Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
It was ok ... bed was uncomfortable but room was clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vernon, NJ

Poor Housekeeping/Customer Service

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet at night would be about the only thing I can say was good.
Cons: Housekeeping and Customer Service
Location: Easy access to Luray Caverns and to Skyline Drive for hiking.
Stayed 2 nights. Hotels are very limited in this area. We returned to our room after 4:00 P.M. after being away all day. Housekeeping never came to clean our room. My husband called the main desk to let them know. Their response was, "housekeeping has already left for the day. If you had called us 10 min. earlier we could've sent someone." Well, we were out all day, not our responsibility. Someone brought up clean towels, that was it. At check out, I again let them know how dissatisfied I was with their housekeeping. The person behind the desk responded, "well, we only do very limited cleaning anyway." Not the kind of response a customer wants to hear. I want to know that a "clean" room is a priority in a hotel. No discounts/apologies offered. Poor customer service. Would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by john L, Hotel Management
I m sorry for the issues during your stay. Unfortinitly our front desk staff is not trained in housekeeping. We are training new housekeepers and I will look into why your room was not cleaned. Since you booked through a 3rd party we were unable to offer any discounts as anything we discounted would not have went to you but to your travel agent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Endicott, NY

Hotel close to Luray caverns

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Cons: Continental Breakfast
Location: Caverns and museums nearby, not sure what else.
We were here only 1 night so didn't have a chance to really rate too high. No complementary breakfast and that's a big one for me seeing we are a family of five. They did however give a coupon for breakfast the next morning. We chose this hotel due to the fact it was close to the caverns and brand. Rooms weren't the most comfortable but good enough for a night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by john , Hotel Management
I am glad it was ok, but I will look into what we can do to make any possible future stays better, we are working with the onsite restaurant to see what we can add or change to better suit our hotel guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to caverns, pretty clean, simple, adequate

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Staff pleasant, room simple and clean "ish", there was remnants of toothpaste on bathroom mirror. We did find a piece of candy against base of bed. Air conditioner adequate. Location is down the street from luray caverns and in the opposite direction into town of Luray.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by front desk , Hotel Management
I am sorry for these issues, I will personally take a more active role in our housekeeper training .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Yorktown,VA

Clean, basic, comfortable

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Very clean and located close to restaurants and area attractions.
Cons: Clarify that breakfast is not included in room cost.
Location: Luray Caverns is fun but $25, great hikes nearby. Gennaro's Italian restaurant was good but a little pricey. Rancho Viejo has great food and cheap!!
The room and bed were comfortable and the room was quiet although the hotel was mostly full. My one complaint...no breakfast! Usually Best Western provides an included hot breakfast but this one does not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by john L ., Hotel Management
I am glad that you enjoyed the attractions and some of the local dinning. I and also glade that you hade only one issue and that was the breakfast. We are working with the restaurant owner to see what we can add or change to better accommodate all of our hotel guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To many problems

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Toilet plugged. Switched rooms. Door wouldn't lock. Repaired twice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by John L , Hotel Management
I am sorry for the issues during your stay , we have had a professional plumber come in and inspect the toilet and plumbing system. I am sorry that there was some confusion with the room the you were moved to , it was set to be out of service due to the do lock, but the staff that moved you miss understood the notes. as It was repaired but needed to be tested .
5 out of 5
by Meleah

Definitely a bargain!

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
This little inn was much older but cleaner than expected. Service was very good. Right on Mainstreet as is everything and enjoyed the restaurant right next door as well as the local bakery just a mile or so down Mainstreet and the local deli.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad that though we are a little older , we were better than suspected. We pride our self on doing continuous renovations to try to keep our facility as competitive as possible.
2 out of 5
by BR from Fl

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
I'm not normally that picky , but I'll probably spend an xtra few bucks and try other properties on next trip to Luray. Housekeeping staff could use a lesson in cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry about this , we are in the process of training new staff in perpetration for the upcoming summer season, and I will personally follow up with there cleaning and training.
2 out of 5
by Shane

Not worth the money

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was friendly and that is all that was good. Room was dirty, no towels or soap in shower. Beer left in refrigerator from a previous guest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I will personally look into these issues. We do have several new Housekeepers and I will follow up with them and our trainers and inspectors to see how this could have happened.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

one discovery in bed, ruined the whole stay.....

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: front desk switched rooms right away
Cons: better cleaning stuff, thermostat ddn't seem to work, had to operate heater directly, heater was barely heating in the new room we were given.
Location: luray caverns
upon arrival after a very long drive we wanted to lay in bed for a few minutes. as soon as we picked up corner of the blanket we saw...an empty, opened condom bag.... of course 0 stars for it and 1 star for promptly being given another room. after checking out new room and not finding any used condoms or anything of that sort, we were still disgusted to touch anything or use coffee etc. and just couldn't enjoy our stay there anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by front desk manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry for the ruff experience that you had, I will personally look into this matter further. We standardly pride our self on clean and comfortable rooms, I want to assure you that this is not a typical of our establishment.