Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Spent plenty of time day hiking during Thanksgiving weekend! It was relatively quiet and very relaxing. We saw a lot of deer and even got to see a bear on our last day which made our trip complete!
5 out of 5
by elizabeth

Great job handling an emergency

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
I have to commend the hotel for how it handled an emergency -- a wild fire that shut down much of Skyline Drive, the only highway into the property and forced them to temporarily evacuate. With the hotel/road closed, we were worried about being locked out with all our stuff in the hotel room. Luckily, emergency officials allowed people staying at the inn to return before they allowed other people on the connecting road. The hotel got guests like us (who were out hiking when the evacuation occured) back into our rooms as soon as possible. They did a good job taking care of their employees, who also evacuated, and were able to get the restaurant (the only place serving food in ALL of Shenandoah National Park at this time of year, with no food in the surrounding countryside for many miles) open again by 6 p.m., just half an hour later than usual. We would stay there again. The quality of the food and service at dinner and breakfast was as good as ever.
5 out of 5
by Barry

Relaxing vacation

Posted Nov 17, 2017 on Hotels
Not too many places you can go stay in the mountains, overall very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Sybil

hiking

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
comfortable, meal prices at the restaurant were a little more than we expected, but food was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carroll County, Maryland

Relaxing and peaceful

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Skyland let us Checkin at 1:30 pm which was nice. The room was clean and cozy. There's no refrigerator in the rooms so bring a cooler if you pack snacks and drinks. The view was beautiful. We enjoyed sitting on the porch outside the room and enjoying nature. Bring a bottle wine and sit back and relax. The television only had 14 channels but we hardly watched any TV. We did the 1 hour horseback riding trail ride. It was pretty low key. My horse did get spooked and started galloping but it added a little excitement. The ladybugs were going crazy this time of year. One actually bit me. We ate at the lodge restaurant for dinner. The food was ok. It was good but not excellent. Everyone was very friendly and courteous. I would definitely return to Skyland.
5 out of 5
by Jeanne

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing view! Loved the balcony overlooking the mountains.
4 out of 5
by Denise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Excellent location - room not niceT

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The location, food and view.
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: We enjoyed all of the overlooks and local wineries.
The location was excellent. Views from both room and restaurant were amazing. The actual room was very outdated and was not clean. Fixtures in the bathroom were not clean . holes in wall . toilet did not work properly. Room was very dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
It's an old but well maintained hotel with cabin type rooms, good facilities including restaurant and taproom, and spectacular views from the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Skyland Oct 2017

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Location is great, rooms are good and the on-site restaurants are fair. Staff are courteous and knowledgeable. The food and food service is hit and miss.