Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Laurel, NJ

Nice Hotel, wish we had more time to spend there.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location, easy access, great views
Cons: The Electrical hookup in the Room for the Coffee Maker!
Location: Horse back Riding Stables nearby, great walking paths & trails
Circuit Breaker blew each time we tried to make a cup of coffee in the room in the morning. It was hard to reset, but other than that had a great time. The Food in the Restaurant did not get a good rating. My wife had the NY Strip Steak and it was tough! She sent it back and got a Pot Roast which was a little better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

A great place to stay a night.

Posted May 16, 2017
Skyland is an old but cared-for resort near the highest point of the Skyline Drive and a few miles from the amazing caverns at Luray. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are basic but comfortable. The views are great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs

Posted Apr 1, 2017
We thought it appeared older and charming. Room was old. View was amazing. Entertainment in the evening was amazing. Woke up in the morning with bugs all over the bed. Yep! Bed bugs. What a hassle! Told the front desk. It sounded like they had a problem in the building we stayed in. They gave us a room to change into clean clothes and mentioned that they had never had a bed bug issue in those rooms. We bagged everything up in large plastic bags and went down the mountain to a laundromat and spent the next two hours doing laundry. Hope we don't get bed bugs in our house. So sad our trip ended this way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You're in Shenandoah NP! It can't get better!

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
You're in the middle of Shenandoah, meaning short trips to all the locations. We stayed at the end of the season but with full color. The view off the balcony was nothing but serene. The restaurant and pub are a short drive away; I wouldn't risk it walking at night tho, as you'd be going through some very dark woods. Big, historic resort, with some buildings showing their age and wear and tear of a long season. Our building (Craigin) needed some rehab on the bathroom but it was functional and the room itself was very comfortable. Housekeeping was excellent. The resort's computer system needs some tweeking to facilitate billing. I think a weekday stay is better as it is less crowded and quieter. It's a short walk to a couple of good hiking trails, which intersect with the AT. If I were to return I would stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Classic Lodge with beautiful views, friendly staff

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Our family stayed for Thanksgiving and enjoyed their famous buffet . The staff was friendly and helpful with no bad attitudes about working on the holiday . The food was hot ,delicious and plentiful . Overall it was a nice experience especially since there were no dishes to do . The lodge is not a 5 star resort but it is a historical classic lodge with comfortable clean rooms and amazing views .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Utility charges

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
We paid $156.00 for a one night stay at the hotel, and were then charged an $8.00 "utility" charge when we checked out for our usage of the water and lights. If this is something that is a standard charge by the Shenandoah Park Service, it should be included in the overall billing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: We loved the view from our window/balcony.
Cons: I would like the restaurants to take reservations so we wouldn't have to wait so long to get seated.
Location: Great hikes, some with waterfalls and the visitor center is really nice.
The room is nothing special, but the view more than makes up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome view!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Though it's pretty old, very clean and comfortable. View from the window is awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old world charm

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Very unhelpful check-in guy. Making conversation was like getting blood out of a stone. Very overpriced food in the Taproom. Old world charm in the rooms. Functional but tired. Warm and beds comfy. Beautiful park so worth all the above to be staying in the thick of it.