Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carroll County, Maryland

Relaxing and peaceful

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Skyland let us Checkin at 1:30 pm which was nice. The room was clean and cozy. There's no refrigerator in the rooms so bring a cooler if you pack snacks and drinks. The view was beautiful. We enjoyed sitting on the porch outside the room and enjoying nature. Bring a bottle wine and sit back and relax. The television only had 14 channels but we hardly watched any TV. We did the 1 hour horseback riding trail ride. It was pretty low key. My horse did get spooked and started galloping but it added a little excitement. The ladybugs were going crazy this time of year. One actually bit me. We ate at the lodge restaurant for dinner. The food was ok. It was good but not excellent. Everyone was very friendly and courteous. I would definitely return to Skyland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Excellent location - room not niceT

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The location, food and view.
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: We enjoyed all of the overlooks and local wineries.
The location was excellent. Views from both room and restaurant were amazing. The actual room was very outdated and was not clean. Fixtures in the bathroom were not clean . holes in wall . toilet did not work properly. Room was very dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
It's an old but well maintained hotel with cabin type rooms, good facilities including restaurant and taproom, and spectacular views from the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Skyland Oct 2017

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Location is great, rooms are good and the on-site restaurants are fair. Staff are courteous and knowledgeable. The food and food service is hit and miss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Very convenient location and a beautiful setting. Friendly service, good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh Pa

Beautiful View

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: This hotel has a great view, a breakfast buffet for $14 dollars. There was a great gift shop with friendly staff.
Cons: Improve the keys and locks to the doors. They are old and with the wet weather it was a challenge getting the door open. Small room refrigerators.
Location: This resort was a half hour from the finish line of the Vacation Marathon Race. 40 minutes from Luray. Just being on the mountain was beautiful.
You have to love the mountains and out doors to appreciate this place. We had a foggy, rainy start arriving during the remnants of Hurricane Harvey. That was a challenge driving up and down Skyland Drive. Everything else was great. Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and enjoyable food. My only suggestions would be investing in updated locks for the doors and getting room refrigerators. I plan on staying again. My daughter ran a marathon during our Labor Day stay. The resort was only a half hour away from the finish of the race.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Va

Rustic stay

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Great location but older style and thin walls in the rooms, I also asked for a later checkout but looks like housekeeping didn't get the messeage as they were knocking at 10am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Wonderful views, great location to visit the national park. I will recommend the hotel but remember that it is not a place for party but instead to connect with nature and outdoor activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful view of mountains

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenience to trails and views
Loved this hotel. This is a typical lodge for the national parks. The building is old but you can' t beat the views and the fact that you are lodging in a national park. It is what I expected. At dinner at the restaurant and the food was good. Would definitely recommend and stay again. If you are expecting a 4-5 stAr hotel go so,ethereal else but it is great place to stay after hiking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Ebookers
Beautiful national park. Accommodation in serious need of an upgrade.