Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted May 1, 2018
Pros: The hotel is central to the sights in East Luxor and there is an excellent taxi service just outside. I highly recommend Taxi 005, Mohammed Youssef.
Cons: I think all of the staff are doing an excellent job, the facilities are very good and the gardens are a green oasis in which to relax and recharge.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of the river. Take a felluca, visit Luxor and Karnak Temples, Luxor museum, Avenue of Sphinx, shoppers paradise!
The staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed there many times and we are looking forward to our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel in Luxor ideally located

Posted Apr 20, 2018
This is the best value for money hotel, I as a seasoned traveller, have stayed in. The location is ideal. 5 min walk from Luxor Temple and the centre of town. Yet it is isolated and very quiet. The hotel has beautiful acres of the greenest lushest grass and trees I've ever seen. The pool area is to die for. You can swim laps in the lengthy pool and have food and drinks poolside. Breakfast at the hotel buffet is expansive and caters for every need in beautiful garden setting. I've never enjoyed breakfast more. The room was spacious and clean and had a wide balcony overlooking the gardens below. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. WiFi was excellent and there was an English movie channel on the tv. I paid $72 Australian/night in April. The hotel is starting to show a bit of wear. Perhaps some carpet could be replaced. But if done up this Grand hotel could charge double or triple the price. A very impressive hotel stay located in the desert. It is a paradise when on hotel grounds then you step outside to find yourself in the desert landscape of Luxor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

I love this hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Everything was wonderful. The location, in the gardens of the Winter Palace, ensures a stroll in the beautiful, immaculately kept garden. Breakfast and all the restaurants were great, especially 1886.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Vibe and beautiful grounds in Luxor

Posted Mar 1, 2018 on Hotels
The gardens were amazing! The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back. The rooms were a little dusty but ok for the price we paid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Reasonably Comfortable Stay in a 3 Star Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2018 on Hotels
The grounds are clean and the pool area is tidy. In general, the grounds and the historic building are in good shape. The Pavillon, however, does not really give an impression of a five star hotel. The walls in the hallways and lifts are scraped and scratched and need painting or at least cleaning. The dresser and side tables in the room looked like they had been put together out of cheap plywood and were well on their way to falling apart. Ceiling tiles in the bathroom were worn and damaged. No air conditioning was available, since the ventilation system produces only heat during Winter, even on a very warm day. In contrast, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was well done. Moreover, the bed was very comfortable and the linens and towels were luxurious. The location is excellent. In the end, it wouldn't take much to clean this place up, give it some paint here and there, and fix all the (many, many) little broken things all around. But it would take an effort. While the garden, the pool, the location, and the nearby Winter Palace are all bonuses, I reckon that, all in all, I can't rate this particular place, the Pavillon Winter Luxor, at any higher than a Three Star standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

A DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE

Posted Feb 7, 2018 on Ebookers
Pros: The garden (especially the hoopoes) , the friendly staff and the central location
Cons: The regularity of supply of toiletries and face flannels, evening foreign exchange facilities, an evening restaurant facility, fresher breakfast cakes
Location: Wonderful location near the Nile, easy access to Karnak and Luxor temples, two museums and the souk.
On the positive side, the hotel has a great central location, a delightful garden and the staff are friendly and helpful, However, the facilities and service are disappointing. The housekeeping staff spend time creating elaborate petal displays in the room but fail to ensure that face flannels and toiletries are replenished - you need to take flannels and toiletries with you if you stay here as I have found on more than one visit that the supply of such items is erratic. There are no beverage making facilities in the rooms and there is no complimentary water although the local tap water is not suitable for drinking by those unconditioned to it. The Pavillon Winter currently (Feb 18) has no restaurant serving evening meals - the alternatives are the expensive formal dining facilities in the Winter Palace or meals from room service. The same selection of breakfast cakes was put out for several days, with the result that much of the offering was stale. There is no evening banking service in the hotel - a travel agent in the shopping arcade adjacent to the hotel runs a foreign exchange service but their opening hours are too limited to be of use to the serious sightseer. The curtains do not meet in the middle, so it's hard to sleep in.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Five star resort in the heart of Luxor

Posted Dec 21, 2017 on Hotels
The Winter Pavillion/Palace is owned and operated by Sofitel. For the price ($60 USD) the resort is a bargain. I stayed in the Pavilion. The room was spacious with a decent bathroom and a very nice balcony with a wicker couch. The resort grounds are well kept and the pool area is very nice. The service is very very good. The breakfast has a decent assortment of fruits, desserts, yougurt, etc. A cook prepares eggs per your request. The outdoor dining area for breakfast is very nice. Per other reviews the property is past its prime but still very nice for the price. The local area seems safe but the local vendors and shady characters are unrelenting with a variety of unwanted services. The temples and tombs in the Luxor area are spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Clean and convenient, friendly staff, good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and garden setting

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The pool and gardens.
Cons: Attention to detail. Ther pe were dead light bulbs and an ill-fitting plug in the hand basin when we arrived.
Location: Location is ideal for exploring the east bank attractions and for getting across to the west bank by ferry.
The Pavillon was a great place to stay. The gardens and pool are especially delightful. Staff were always helpful and attentive at breakfast, and around the pool. The room was a decent size and the balcony was spacious. The super king sized bed was extremely comfortable with smooth, soft cotton sheets. We’re already looking forward to our next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah,Ga.

Month long stay

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Price and comfort
Cons: Renovation needed,could look impressive,like a 4 star hotel
Location: Across the street from the Nile River and,short walk to Luxor Temple and Karnak Temple
To save on travel costs,I stayed at the Pavilion versus the Winter Palace,very happy with my choice. I was updated from a hotel room to a beautiful suite ,once a suite opened up on the top fifth floor overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens,room 5020. Rooms are a nice size,but rooms and hotel need need updating,which I was informed of by management,that renovations will start at the end of 2018. The entire staff was extremely nice from management to the cleaning crew.