Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem, IL

The Basic rooms are very far from being 4 stars

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Cleanness! Very helpful staff at the front desk! Amazing location! I meanit can't get better than that.
Cons: Replace old mattresses. Use real pillows. Replace worn out towels/robes/blankets. Free WiFi to the masses, and not only to rich costumers.
Location: The entire old city's hotspots are like 2min walk at most. restaurants, cafes, bars, shopping - its all super close and very easy to get to.
Its a "location trap": 4 stars hotel, dream location, only 120$ per night. Here are the issues I had: - The worst thing were the mattress and pillows. after a couple of nights, my back was so trashed by the old supportless mattress, that I couldn't even sit on my bed due to heavy back aches. My neck felt like a strung spring, and I couldn't turn it either side. I spent my last night on the floor, and rolled one of the blankets as a pillow (the pillows were flat and way too soft to be usable). it was way better than the bed. - The towels and robes that were provided were so old and worn, that it crumbled on my skin when I used it. it was the opposite of soft, since the cloth was bleached and washed so many times. - the "Free WiFi" was free for the first 30min. Yes, Jan 2016, where every one star hostel is providing free WiFi as default, and here it costs 19Eur per day. - Maintenance was non existent! upon arrival I saw that the battery of my safe is empty, so I asked for a replacement so I can use it. I also filled up the "Maintenance card" that was provided in room and hang it on my door as I was requested. But it was never been fixed during my 3 nights stay. After a couple of days, the front desk told me I can use their safe, and bring my laptop and other valuables to them whenever I'm out, but I used my friend's safe instead. since he was next door, and I got used to it already. Everything would be meaningless if only I could get a good night sleep :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tustin CA

Nice stay in Luxembourg

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Staff was very helpful and friendly
Location: City marketplace fun at Christmas
I was a nice clean room with functional desk and plenty of space. Great for a reasonable rate for a business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milan and New York

A classic european, old-style, top notch hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Style.
Cons: Wi-fi offer (allows you 90 min for free, not unlimited)
Location: Very central, probably the most central.
central, with ample view in front, very busy and entertaining center city Luxembourg steps away. Old style decor, typical ambiance, detailed interior, hosting social events in limited space, thus very amicable interaction. Perfect for an deep european experience. E.g. hosts two of the oldest elevators of the Grand Ducate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Downtown Los Angeles

Los Angeles to Luxembourg

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Location, ambiance, price
Cons: I like it the way it is.
Location: Eateries, bakeries, shopping, library, farmer's market, supermarket, laduree patissier, Brioche Doree eclairs,
We took the train from Brussels to Luxembourg, it took about two hours and was about 60 euros round trip. Upon arriving at the train station we took a taxi to the hotel. I was very impressed with the hotel since the reviews were not that great. As soon as we stepped into the Grand Hotel Cravat I immediately felt the history of Luxembourg. The old elevator and metal key made this city girl feel comfy. We got room #219 which had a large balcony whose doors opened up over the shops. I'm a sucker for photos so this room was perfect for a mini photoshoot. The tea was equipped with tea for later and although some would say the decor was outdated, this is what gives this hotel the charm. The toilet is in a separate room which is a plus and the bathroom had a nice large bath which was perfect for soaking in after a long day full of exploring the town. Perfect location for sightseeing, walking distance to shops, eateries, farmers market, Alzette River. The city was very relaxing, quiet and we felt safe walking at night. We had late night dessert downstairs in the restaurant and that's where I had the best little chocolate cake with caramel drizzle. Did I mention that once it got dark and we headed up to our room the maid staff turned on our lamps and removed our comforter to get the bed ready and cozy for us. They even laid a cute mat on each side of the bed that said "Goodnight" now these are touches that no new modern hotel would think of. I could go on and on, I love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Generally ok

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Fine, except for an old lady obviously belonging to management who was loudly and lengthily bickering with a client at the reception creating substantial unwanted noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great Lux city hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Great location and very friendly staff. The hotel is older and has lots of charm and character. great room with large terrace. We loved Lux!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by spoon13

Business trip

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on HotelClub
Excellent emplacement et accueil. Chambre et SDB très spacieuses. L'hotel est cependant très vétuste, les meubles très usagés. Si vous ne portez pas d'intérêt à l'aspect moderne, cet hotel convient pour un séjour. Le calme n'est pas assuré la journée du fait de la proximité du boulevard. L'hotel mériterait d'offrir le WIFI gratuit ce qui pourrait compenser un peu sa vétusté. Je reviendrai sans problème.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carlos from Blumenau SC

Muito Bom

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel com ótima localização e próximo ao centro antigo.