Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Classic Lodge with beautiful views, friendly staff

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Our family stayed for Thanksgiving and enjoyed their famous buffet . The staff was friendly and helpful with no bad attitudes about working on the holiday . The food was hot ,delicious and plentiful . Overall it was a nice experience especially since there were no dishes to do . The lodge is not a 5 star resort but it is a historical classic lodge with comfortable clean rooms and amazing views .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: We loved the view from our window/balcony.
Cons: I would like the restaurants to take reservations so we wouldn't have to wait so long to get seated.
Location: Great hikes, some with waterfalls and the visitor center is really nice.
The room is nothing special, but the view more than makes up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome view!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Though it's pretty old, very clean and comfortable. View from the window is awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old world charm

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Very unhelpful check-in guy. Making conversation was like getting blood out of a stone. Very overpriced food in the Taproom. Old world charm in the rooms. Functional but tired. Warm and beds comfy. Beautiful park so worth all the above to be staying in the thick of it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Neglected

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The view was beautiful and we were fortunate to have lovely weather and to be able to see the fall colours. The dinner was excellent, after a long wait. An amazing location on top of the ridge.
Cons: The carpet in the room was the dirtiest I have ever seen, and I have travelled a great deal. The room furnishings and bathroom have been badly neglected, although the staff try hard to make it look nice. There is no booking system for dinner and everyone arrives around the same time so we had to wait for ages to get a table. There are no other places to eat for miles, so there is no other option but to wait.
Location: Fantastic location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Needs an overall cleaning and update

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The food was delicious and we had a great view of the mountains. The gift shop was very nice.
Cons: The whole facility lacks any warm decor. Fireplace not lite in October, sparsely decorated for fall. DIRTY! The lobby, office and Resturant all needed to be cleaned. Dirt under lobby sofa and chairs. Dirty carpets from the day before in the bar. All tables and chairs need dusting and wiping down. Seems to be no housekeeping staff for those areas of the facility. Doesn't seem to have enough housekeeping staff overall because our room was not ready on time. 2nd rate photography for sale on the walls everywhere adds to the already great need to be decorated. It could be so much better then what it is. Once again the Federal Government subcontracting services to a second rate company.
Location: Location is wonderful...location was the reason for the trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore,md

terrible office staff very disorganized

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The food in restaurant was good and the lady at the grab and go was especially nice.
Cons: Dinner
Location: ok,it is on the Skyline Drive
first gave a room far from restaurant and had no glass in outside door,only screen . Eventually got settled in a different room FTER 8 PM. we started check in at 2.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, very relaxed.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
The room is adequate, I do think tea/coffee facilities should be available in the room. However overall, the location and sunrise are fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Lovely Views

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Situation- great for sunset photos.
Cons: All needs modernising; towel rails putting on straight, hooks straight, decent TVs, blind winders present and functional.
Location: Lots of hiking available, numerous photo opportunities both views and wildlife.
Skyland is in a wonderful position with glorious views out to the north and west. The hotel itself looks and feels a bit tired; the lower rooms are ok; there is no wifi signal there, the TVs are very old with limited channels, the fixtures and fittings basic with lots of 'bodge' repairs evident. The hotel room walls are thin so yelling children are audible next door or below. The park itself is lovely, lots of walks and viewpoints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Great location!!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Beautiful and peaceful area. The only thing that bothered me was the people next door who came in at 2 am with their dog barking!