Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Dump, go somewhere else.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Terrible from the get go. Not worth it. Everything about the hotel and cheap, but not cheerful...
3 out of 5
by YUNFEI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

my stay

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: I don't like anything about this hotel
Cons: everything needs to be improved
Location: location is away from everything
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and I would never go back there even if it was for free. they lied and misrepresent themselves. the hotel is a bit far from the center and wi fi does not work.
3 out of 5
by Norman from Canada

Jitai Hotel is Ok

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
A bit of a walk to nearest metro at Shaanxi South station, line 1 & 10, but location is ok. You want exit 3 at station but a long walk up to street level so take exit 4 and walk across past the entrance to exit 3 and keep going. Walk straight until you come to Julu Rd. then turn right and find 242 on the left side of the road. A branch of ICBC is not far - go out hotel and turn left, turn right at first corner, it's on the left side of street in next block. A great Yunnan restaurant called Di Shui Dong is nearby. Biggest problems - off/on again wifi & I made the mistake of choosing a windowless room. You can get better rooms but further away. Value for money would be ok if same rate for a room with a window in same location.
2 out of 5
by Guofei from NY

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
The place has a convenient location. Staff are warm and friendly. However, my room smells damp and smoky (though I requested a non-smoking room).
3 out of 5
by Helena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila, Philippines

Quite close to the subway

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Holiday
Cons: Food and english speaking staff
Location: Near the former french concession where high end shops are available. It's also near toa number of chinese and asian restaurants and bars.
Our experience was a bit ok though we chose a room without a window. Had i known that there was no window in it, i wouldnt choose it but instead choose a room with a window. Exhaust was not really functioning well so everytime we got inside the room, bad odor welcomed us. We were staying there for 6 days. Food? They served the same breakfast menu the whole time. Though i like their food, but it would be good to serve with a lot of options. Good thing is that, it's quite closer to subway line 1. It's so easy to transfer or go to another places. But a lot of taxi drivers didnt know about the hotel. If you wanna stay there, please prepare important chinese words because all the hotel staff do not know how to speak english.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

We'll located but shabby and in need of updating.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: One staff member in particular made this tolerable
Cons: Get more good and helpful staff - get on with upgrading
Location: Walking distance to downtown
No internet to speak of - some staff helpful but others disinterested. Getting around difficult if you don't speak Chinese and the walls are thin, the place a bit dank and in need of update. Cheap but not that cheerful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenny from toronto

Very convenient location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Good price, convenient location, staff are polite and knowledge.only issue is the internet speed is too slow
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by anthfp from Sydney

Good location, mediocre standard

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location, price, room size, a bit of old-style charm
Cons: Dirty windows. Lobby smoking. Unpredictable issues. See above. I believe it's now under new management. Current construction opposite.
Location: First, the title +location information is WRONG. The hotel is nowhere near Renmin Square. It's at a great location though. See above.
I stay here weekly. First, the title +location information is WRONG. The hotel is nowhere near Renmin Square. It's at a great location though, on Julu Rd, between Ruijin +Maoming Roads, about equidistant between South Shaanxi Road + West Nanjing Road metros. It's 10 minutes walk to either metro and from there you can quickly access all of Shanghai's attractions. It's an old style hotel, with some charm, but very run down, and things are often not working. On different stays, there's been trouble with either heating, hot water or wifi. There are the standard issues with Chinese hotels: smoking everywhere, including in the lobby, escort cards under your door, a complete absence of window cleaning and sometimes (not always, some are helpful) surly staff. If these things shock you, good luck avoiding them in this country! But, on the whole, the location and a little deco charm do the trick. IMPORTANT: Some sites will show this hotel with an option for "Room with Windows". Be aware that only the 3rd tier "Business" option has windows with street views. The 2nd tier "Room with Windows" will get often you an internal room with a window onto a lightless shaft and wall. NOTE: There's currently construction work opposite which may annoy those who want to sleep during the day.