Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Mrs H from Wiltshire

Splendid room

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed just one night on a trip home through Europe, the hotel is conveniently situated just a couple of miles form the motorway junction and sits on the very border of Luxembourg, France and Germany - it's a historically interesting site. The main building is an impressive chateau, and there are other wings also accommodating visitors, which is where we were. We had a family room, and it was delightful - our son had a small double bed to himself, in a connecting room with a lovely shower room beyond. The beds were clean, crisp and luxurious, the decor was very pretty and the room was blissfully quiet. Everything required for the weary traveller. We didn't have breakfast as it was quite expensive and we opted for a cafe down the road, but would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Ilka from Sydney, Australia

In the Footsteps of History

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
As travellers we chose the Chateau Schengen as an overnight stop because it was the Schengen Agreement signed here which allows borderless travel. Thus, the Schengen Castle is a formidable historical stop, right on the Moselle in Luxembourg, just across from France and Germany. The castle hotel is absolutely stunning, with wonderful grounds, parks and gardens, a nice breakfast room and restaurant and terraces to sit and relax. The European Museum and Monuments are right next door. The room was cozy and comfortable; the only thing we missed was tea and coffee making facilities.
5 out of 5
by robin from uk

great stopover

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely location great hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful, stylish accommodation

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The Chateau de Schengen is wonderfully located on the banks of the Moselle, and comes complete with its own 'Rapunzel Tower' in the garden. The overall atmosphere was very restful and peaceful - despite being right in the middle of the town at the heart of Europe (with Germany, France being only metres away). It harks back to more elegant times. Our only regret was that we had so little time there to soak it all in. Definitely a keeper for the future.
2 out of 5
by West from Colorado

Nice area but a few issues

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
Nice area, nice ambiance, good view from hotel, clean room, no AC (normal for the area but it was very hot), somewhat snobby and aloof hotel staff, stiff bed with flimsy pillow, mediocre breakfast for 15€ each, which we didn't find out until we went to check out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beatiful chateu outside luxemburg city

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Remodeled chateu with confortable room. New bathroom. Elevetor and goodbreakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, good location

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Cons: A means to boil water and a few cups, disposable cups are fine.
Well maintained gardens and property. Clean and friendly. Parking only available on the street.
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Scotland

Overall pretty cool place

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels
Chateaux de Schengen is a beautiful hotel set in stunning gardens on the Moselle river. The rooms are spacious and the bed is the most comfiest bed ever ! However limited place to put your clothes, our bathroom window didn't have a blind ( shower and bath directly next to a plain glass window ) . The restaurant was expensive , but very good food if a special occasion. The breakfast service was not that great - ran out of rolls and white bread.