Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

A necessary safe & comfortable environment

Posted May 1, 2016
Cons: Heat the pool!
Location: Good location opposite the German embassy & surrounded by many embassies, so you feel like you're in a good neighbourhood - certainly better than CBD.
Lusaka is a less-than-desirable place to be so it's nice to get away from that and stay somewhere that feels more like home in the west. It's a safe and comfortable hotel but quite clearly a little old and tired. You expect a lot from an InterContinental but you know you're not quite going to get the same standard in a place like Zambia, so we let them off where they were lacking, and we were fine with that. The most notable thing in this regard was that the staff were totally out of their depth. They were friendly and tried hard but simply didn't understand things that you would normally expect reception and restaurant staff to understand in a good hotel. No big deal, it just reminds you that you're in a backward country where standards in most things are low, including education. Probably wouldn't hurt to send committed staff to a busy city hotel in a western country just so they can see what their guests are used to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for airport and city centre

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Convenient for airport and city centre. Comfortable room. Helpful at reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south africa

Air con wasn't working in my room.

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Had food poisoning, still not well. Not good experience for me. On checking out was made to pay a lot of money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england/zambia

grand hotel in heart of Lusaka

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Large imposing hotel in centre of capital Lusaka, beautiful lobby & main entrance but general feel of hotel a little tired. Food ok but nothing special. Busy at weekends with different venues. Overall good value imposing hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Nice Business Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Location and ambience
Cons: Security for Kids who are staying in some rooms. the Windows are bit Old andn looks bit unsafe
Good Experience, Old Building, Warm and welcoming. Trained Staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lagos

Okay Place. No big deal.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Okay place. Facility ageing though. Helpful staff. Had to do a video recording late in the evening. The staff found someone to come over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Great place to relax and connect with friends or family
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Need improvement Need to understand what it is promoted online Needs to honor what they are promoting online through a booking engine Needs better communication between reservation, online services and front desk Should not double sale what has been paid for by using a booking engine Should not to nickel and dimes the customers Needs better customer service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
For an international chain, I was extremely surprised how they NICKELS AND DIMES you for everything and how the staff will argue with what they offer online; talking about the FREE BREAKFAST, telling you that it is incorrect and try to resale it to you when you check in. Fortunately, the managers on duty, at my arrival, after couple of hours of arguing, he honored my accommodation with Free Breakfast and upgrade me for the first two nights and when I had to add one more night the same thing happen again and, after showing them online how it is advertise, they honor the FREE BREAKFAST but did not honor the upgrade. If I have not stayed in other Intercontinental hotels in the last 5 years, I would never used them again, but since I had better experience, I know this does not reflect the chain but that particular hotel. If, it was not for that and giving me a USED toothbrush and toothpaste that was already open with nothing in it, I will have extended for my stay for 3 more nights and recommend it to the world. But, base on these two experiences, I have nothing else to add.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cotswolds, uk

safe, solid, conventional 5 star luxury in lusaka

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency of the hotel staff room size, décor and views. great gym, pool (cold) and tennis courts
Cons: the hotel did feel pretty generic and the restaurant menus and buffets, shops and bar areas could have shown a little more warmth and imagination.
Location: fairly central, but (short) taxi rides needed to CBD, main shops and manda hills
everything was perfectly reasonable and very efficient. all the boxes were ticked, though the pool was out of action for maintainence. good food and service, efficient transport to and from airport. the hotel did feel pretty generic and the restaurant menus and buffets, shops and bar areas could have shown a little more warmth and imagination, hence the 4 not 5 rating