Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice...

Posted Jan 18, 2018
It was a nice getaway trip.... I like the jacuzzi tub and how it has a separate bedroom from the living room... The only thing is that the tv is in an weird place from the couch....so we moved the couch so we cos see it better and the trash that was under it was unbelievable.... I had to sweep it up... I just recommend that you just take an extra few minutes to clean under it.... The room other then that was awesome....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
The room had an odd smell and the drain for the shower was horrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Disappointing

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Had to switch rooms because the heat wasn't working. Then in the new room, the smoke detector's battery was low so it beeped all night. Showers were gross. Couldn't wait to check out. Only plus is that it is close to the Luray Caverns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond, va

Great Stay

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Room was freezing, heater didn’t work properly, tub was not deep soaking, wifi sucked but overall great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Four miles to Luray Caverns

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: The closeness to Luray and a Walmart. Also not far from the other caverns in the area. All are about and hour away in either directions.
Cons: The bed, linens and cleaning of the AC/heat unit. The bed was not sturdy on the frame. The linens were not the best quality. The drain of the sink.
Location: Luray Caverns are 4 miles away. Walmart is about 8 mins away. More restaurants are in Edinburgh, VA, which is about an hour away over the mountain.
This hotel is really close to Luray Caverns, which is the reason i was staying there. The room was ok and served its purpose. There were a few things that were not that great, but if you are out and about the whole day, it works for just a place to sleep. The sink did not drain quickly and was really slow, along with the flushing of the toilet. The shower head and pressure was good and tub clean. The AC/heat unit needed to be cleaned. I took it upon myself to clean it as best i could, since we did need to put on the heat and i did not want to breathe in yuck and gunk from the unit. It needed to be vacuumed and housekeeping did not do it when asked, so that is why i went ahead and did the cleaning with a washcloth myself. The bed was ok, although my husband and i could not sit at the edge of it at the same time, since the whole bed would lift up in the air. It was comically at first, but i just worry if you have kids staying with you and they are playing on the bed. I do think the hotel needs a good update to all the hotel rooms, so that they would be more welcoming. I know this hotel has rooms with spa tubs and kitchenettes, but i really think they could downsize those and focus on updating the rooms with new beds and linens. Shenandoah Caverns, Endless Caverns, Skyline Caverns and Grand Caverns are all about an hour away from this location. There are not many restaurants in the area, but there is a Walmart 8-10mins down the road. More restaurants in Edinburgh, VA.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Bathroom was filthy, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in forever. The shower wasn't working correctly. After turning it on the water started to come out and then just stopped. Meanwhile the water coming from the sink shot out like a firehose. The cable went out while watching TV. Our "room with a view" was a view of the dumpsters. There are no rooms on the back side of the building to see the mountains. All of the rooms are on the sides of the buildings. And breakfast was stale mini bagels with jam. Just rent a cabin. That's what we should have done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luray, Va

Convenient but lacks quality

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Location is perfect when it comes to food, fun, and scenery. However, the staff seemed new, or extremely uneducated, when it came to giving directions or any sort of help regarding attractions... so we had to find them ourselves... The room itself was overall clean, but the shower lacked any sign of pressure at all. The drain was clogged so a shower quickly turned into a bath... There were outlets missing covers... The refrigerator hardly kept a bottle of water cold in the freezer compartment.. And the door to the room had to be forcefully pulled/pushed to get it open... Continental breakfast, was a few oatmeal packs, some bread and a little yogurt... Cost comparison to the other smaller motels was lower and certainly less expensive than the cabins but as with anything in life... You get what you pay for...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

pictures are deceiving

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: attendant very polite and understanding.
Cons: everything
Location: caverns and golf next to the hotel
the pictures online are deceiving.... the smell of the room horrible. the area that lead to our room which was on the 2nd floor was dirty- feces on the floor. My family and I had to move to another hotel. - The great part of that visit was the attendant was nice and refunded my money ASAP which helped in order to book another hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Room For Improvement

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Room door didn’t close right, gym was out of order and at check in the clerk didn’t seem to be aware of it, internet was fast when it worked. Bed and pillows very comfortable and room was nice and clean. Fridge and microwave worked fine. Pretty good for most part. We had a little dog so it was a pet room. It smelled clean. Got room thru Expedia. At check in I couldn’t get a receipt after using a credit card. Hmmm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Did not look like the pictures I posted on Expedia. The breakfast wasn’t anything to brag about for being a continental. The shower and towels were small.