Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Melanie

Shanghai Surprise

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The most amazing location and grounds and hotel combination. Quiet and secluded but right on a main thorough fare - grounds are simply stunning. Because the grounds are so spacious - you feel like you are in the countryside. Once you step outside the gate you realize you are in the hustle and bustle thick of Shanghai. Staff is incredibly accommodating. Excellent place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

hotel with great history but service is lacking

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: history, bed, amenities, breakfast
Cons: service.
Location: location is pretty good, though coming in and out can be tricky on the first 2 days for cab drivers as it is like a maze inside.
This is an attraction on its own, for the history and the beautiful gardens in the hotel grounds. Intercontinental Ruijin is an oasis in the buzzing city of Shanghai and a peaceful and calming place to call home. The bed is huge and really comfortable, the breakfast spread is quite amazing and the amenities in the room and out were all pretty outstanding. The only thing lacking is proper training of the hotel staff, especially those at the front desk and the bell boys. Also, the lobby could do with a little music and some essence in the air.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel , Hotel Management
Dear philip, Thanks for your compliments for our large&comfortable bed, the breakfast and the room amenities. And we also noted your concern about the hotel staff training. We will improve the staff training to meet guests' expectation. If you have any further enquires, please do not hesitate to contact our duty manager. Welcome to our hotel again in the near future. InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel
4 out of 5
by Jean-Louis

Convenient Luxury Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
On the whole Very very pleasant stay, beautiful location, staff very helpful and service minded on the low, Not possible to change prefixed high temperature in the room despite noticeable efforts by staff Not cheap compared to equivalent competitors
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Lovely park setting at the heart of Shanghai

Posted Dec 13, 2016
I only stayed one night but made full use of the lovely surroundIngs from enjoying a delicious coffee in my room with the window open to swimming and working out in the fitness center to walking the grounds to enjoying a mid morning tea in the sunny cafe. Wonderful place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smokey hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Confused why there were locals in the hotel. Guy literally had his door open and smoking. Made the entire hall stink. Hotel staff did nothing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel staff and great location

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Centre of the RuiJin district. Shopping opportunities and great food options
A lovely setting in the middle of Shanghai, great to see some of these old building have survived the expansion of the city. Hotel staff were fantastic and friendly. Facilities were good and restaurant was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good Hotel with bad management

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Location is a bit off the city centre and it is hard to get a taxi
Staff do not have proper training. They do not maintain order resulting chaos when we were checking out(people jumped line).The breasfat area is not properly organised and food are placed in an disorganised manner.
5 out of 5
by Toby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
it was nice to stay comfortable and very good service. every workers are very kind and gentle.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Ft. Worth, TX

Fantastic hotel in a great location in Shanghai

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Truly a beautiful hotel. The grounds are spectacular, and the surrounding neighborhood is very safe, with plenty of parks, shopping, etc. The breakfast/dinner buffets have a wide variety of excellent food, but very pricey. I would recommend looking into adding on the "club" access for happy hour.