Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Definitely not 5 star!

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Garden pool was lovely, great Nile views, nice location.
Cons: Felt more like a 3 star hotel, service abit slow. Room was satisfactory but not stunning.
Location: Next to river, felt spacious, handy for boat rides
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Worth the money

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Cons: The only thing slightly -neg the breakfast buffet got a little boring after 6 days very much the same thing over again..
Location: Location was great
Had a room with a view of the nile "the only way to go" the place was real nice the staff was great!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Ok

Posted May 19, 2016
We were under the impression that breakfast is included - it's not. It's 100 pounds each ($12 USD). The room was very clean, good bed, good wifi, nice pool, quiet location. The hotel is full of Chinese guests which means LOTS of cigarette smoke - although our room thankfully stayed smoke free. The hotel's driveway is full of taxi drivers that relentlessly hassled us and followed us around. I couldn't believe the hotel allowed this and lets them past the gate! It was horrible! We never used the hotel's taxis either- you can get much less expensive taxis on the street. Also, it's totally possible to walk to Luxor Temple. I'd recommend leaving the hotel at 5:40 so that you're there when they open at 6am. We had the whole Luxor Temple to ourselves for a full hour!!! Plus, we beat the heat - by 10 am it's too hot to do anything (Mid-May: 45°C/113°F). Also, we paid 120 Egyptian Pounds for a taxi to take us to all of the main sites on the West Bank (maybe four hours) from the hotel (round trip) - I was told we could have gotten a much better price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel on the skids

Posted Jan 13, 2016
No water for shower, toilet or basin. V poor service. Extremely disappointing. I left early.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Not the Sheraton Standard

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Staff in general was nice and location is convenient.
Cons: Cleanliness Condition of hotel
Location: Located close to all sites like karnak and luxor temple.
Hotel is located in nice location along the Nile. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is not up to Sheraton standards. The first day on check-in, the bathroom reeked of dirty towels and body odor. There was also pubic hair all over the floor not cleaned up. Fresh set of towels and room service fixed that problem. Next problem is noise. With windows shut and doors closed, I can hear just about everything going on within 50 feet. I can hear people above walking, conversations down the hallway, showers and toilets flushing loudly from neighbors, doors closing, cars pulling up outside, etc. The insulation between the walls must be very weak. It was hard to sleep at night with the noise. The room size and condition is also not the standard for a 5* hotel. It was incredibly cramped and small. Temperature of the room is also a problem. No matter what I tried with the thermostat, it was either too hot or too cold. With the fan and a/c off, it is too hot. Turning it on to the lowest setting, the room became too cold. I ended up having to leave it off but open the windows but then the noise would be louder. Hotel Wifi is incredibly unreliable and slow connection. I could not even check email half the time. It was hard to check itinerary for tours and plan additional events. I am a SPG gold member and was supposed to get complimentary wifi in room but staff did not understand and failed to honor the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great Nile View, Comfy Beds!

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Location is very quiet - lovely Nile view. Nice small pool by the villas where you can swim with more privacy.Some staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Internet service from the lobby was intermittent. Tried paid service for room Wifi access but it didn't work. Internet service could be improved.
Location: Luxor and Karnak temples, Dandara Temple 1 hour away, West bank Valley of the Kings and Queens. Single females must hire private guide and driver.
A friend and I had a great stay at the Sheraton Luxor. Our room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable and the Nile view was fantastic. We had a small issue related to the Sheraton not honouring an Expedia offer to include the gala Christmas dinner in the room price. Rather than clarify things (i.e. the Sheraton did not want to honour the Expedia offer) they kept switching our "instructions", and called us 4 times the evening of Christmas eve with various locations and times for our dinner. We followed the final instructions to appear at 8 pm, in the bar, for the sit-down gala dinner and a table was set for us. Nevertheless, wait staff continued to question us, and asked us to move to the regular dining room for a buffet! By this time we were quite tired of the whole issue and embarrassed to be questioned when we were about to start our Christmas meal. Fortunately they let us stay and didn't charge us anything extra - but we had to insist. Despite this bit of an issue, I would definitely recommend the hotel and will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice experience

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Hotel is good, hotel staff helps to an extra mile. Awesome view of Nile. Highly recommend this hotel in case you are staying in Luxor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,ON

Comfortable and quiet hotel, close to everything

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds, great pool, lovely comfortable room at a great price.
Cons: There should be more lighting outside the main gate. It is a very walkable city, but the final stretch leading to hotel is a bit dark & intimidating.
Location: Beautiful spot on the Nile. 20 minute walk into the main area of town. Great restaurants also within walking distance for lunch and dinner.
This hotel is set just back from the city so it is nice and quiet but still close enough to walk into town. We were easily given early check in and late checkout which we really appreciated. The grounds of the hotel and the pool are really nice, bungalow room was great. At such an affordable price I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean and quiet place to relax after a day of seeing the sights in Luxor which can be overwhelming. The only negative- I wish they'd do something about the amount of taxis and "tour guides" looking for business directly outside the gates and sometimes even on the property. You have to wade through them to get in and out. If you book any of them, fine, but be sure to do your research first to compare services and price, and always agree very clearly on price,including currency, before beginning any service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Beautiful Scenery and Friendly Staff

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: The little shops out back beside the bungalows have some nice souveniers
Cons: Contacting the hotel to pre-arrange a ride from the airport was impossible. But once we got there everything was good.
Location: Karnak and Luxor temples were amazing.
Spent the entire day sightseeing so opted for breakfasts and dinners at the hotel. Food was basic but good and the price was reasonable. The restaurant staff was very friendly as well. Mahmoud at the check in counter was very helpful and went out of his way to make my family feel welcomed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa OK

Nice place

Posted Nov 5, 2015
The hotel was basically pretty good... No real problems, nothing phenomenon. Wifi in room is expensive, free in lobby. View of the Nile and swimming area were great. It is not in the heart of town so either be prepared to walk 1.5 to 2 miles, or pay for a taxi... 30 LE. Restaurant on premises is fine... But again not exceptional. Signs are up saying you cannot bring food or drink from outside on to property. Does not seem to be enforced, but I don't think you can get delivery past the security gate