Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Just a business hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Moved to that hotel after getting so frustrated by the poor condition of the Protea Cairo Road in the centre. This was much better, but it is nothing special. A good business hotel, that's all. Breakfast was not great, but there was a lot of choice. Room was clean, but A/C very noisy (and I checked the A/C filters that were really dirty) Close to Arcades shopping centre, so easy to find decent dinner options nearby (or take a taxi to horseshoe steakhouse nearby)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by RH, Hotel Management
Dear Etienne, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka. Your feedback has been shared with the TEAM. We appreciate your bringing to our attention the A/C problem . Kind regards R. Holland
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Protea Lusaka stay

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Staff are friendly and hotel is clean.
Cons: Larger safe to fit a laptop should be mandatory. No plug sockets for charging laptops, phones, etc - had to grovel behind the TV to find a plug!
Location: Hotel is well positioned within Lusaka and close all the main attractions/activity
Badly designed hotel and awkward positioning of public facilities. Gym should be essential in this product and basic things like a safe to fit a laptop (it barely fitted a 11" Mac Air), or plug sockets for charging should be mandatory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by RH, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you for sharing your experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott. We rely on GUEST feedback both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We have noted your comments and shall share with the rest of TEAM. Kind regards
4 out of 5
by Joseph

Lusaka Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Not the fanciest place around but the location and staff charm make this hotel a good overall bet for business travelers. Wifi could be better.
4 out of 5
by Vincent from Manhattan, KS

Great staff...

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent as always
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Walking distance to shopping, eating and movies N/A
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel if you have business to do in Lusaka
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zambia

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Not too good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
First of all, the best thing about the hotel is the staff. From checkin, to housekeeping and everyone, terrific staff. I have stayed here three times now at the Protea at Arcades Shopping Center in Lusaka, Zambia. But I must say, the air conditioning units are so loud you can't sleep. My room was above the Casino entrance, so I heard people coming and going all night. The place overall is just looking worn and even tattered. Chipped furniture, chipped tiles in the bathroom, worn fabric on the furniture, a cracked window pane in my window. The staff is terrific and keeps everything professional and clean, but the physical space is more like a one or two star hotel, and certainly not worthy of the price as there are lovely hotels in the area priced similarly.
3 out of 5
by Kristen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels