Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Food needs improvement. Rooms need updating.
The rooms need updating but were clean. The restaurant was overpriced for the quality of food. The area itself is absolutely beautiful but this hotel could be outstanding with some updating and work on their food. All staff encountered were really helpful and engaging.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted May 22, 2017
Hotel location was absolutely beautiful. Lobby, front desk and dining room were spacious and very nice. Unfortunately our room was not on the side with any kind of view. It was a lot smaller than most hotels we've stayed in and the bathroom was very small. There was a small balcony which was nice except it was right beside the road to the back lot and across from us was a house. Parts of the outside showed it's age and could use a bit of TLC. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Desk staff were very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
The hotel was clean but very out of date. The restaurant was very good though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Passage, NS

We always enjoy Oak Island Resort

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We had a great Family Easter Weekend. There were tons of activities for kids, big and small. The only downfalls were having one of the few rooms without a balcony, no fridge and the pool was almost impossible to get into on Saturday because of all the kids in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Get Away Spot

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Very relaxing retreat not far from our home
Cons: Park the truck elsewhere please ;)
Location: I am from the area originally so our intent was not to explore off the resort. We were content to stay onsite and enjoy the amenities there.
We booked a 3 days get away not far from where we live and were looking forward to just relaxing and enjoying some time away. The resort was very quiet while we were there. We only saw a few other guests and a conference going on so it was pretty quiet. We had the dining room to ourselves for breakfast one morning. Everyone was very friendly, the food was delicious (especially the chocolate cake!) and the room adequate for our needs. Only one little complaint: we had paid extra to book an oceanview room and for all but a few hours of our stay a black pickup truck (which we later found out belonged to the resort) was parked outside our room obstructing our view. There were many areas that truck could have parked other than in front of our view.
5 out of 5
by Colleen

pleasant trip

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay.We were a bit disappointed that the pool had a problem with the heating. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The selling feature was they didn't charge for our 15lb dog. We are already planning another visit.
4 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Nice hotel with excellent location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities (pool, sauna, spa, gym, hot tub), restaurant
Cons: Room floor was extremely cold - mats or area rugs would help. Also, more space could be provided to lay out toiletries in the bathroom.
Location: ocean front hotel
The hotel is very nice and the facilities are excellent. We stayed for one night and booked an ocean view room with 2 double beds. Unfortunately the room was located on the main level and was freezing cold when we arrived. We turned up the heat to max level and returned several hours later to find the temperature reasonably comfortable. The hardwood/laminate floor was freezing throughout our stay and we could not walk on it without footwear, not even in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok .....

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: If the weather is nice Im sure their would be lots to do.
Cons: Fridges in room ....
Location: Very nice place to visit.
The hotel is ok. Staff was friendly. Was dissapointed that there was not a fridge in the room. Carpets were quite dirty. Reminded me of a simple hotel, not really worth the money. Food was expensive ..... I recommend not going while their are Christmas parties booked. The walls are not very sound, we were kept awake by party goers all night. Not a great thing for the family ....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

A beautiful spot overlooking the ocean.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Disappointing. No towel hanging place in bathroom, no space in bathroom for more than a toothbrush sitting in a puddle of water, no space on one side of second double bed in room. Hotel not busy. I wonder why they don't upgrade you to a nicer room when there are so many rooms empty. Wouldn't that make you happier with your whole experience? Restaurant food delicious, but a bit pricey.