Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasantly surprised - fantastic stay

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Comfy bed, enormous room, lovely bathroom, nice staff.
Cons: Would have liked a kettle in the room.
Location: Easy walking distance to the Grund and the old town. Perfect for getting buses or trains out of Luxembourg city.
We weren't sure what to expect having read some of the reviews but we had an excellent stay here. The staff were lovely, the hotel is well situated, the room was enormous with a very comfortable bed and great facilities. If you are the type of person who really worries about out of date décor or a worn carpet then don't bother staying here but you will be missing out. The only possible extra thing we could have wanted was a kettle in the room. We would recommend this hotel highly and will definitely stay again if we return to Luxembourg.;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent rooms and directly opposite the station

Posted Aug 30, 2015
A very grand and impressive hotel. Queen size beds in the double rooms, supremely comfortable and plenty of pillows unlike some hotels. Bathroom very nice and everything was in good condition, if slightly dated. Excellent location and helpful staff. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Very nice hotel immediately next to train station

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Very nice room and very accommodating staff in a fantastic location.
Cons: Well, I would have liked breakfast included. An iron and ironing board. All hotels charge too much for laundry.
Location: If you come to Luxembourg stay here. You can walk to whatever you need to see or hop on a train or bus across the street.
We stayed only one night. We had obligations in another town and the Hotel let us store the bulk of our luggage for 2 days before our stay at the Mecure began. We appreciated that gesture, even though we expected that hospitality. The bus and train terminal is across the street providing very easy access to the city and outward towns. When traveling in Europe do not under value being close to transportation hubs. In Luxembourg 2 Euros gets you train and bus service (combined) for up to 2 hours. You can travel many kilometers out of town and back for 4 Euros; you can use this hotel as your "hub" and see much more of this beautiful country. The room was very nice, and had several "English TV channels; I did not go to Europe to watch TV but when the evening was over or the morning was beginning it was helpful to get news,weather, and some entertainment on the TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in a convenient location

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Generally good service, and a nice hotel. Decor a little tired. Road traffic noise was the only major issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Ok

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Comfy beds.
Cons: Coffee making facilities in all rooms. Staff should be helpful and friendly. General decor needs a facelift.
Location: Good location for trains, sightseeing bus stop and 15 min walk to centre. Beware of a lot of people hanging around outside day and night.
Comfy beds, not too far from central old town and directly opposite train station. Staff not that helpful and completely uninterested in helping us find a car park. Ended up in underground Plaza near hotel which was very expensive. Just general upkeep all looking tired and well used. Coffee making facilities not available for all the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

excellent buffet and great room

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Cons: changing carpets could be make rooms nicer
I reserved two rooms for two days . we visited beautiful country as it is truly said a small Switzerland. Location of hotel is excellent near to central station and 10 minutes walk to old city centre. breakfast was amazing because of variety and quality. Staff were so kind and friendly and so forth...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient to train station, great restaurant

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location directly across the street from the train station made it easy to access for us.
Cons: Update the rooms!
Location: We didn't have much time but did find a nice park nearby full of roses.
We only stayed here one night. We had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the next morning and both were great. The room was spacious, but in desperate need of a makeover; the carpet was stained and worn, and the night stand was also very worn. However, the bed was comfortable and staff was very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Don't bring a car

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Great front desk staff. No kettle in room as specified on website, so no morning tea in bed. Parking was offered, but the ominous price was never disclosed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Good value stay, convenient location.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly & helpful staff, clean comfortable room & free airport shuttle.
Cons: A little money needs to be spent on re-flooring the rooms and corridors.
I was completely satisfied with my stay at this hotel. I requested a room at the rear as other reviewers had complines about noise from the street at the front where the railway and bus stations are. Room was quiet, perhaps a little overheated, with a comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities. Other reviewers had also mentioned the state of the carpeting and they're right- it does let the room down, although my opinion would not be that the carpet was dirty so much as that it hasn't stood up to being cleaned as well as might be hoped- it appears to have been bleached by the process. Looks like someone made a bad or poorly-informed choice when the rooms were being decorated, and hopefully the management will bite the bullet and refurbish soon. Otherwise, staff were very helpful, I didn't try the food as breakfast looked a little pricey- you can get coffee and a freshly-baked pastry at the Brioche Doree or Fischer just a few steps away for a couple of euros- but the location is the most important thing about this hotel. Great for using Luxembourgs fantastic public transport system to see the city or country (4 euros to travel anywhere by bus and rail!) and in the centre of the city's nightlife. It is, as others have noted, right by the red light district, but I have to observe that this doesn't seem to amount to more than a handful of clubs and cabarets, and I walked around the block in the evening without feeling threatened or being hassled in any way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Hotel was right in front of the main train station so getting there was easy to find - and it's about a 15 min walk to Luxembourg city centre. Facilities were fine - although our bathroom had a few blatantly cracked tiles on the walls and the heating didn't really work. Staff were super friendly though. Unfortunately, wifi was a bit of a hit and miss - worked only /outside/ of your rooms.