Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TALLAHASSEE

convenience hotel to everything

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: the convenience to everything
Cons: the restaurant
I had a nice stay but wasn't happy with the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

older building

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Air conditioner not very cold. Luckily it wasn't too hot outside. Older building, clean. Average, not exceptional
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by N.H, Hotel Management
I am sorry that AC was not working properly . I am going to look in to myself. Thank you for your survey.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Disgustingly dirty..rug, tub, fridge. Dont stay here.no upkeep, smells moldy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Nita, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (540) 743-6511. Sincerely, Roger Patel General Manager Best Western Intown of Luray
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
It was ok ... bed was uncomfortable but room was clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vernon, NJ

Poor Housekeeping/Customer Service

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet at night would be about the only thing I can say was good.
Cons: Housekeeping and Customer Service
Location: Easy access to Luray Caverns and to Skyline Drive for hiking.
Stayed 2 nights. Hotels are very limited in this area. We returned to our room after 4:00 P.M. after being away all day. Housekeeping never came to clean our room. My husband called the main desk to let them know. Their response was, "housekeeping has already left for the day. If you had called us 10 min. earlier we could've sent someone." Well, we were out all day, not our responsibility. Someone brought up clean towels, that was it. At check out, I again let them know how dissatisfied I was with their housekeeping. The person behind the desk responded, "well, we only do very limited cleaning anyway." Not the kind of response a customer wants to hear. I want to know that a "clean" room is a priority in a hotel. No discounts/apologies offered. Poor customer service. Would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by john L, Hotel Management
I m sorry for the issues during your stay. Unfortinitly our front desk staff is not trained in housekeeping. We are training new housekeepers and I will look into why your room was not cleaned. Since you booked through a 3rd party we were unable to offer any discounts as anything we discounted would not have went to you but to your travel agent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Endicott, NY

Hotel close to Luray caverns

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Cons: Continental Breakfast
Location: Caverns and museums nearby, not sure what else.
We were here only 1 night so didn't have a chance to really rate too high. No complementary breakfast and that's a big one for me seeing we are a family of five. They did however give a coupon for breakfast the next morning. We chose this hotel due to the fact it was close to the caverns and brand. Rooms weren't the most comfortable but good enough for a night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by john , Hotel Management
I am glad it was ok, but I will look into what we can do to make any possible future stays better, we are working with the onsite restaurant to see what we can add or change to better suit our hotel guest.
4 out of 5
by Alexandra

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by front desk, Hotel Management
I am glad you had a good stay and hope you can stay again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to caverns, pretty clean, simple, adequate

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Staff pleasant, room simple and clean "ish", there was remnants of toothpaste on bathroom mirror. We did find a piece of candy against base of bed. Air conditioner adequate. Location is down the street from luray caverns and in the opposite direction into town of Luray.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by front desk , Hotel Management
I am sorry for these issues, I will personally take a more active role in our housekeeper training .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by front desk, Hotel Management
I hope we can make your nxt stay better,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Yorktown,VA

Clean, basic, comfortable

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Very clean and located close to restaurants and area attractions.
Cons: Clarify that breakfast is not included in room cost.
Location: Luray Caverns is fun but $25, great hikes nearby. Gennaro's Italian restaurant was good but a little pricey. Rancho Viejo has great food and cheap!!
The room and bed were comfortable and the room was quiet although the hotel was mostly full. My one complaint...no breakfast! Usually Best Western provides an included hot breakfast but this one does not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by john L ., Hotel Management
I am glad that you enjoyed the attractions and some of the local dinning. I and also glade that you hade only one issue and that was the breakfast. We are working with the restaurant owner to see what we can add or change to better accommodate all of our hotel guest.