our 3 weeks in Italy). We were able to walk to most of the main attractions (15-35 minutes) and the staff was extremely helpful with directions and gave us a map. Because of the structure of the building, we had to take two separate elevators to get to our room but outside of that and a randomly noisy A/C unit, our experience was very positive and we would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Easy to check in & out, neighborhood appeared to be pretty quiet, AC worked great (we were there during a heat wave)
Cons: Parking details (see above), AC could not be left on in room without your key being in the slot - so basically it can't be left on while you are out.
Location: Website says they are near all major sites but it's misleading, they're near things by car but not so much for walking
Easy to check in & out, neighborhood appeared to be pretty quiet; AC worked great (we were there during a heat wave) - but only when you are in your room. You can't leave the AC on without your key in it which was kind of annoying; no parking available. Website says there is parking & also a valet available but actually they call someone from another facility to come & get your car & the price is based on the size of your car/ When we checked out, the paperwork had not been completed & no one at the front desk knew where my car was but luckily someone finally found it. That was a tense few minutes!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay at Romanico Palace

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay. Very friendly service. Good area to explore the sights. A little problem with shower leak. Excellent breakfast on rooftop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good hotel reasonably close to city centre.

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Air con worked really well on what was the hottest week of the year.
Cons: Water for tea at breakfast could do with being hotter.
Location: Recommend Disco Volante restaurant. 10 mins walk from hotel and excellent quality and value.
Really enjoyable stay. Centre of Rome about 20 mins walk. Bus stops right outside. Air con works very well. Comfortable beds and rooms. Nice all you can eat breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulfport, MS, United States

Overall, a good experience

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: I liked the authentic Italian experience, and most of the staff.
Cons: Add an ice machine for your American tourists.
Location: Everything is within a short 30-45 min walk. Just wear comfortable shoes & bring Band-Aids if you blister easily.
The hotel was nice, clean, and in a good location. It is within a good walk from the attractions. The last night, as we were packing up, the lights in the room went out in the hotel but we were able to hang out in the lobby that was lit until all the lights came back on. Most of the staff was amazing, but some seemed to never smile. My biggest complaint from being an American was that I missed having a nearby ice machine. I know most of Europe drink room temperature drinks, but I do not enjoy that. It was an unusually hot week and it was a chore to get ice from anyone, anywhere you went. It would have been a nice relief if the hotel had an ice machine for it's tourists to use. We are helping your tourism industry and i don't believe ICE should be a luxury item. Still, an enjoyable experience that I would recommend.
3 out of 5
by Rosalind

Unhappy stay at Romanico Palace

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
When we checked in we were given a smaller room than the one booked. We were moved the next morning but the TV did not work properly, it did not work in the room we had the previous night either. Different members of staff kept telling us very different stories things about the problem. We complained several times and told nothing they could do, bad luck! We stayed an additional two days as part of a tour in the same room with no TV. The Hotel were not really interested in trying to deal with the problem, or provide any compensation except an offer to us to move on the last afternoon of our stay just before going out with a group for the evening! All very unsatisfactory.