Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Internet was pathetic

Posted Apr 4, 2017
There was wifi.... Room on 5th floor did not have wifi for 3 days of our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley Heights, NJ

Great Hotel, Location, Food and Facilities

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: All offices nearby
Loved it. Was greeted well on arrival. Rooms were nice and clean. Food wa excellent. Overall a great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana, USA

Excellent staff and support.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Beautiful hotel in prime location. The staff is attentive to guest comfort and satisfaction. The hotel gym is excellent and contains the most up to date workout equipment (even supportive of crossfit workouts). The breakfast bar is exhaustive and the two restaurants give a variety of enthnic foods and cuisine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Big spaces, overall cleanliness, proximity to most business and government offices.
Cons: As above.
Location: As above.
As above. Closer attention however needs to be paid to the toilets flaushing system in the room I stayed in (304). Also bed covers were not turned down for the evening.
5 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very helpful at reception and on check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very fine hotel with lots of green in wide garden

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Garden with lots of green and good hospitality of hotel persons
Cons: None
Location: None
I enjoyed very much a big breakfast in every morning and then beautiful greens in garden and also good hospitality of the hotel in my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Descent hotel at a quite locality... good ild prop

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Enjoy staying here... its a no frills business hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
We found the hotel lovely and also the staff wonderful. The grounds were immaculate and setting was out from the main hotels in the downtown with a gorgeous setting. Took one out of feeling like they were in an overcrowded city in Africa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No WiFi and mediocre service

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The bad: For a supposedly premium luxury hotel that has been in Lusaka since 1979, the Taj is surprisingly mediocre or inadequate in many areas, most glaringly in not having WiFi beyond the lobby. The Zambian staff are sweet but incompetent (five mornings in a row I had to ask for coffee three times before it was eventually brought to me. Also, it took them 3 hours to change my room after I pointed out it had no WiFi despite their promises that it would have WiFi. And then they put me in a room with barely any WiFi again. Nobody ever cleaned the pool the entire week I was there. Waiters would mysteriously disappear at the restaurants for up to an hour or more without ever coming back to check on your table and appeared confused by their own menu. The doormen didn't seem to know much about where things were in Lusaka, namely other hotels and things to do). Management clearly isn't making an effort to train its staff. The good: Beds are comfortable and lobby and outside area are quite majestic.Food in the restaurants (if you pick the right dish) can be spectacularly good, particularly the Indian cuisine. Nonethless I will try the Intercontinental or Southern Sun next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but customer service can be better

Posted Oct 6, 2016
For a high priced hotel, the restaurants and outdoor facilities were of top quality; however the hotel's responsiveness to small requests was not satisfactory. They regularly forgot to stock tea and coffee in the room, laundry instructions were mixed up and did not allow a late check out despite being low on occupancy. Overall decent experience but could be great with small improvements.