Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old French precinct

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Aesthetically beautiful and very comfortable. A small breakfast served on a tray in the dining room was included in the price.
Cons: A drawback for us was the limited English spoken by even Receptionist staff so we did not manage to arrange some things we had wanted assistance with.
Location: There is a fairly large park close be and a range of eating places , plus many options for shopping nearby (including an Apple shop).
We loved staying in this beautiful building designed by famous French architect Lafayette; it's a reminder of former, grand times. Our room was very spacious with lovely furniture and though it faced the street, no traffic sound intruded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Wonderful historic hotel. Well located in the former French Concession
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cool stay in gracious area

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very very cool old mansion converted to lux property. Beautiful room/ bath really lux. Bed ok. airflow on my courtyard room weird. staff pro and nice, English can still sometimes be challenging, but hey its China. I'd return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Comfortable stay and beautiful hotel.

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Good location and good service.
Cons: No.
Location: Train station is nearby and lots of shops around.
Room is very tidy and comfortable. When we walk in the room, we saw 2 big pears on the table and later afternoon they sent another 3 oranges to our room. So nice. The bed is very good to sleep. The room is very classic and beautiful. We love it. We definitely will stay in this hotel next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty Good Hotel.

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The Mansion Hotel has impressive and interesting rooms. Cleanliness and comfort were good. The wifi was bad. The area around the hotel is excellent and walking distance to many shops, restaurants and bars.
5 out of 5
by PETER from Melbourne

A great find in Puxi

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely small hotel with a fascinating history. It would be nice for guests to be able to learn more about its former owners and its history. The most comfortable bed we have slept in. Great that you can open the windows even if it was mid winter - very unusual for a hotel. The two slight disappointments were the breakfast (limited by western hotel standards) - and the quality of the WI-Fi which could have been stronger.
4 out of 5
by Julian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Great looking hotel on the exterior but totally spoilt by the shabby room and filthy carpet.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas from Los Angeles

Boutique hotel old style - love it

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great small hotel with character and amazing location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, great ambience

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Location: Near the northern edge of the French concession, with lots of cafes and shops close by, and a metro within 200 metres
Lovely old-style building, good facilities, helpful staff, and we were lucky to get good rates for the off-season