Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oceanside, CA.

Nice hotel.good location Nice Nile view

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location Staff
Cons: Breakfast buffet was vey limited compared to other five stars hotel.
Location: Luxor temple nearby. Banks and stores are very close too.
Staff very helpful Excellent location Easy check in and check out Very elegant bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Memorable experience

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Very helpful staff particularly Randa at the front desk she was extremely friendly and helpful. I will come back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

As delightful as ever

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Relaxing , staff accommodating , not intrusive.
Cons: A gym . .
Location: Ideally situated for Karnak, Luxor temples, Nile views
Third visit, a lovely restful hotel with many wonderful features. Gardens & swimming pool are so well maintained great to return to after visiting Karnak & Luxor Temples, West & East Banks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Lovely night at Winter Palace

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Easy walk to Luxor temple
Great check in, helpful staff and comprehensive breakfast buffet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, UK

A quick respite

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, nothing to dislike. Romantic hotel full of history.
Cons: Nothing
Location: On the Corniche by the Nile, Luxor temple virtually next door, close to Luxor shops
A lovely historical hotel, brilliant staff, general manager should be very proud.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Corniche area. Close to Luxor Temple and museum.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: See above.
Location: Temples and museum and souqs
We stayed from Sept 6-9, everyone is just amazingly hospitable and great customer service. Brunch has variety of food to your hearts desire. Lunch and dinner were amazing. Comments that I gave the staff are: the Asian spring roll with crab meat was an imitation crab meat. The bruschetta was cheddar cheese not mozzarella. Beyond that everything was great! Yes, I remain confident with Sofitel. Thanks.
4 out of 5
by Omar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Step back to the Guided Age

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is historic and beautiful, the service is excellent and the experience is unforgettable.
Cons: Dinner service was elegant but the fare was uninspiring
Location: Walking distance from Luxor temple and a ten to 30 minute ride to the greatest archeological sites on earth.
The Winter Palace evokes a bygone era of elegant travel and sumptuous service. The hotel has changed little in the past 80 years and one can easily envision Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon sitting at the bar remonstrating over their inability to locate King Tut's tomb. If you like stepping back into history, this is your hotel. The ceilings are 15 feet high and the hallways are wide and unencumbered. The rooms are nicely furnished, albeit in an Edwardian style. The staff are exceptionally helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by JOSEPH from Toronto, Ontario

Perfect Place to Stay!!!

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was a beautiful Palace with beautiful grounds. Great location. Very old, traditional feeling. Personal service and friendly. I would stay here again 100%. Everything was perfect. Nile is right across the street
5 out of 5
by Nicole from Pretoria

Historic hotel for wanna be Egyptologists

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this historic hotel with beautiful garden and helpful staff. If you want perfect and new, then it's not for you, but we appreciated the history, the building, the breakfast room, and the balconies. It was positioned perfectly for visiting the main sites. And it also has a nice pool area for dolling down after a long day visiting the tombs and temples. The concierge and reception helped us with all arrangements and gave great advice. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Luxor.