Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: The hotel had a number of restaurants but the variety of snacks was rather limited. I am not a big eater and rely on snacks and a lot food was wasted
I stayed at Lusaka Intercontinental fro May 17 -20. The shuttle bus took very long to collect us from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tg

Nice hotel with 24 hour gym that has free weights,

Posted Apr 11, 2017
A great place to stay in the heart of the political district in Lusaka
4 out of 5
by Samantha from Shropshire

Homeward bound from Lusaka

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Just what we needed after adventurous 10 days in Zambia prior to flights home. Good hotel, good location. Bar service poor, waited forever for food but other than that a very enjoyable overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by Walter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

A necessary safe & comfortable environment

Posted May 1, 2016
Cons: Heat the pool!
Location: Good location opposite the German embassy & surrounded by many embassies, so you feel like you're in a good neighbourhood - certainly better than CBD.
Lusaka is a less-than-desirable place to be so it's nice to get away from that and stay somewhere that feels more like home in the west. It's a safe and comfortable hotel but quite clearly a little old and tired. You expect a lot from an InterContinental but you know you're not quite going to get the same standard in a place like Zambia, so we let them off where they were lacking, and we were fine with that. The most notable thing in this regard was that the staff were totally out of their depth. They were friendly and tried hard but simply didn't understand things that you would normally expect reception and restaurant staff to understand in a good hotel. No big deal, it just reminds you that you're in a backward country where standards in most things are low, including education. Probably wouldn't hurt to send committed staff to a busy city hotel in a western country just so they can see what their guests are used to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential not being realised.

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very helpful and the food was great with a wide selection for both breakfast and evening meals. Lack of attention to detail was an issue for me. We did not have electricity in the room on the first night and one of the towels had evidently not been washed. Our booking included breakfast but staff were apparently unaware of this. Fortunately I had the voucher to enable me to prove this and get the charge removed from the bill. Would probably not recommend the hotel to anyone for accommodation but would be happy to return for a meal.
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for airport and city centre

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Convenient for airport and city centre. Comfortable room. Helpful at reception.
4 out of 5
by jacob from Copenhagen

Wifi trouble

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed for 2 weeks and the wifi was consistently mal-functioning. An army of IT minions were running around puzzled and various staff provided a zillion stories like "we fixed the server now", "it should be working now", "the overdrive ZD switch has been re-configured for higher XT performance", "the IT team tell me it is OK", "the external provider did not deliver but it is fixed" etc etc etc. Every evening when coming back from work and meetings the same thing. I know Zambia is generally bad at IT, electricity, generators, and stuff like that, but I had expected a 5 star hotel to do better. Other than that all was OK. Good restaurant, friendly and effective waiters and staff, fine gym and pool and so forth.