Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Grand hotel with character

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Soft Bed Beautiful surroundings Spacious room Friendly staff
Cons: The air conditioning was letting out hot air instead of cold
Location: Walked into Letchworth and enjoyed its array of pubs and restraunts
Had a lovely stay at this hotel in walking distance to Letchworth. Used the pool at the leisure centre next store which was great. Loved the old features through out the hotels interior.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Lisa K, Hotel Management
Dear Karen What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The old parts of the hotel date back to 1625 and really do bring some character to the place. The next time you visit with us please dont hesitate in asking the team about giving you some of the history of the hotel. Kind Regards Lisa Lisa Kearney General Manager
2 out of 5
by Robert

Be careful with your booking!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is amazing, could be perfect to stay here for everyone apart from one thing we experienced and that is why I rated 2 out of 5: I had my birthday on this weekend and staying in that hotel was a surprise from my fiancée. We both work in catering which means we cannot really afford day off (especially two days off) in the weekend. So after like 5 years this was our first weekend off (apart from our holidays) together. It was pretty hard to manage to have weekend off for both of us but we did it. So my partner booked the room just a few days in advance when she knew we will have weekend off for sure. She did request early check in and late check out for paying extra to strech our weekend a bit. The hotel was fully booked, so she was not able to sort it out, but it obviously was not the hotel's fault so no complains about it. But she was not told that there was a wedding in the hotel, and our room was literally right above that room, where the party was held. The music was so laud like it was played next to us. I was so exhausted after my 16 hours shift on Friday I fell asleep very early, but my partner could not sleep until the party was over. Our 3-year-old son stayed awake screaming until like 10pm as he wasn't able to sleep either, and usually he goes to bed easily around 7-8pm. We were planning to use the pool the next morning before we had to check out, but my partner was so exhausted and slet so long that we were happy we didn't miss the breakfast in the morning.
3 out of 5
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant to be able to use the health club

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Pool facilities
Cons: no
Location: Lovely location
Hotel good, grounds pleasing, staff helpful, food on the expensive side, but it was brilliant to be able to use the health club pool.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Damien

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Did not get the impression swimming pool was that family friendly. Seemed very limited use for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Nice hotel close to town and park

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Very nice and the breakfast buffet is really good....staff are friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by Lynn

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Business trip best thing the pool and gym faculties- food was not great and service in the first instance to get seated was very slow room needs redecorating and I would suggest that the doors are slam proof as some of the hotel guest where slamming doors and being noisy double glazing may assist to reduce the outside noise of cars leaving at 5 am dinner was not great choice and served up appearance and taste was bad lady on reception was very good .
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Martin

Good business hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Large bedroom with modern bathroom. My room was at the end of the old hall and was just above the reception. Nice and quiet at night and ideal location for Hitchin and Letchworth. The gym is excellent and free to hotel guests