Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Stayed at the Cromwell a few times, always clean, with great rooms . Comfy beds , clean bathrooms and a nice range of tea and coffees in the room. Great staff too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveleys

Lovely hotel in the centre of the old town

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Just found the room small but clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hereford

newlly refurbished hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Some rooms are quite a distance from reception and have several steps .advice about this would be appreciated by those less able
Location: See above
Excellently located hotel with beautifully refurbished rooms and restaurant which offers a range of food at competitive prices. SItuated in the High Street which has a range of shops and eating places yet is quiet at night.Excellent value for money in a hotel with good transport links.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel near the town but more relaxing, also

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Location: We have a daughter and family who live in Knebworth so very convenient for us.
We were in room on the ground floor,very nice room but very dark could do with some more lighting also the situation of plugs for hairdriers etc were to far away from the mirrors which made it quite difficult. however everything was excellent and we will definitely stay again in the future, your refurb is lovely we have stayed many times. Thanks again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA, USA

Wonderful, cozy hotel with a great restaurant

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: I honestly cannot think of anything that went wrong, didn't work, or disappointed me. Oh, the pillows on my bed were all too fluffy for my neck.
Location: Great in-house eating, lots of nearby restaurants and shops. Tesco right across the street. Stevenage was the perfect central point for my travels.
Stayed at The Cromwell for three excellent nights. Easy to find, with plenty of parking and convenient shops nearby. Provided a great location to serve as "base camp" while exploring nearby Bedfordshire. My accommodation included incredible breakfast, traditional and then some, the perfect start for my days. The same kitchen also serves Rump and Wade restaurant. So impressed by my first dinner there, I made a point of coming back the following night (Sunday roast!), and was equally pleased. Nice people, comfortable facilities and grounds, generally quiet, if you don't mind an occasional jet high overhead. I highly recommend The Cromwell, and hope to stay there again in the future.
4 out of 5
by paul

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
It's a lovely hotel and will stop they again for sure
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nikki

Good location, been recently refurbished.

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Good location for the old town and the whole place has recently undergone a refurbishment.
4 out of 5
by Steve

Only stayed one night but would recommend.

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our one night stay . The staff were very good and the breakfast excellent although only scrambled eggs available ! Good value for money .Would stay here again .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels