Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

I love this hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Everything was wonderful. The location, in the gardens of the Winter Palace, ensures a stroll in the beautiful, immaculately kept garden. Breakfast and all the restaurants were great, especially 1886.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Five star resort in the heart of Luxor

Posted Dec 21, 2017 on Hotels
The Winter Pavillion/Palace is owned and operated by Sofitel. For the price ($60 USD) the resort is a bargain. I stayed in the Pavilion. The room was spacious with a decent bathroom and a very nice balcony with a wicker couch. The resort grounds are well kept and the pool area is very nice. The service is very very good. The breakfast has a decent assortment of fruits, desserts, yougurt, etc. A cook prepares eggs per your request. The outdoor dining area for breakfast is very nice. Per other reviews the property is past its prime but still very nice for the price. The local area seems safe but the local vendors and shady characters are unrelenting with a variety of unwanted services. The temples and tombs in the Luxor area are spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Clean and convenient, friendly staff, good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and garden setting

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The pool and gardens.
Cons: Attention to detail. Ther pe were dead light bulbs and an ill-fitting plug in the hand basin when we arrived.
Location: Location is ideal for exploring the east bank attractions and for getting across to the west bank by ferry.
The Pavillon was a great place to stay. The gardens and pool are especially delightful. Staff were always helpful and attentive at breakfast, and around the pool. The room was a decent size and the balcony was spacious. The super king sized bed was extremely comfortable with smooth, soft cotton sheets. We’re already looking forward to our next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah,Ga.

Month long stay

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Price and comfort
Cons: Renovation needed,could look impressive,like a 4 star hotel
Location: Across the street from the Nile River and,short walk to Luxor Temple and Karnak Temple
To save on travel costs,I stayed at the Pavilion versus the Winter Palace,very happy with my choice. I was updated from a hotel room to a beautiful suite ,once a suite opened up on the top fifth floor overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens,room 5020. Rooms are a nice size,but rooms and hotel need need updating,which I was informed of by management,that renovations will start at the end of 2018. The entire staff was extremely nice from management to the cleaning crew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pavillon Winter Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel many times and we are always delighted with the amenities and the service. It is a relaxing haven after a long beautiful day sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful hotel surrounded by palm gardens

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Super attentive staff in the breakfast room and at the pool side
Cons: Tea in the room. There was a kettle but no tea.
Location: A great location for all Luxor excursions and sightseeing on foot.
Very relaxing environment after days out visiting the tombs and temples
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

A very nice hotel that is conveniently situated.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the city's main attractions
Location: Luxor Temple is walking distance, So is the Main city market (souk). Hot air balloon rides, Kanark Temple, Hatshepsut Temple and Valley are also near.
The hotel staff facilitated an early check-in than scheduled. The hotel is within walking distance of the main market as also Luxor Temple. The rooms are comparatively bigger and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Luxor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful property

Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: Great location
The hotel is a lush, beautiful property overlooking the Nile. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. They had a list of day tours available which were outstanding. We were provided with a driver and an Egyptologist as a guide. Very knowledgeable - great day tours. I would highly recommend this hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford.

Excellent

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything.
Location: Located next to Luxor Temple and just across road from the Nile, well situated to walk to souqs and stroll down Cornish.
As always a wonderful stay. All staff very polite and helpful. Rooms very spacious, quiet and kept scrupulously clean...nothing like fresh linen everyday :) Pool area superb. Would highly recommend.