Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Left my reservation early

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: a bug-free bed
Cons: -Dim lighting that makes the room look depressing -no Wifi in the rooms (as advertised) -manager was dismissive and a bit rude -the pool was not clean
Location: Location is right next to an awesome terrace/ walking port beside the Nile.
The room was just ok, with a working fridge and, decent bathroom (the towels did not look clean) and a large bed. It was not desirable to not have a top sheet, as the furry comforter gave me a small rash on my arms and neck. Upon check-in, I was asked if I wanted river view or pool view, and the view from my room was a bunch of pipes with no natural sunlight. Why not just be honest and tell me river view or no view? These people own a number of businesses around Luxor and are clearly 'suffering' because of the lack of tourists. Most of the lights were off in the hotel (I assume to save on utility costs?) and the breakfast consisted of 3 bread rolls, some jam & butter, a bit of cheese, and eggs (I am allergic to eggs so breakfast was weak). Overall, the cleaning and breakfast service staff were the only people who were pleasant and polite, and the hotel generally gave off a creepy vibe. Upstairs where the pool is, the lawn chairs and recliners were all in terrible, disgusting shape. There is a nice view of the Temple of Hatshepsut across the Nile. I saw a couple of cats near my room (2nd floor) but I'm guessing they don't belong to anyone in particular.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Bernaba Gab Allah hotel manager , Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Cara have a nice day from Philippe Luxor hotel wish my mail find your good self well it;s my great pleasure reply your complaint first allow me to thank you for described me dismissive & rude even we did meet but anyway thanks . you supposed knew our rooms type before made the reservation. WIFI is available by lobby next will be in rooms you are right we save lights but we keep it even to see walk & read roof top need fix chairs & tables we are working on it . breakfast was eggs jam butter cheese oriental beans tea & Nescafe with cats are belong to guest . but start from now pets is forbidden so wish you accepted my apology. promise we working hard to solve all your notes
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Dec 18, 2010
well the lights did go out in the morning around 9am but i was heading out anyways. so i didnt care to much
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Philipe in Luxor, Egypt

Posted Mar 18, 2010 on Hotels
See notes above
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2009 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Absolutely fine

Posted Jun 2, 2008 on Hotels
We arrived in Luxor at 6am - the hotel let us check-in early, and didn't push their own tours too aggressively. The swimming pool was a great feature, and the food was fine. They also looked after our bag for the afternoon when we checked out. The view from the room was of another hotel, but we were hardly in the room so it didn't matter to us. Overall, I would recommend to other travellers going to Luxor for a short stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Odsherred

I Centrum af Luxor

Posted Dec 21, 2011 on Hotels
Hotellet giver god værdi for pengene. Det ligger meget centralt i Luxor. Der var god og venlig service. Opholdet var lidt usædvanligt, da jeg stort set var den eneste gæst i den uge. Så jeg havde mange til at passe mig. Det skyldes naturligvis uroen i Egypten.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FRANCE

Posted Apr 14, 2011 on Hotels
Je trouve cet hotel bien placé en centre ville. Mais je n'ai pas apprécié ma chambre, pas assez lumineux, triste et la vue horrible. Par contre le petit déjeuner sympa. La terrasse sur le toit avec la piscine très bien, le personnel agréable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uppsala

Hotel Philippe i Luxor-Utmärkt läge-prisvärt!

Posted Dec 31, 2010 on Hotels
Rummet var mycket litet och balkongdörren gick inte att stänga helt eller låsa. så vi lämnade in värdesaker och dator i receptionen varje gång vi gick ut. Frukostern över förväntan med ägg och bönor ingående i Continental breakfast. Vi fick be om hängare till garderoben och tvålautomaten fungerade aldrig för att man försökte fylla på den istället för att byta tvålpåse. Hissen funkade inte på vårt våningsplan utan man fick gå en trappa upp. Trevlig takterass med utsikt över "allt". Mycket långsam service när man beställde mat och dryck däruppe. Gångavstånd till allt man ville se eller göra i själva Luxor och lätt att ta sig över Nilen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LYon

Hotel Philippe Louxor, situation idéale, confort moyen, accueil insuffisant

Posted Oct 10, 2010
Hotel très bien situé mais accueil déplorable à la réception. Les chambres ont un confort correct (climatisation insuffisante).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nice, France

Enormément déçu - beaucoup trop bruyant

Posted Feb 27, 2009
Chambres standards, sur l'arrière, mais sur cour et piscine d'un aute hotel - donc très bruyant. Chambres supérieures, sur rue, donc bruyantes et odeurs de crottin de cheval. Double vitrage inexistant, ce qui n'est pas normal pour un hotel de cette catégorie.