Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Disappointing

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Clean, restaurant people were very nice. Good location.
Cons: Front desk staff. Heat would be good. If you are paying for a street facing room on Expedia they should tell you.
Location: Walking distance to the Luxor Temple and Luxor Museum.
The hotel was at least 50 percent empty but they put me on a 3rd floor room facing a busy street where there was construction. I asked to be moved. They said they would move me but it would cost more. I finally pointed out that I had paid for a king size room online and the room they put me in had twin beds so they begrudgingly moved me in a few rooms. A little quieter but not much. There is also no heat in the hotel. I Luxor in January, nights get down to about 45 so it was chilly for sure. The restaurant staff were all very nice but the front desk staff was horrible. I asked for a room change- refused. I asked to break 100 pound note into smaller bills-refused. I asked if they had a newspaper that I could have or purchase so I could pack a few gifts-refused. Don't waste your money on this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Dina , Hotel Management
Thank you for writing this review, we are happy you enjoyed the location and the restaurants. As for the rooms you wanted to change, I am sure you know we have several categories and each category has a different rate, that is why maybe the reception people asked you for a cost difference, but be sure we always do our best to satisfy our guest. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience that you may have faced during your stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Decent Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Decent location, nice feel about it. We only stayed 1 night - the check in was a very bad experience. The next day they apologised about it.
Cons: Front Desk staff need to be empowered to take care of the client.
Feels like you're stuck in the 90s in this hotel- but that seems to be a common theme in Egypt, understandably so given how much tourism has declined. Front desk staff were not very helpful - finally got them to give us a room in the back (we didn't care about the view, just wanted the quiet side) - they told us the room was non-smoking - as we had requested - I get in there and ther are 2 ashtrays. There is no water in the room, no wifi (in lobby only, in room wifi is payable), and no coffee/tea facilities (you can request this for i think $35USd/week!?!?!?!?! Crazy pricing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by Dina, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing this review, we are happy you liked the location and sorry about the bad check - in regarding the internet , we get it with high prices from the provider so it is only free in the lobby area. The tea and coffee facilities are free in the superior rooms not the standard room , you can request only for 5$ a day. Thank you again for your comments and see you soon at our hotel . Regards from Luxor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 神奈川県

エジプトでの最も素晴らしい思い出をくれたホテル

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: スタッフが素晴らしい。あらゆるスタッフが積極的にお客さんのことを考えて動いている。大変居心地が良い。セキュリティもしっかりしている。朝食も種類が多いだけでなく、一つ一つが丁寧に作られている。ロビー、部屋、レストラン、エレベータ、部屋からの眺め、あらゆるところに高級感が漂う。
Cons: 改善すべき点は、自分にある。ソネスタ・セント・ジョージの滞在をもっと長くすべきであった。
Location: ホテル前に馬車やタクシーが集まり便利。ホテルの斜め右前の角にはバーレストランが2軒、旅行会社、土産屋、スーパーもあり便利。ホテル前に営業に来ている6人まで乗れるタクシーは王家の谷など西岸1日観光の足として貸切可能。名刺をもらうと良い。カルナック神殿やルクソール神殿前のスークまでの馬車も楽しい。
SideNileの部屋に3泊しました。部屋からのナイルの眺めは素晴らしい。エジプトは5回目。カイロでは超高級と言われるホテルにも宿泊しましたが、比較にならないほど、あらゆる点でソネスタ・セント・ジョージが素晴らしい。日本語ができる和やかなフロントスタッフ。ゴージャスな部屋。日本人にとっては安心してバスタブに浸かれるきれいで広い浴槽も良い。ナイルの見える朝食会場も明るくきれいで、衛生面を重視したビュッフェの食材の置き方を工夫していて、日本のホテルがこのホテルを真似して欲しい。朝食会場のフロアスタッフはよく気が利いてプロフェッショナル。卵料理のコックさんの腕も素晴らしい。前日に注文した卵料理の方法を一人一人違うのに翌日も覚えていて作ってくれた。11歳の子供にはふわふわのミルク入りオムレツを提案してくれ、たいへん美味しかったとのこと。家でも食べたいと言い出している。豆のスープもちゃんとトマトから煮て作っている。エジプトとエジプト人を好きになるホテル。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2016 by Dina , Hotel Management
私たちはあなたのフィードバックを感謝し、あなたにも食べ物やサービスなどの休暇を楽しんで満足しているこの素敵なレビューのためにどうもありがとうございます、私たちはあなたに感謝し、すぐに別の訪問を待っています
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

The hotel is OK, somewhat dated.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Location: great view of the Nile.
My experience at the hotel is somewhat OK, i only stayed there one night. the hotel is somewhat dated and should not be listed as 5-star. the location is not the greatest, it is a bit far from the center of the city. the food at the restaurant is very expensive considering the fact we were in Luxor Egypt not Toronto or New York.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2016 by Dina, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review it is our pleasure to hear back from you and know you had a good time , please come back again for another visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

LOAD ST NOISE

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
LOAD ST NOISE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Erin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ehab

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The rooms and the staff
Cons: Seeing as the hotel was so quiet an upgrade from side nile 2 front of river room would have been nice
Location: A few restaurant close 2 hotel and a nice even if it was small convenience store across the road for water and snacks Taxis are cheap and plenty
Beautiful hotel on the nile river. Staff were lovely.breakfast was ok a A little limited for a buffet breakfast but could have eggs freshly made anyway u like Rooms were nice, clean and big and beds were very comfortable Room service meals nice and cheap compared to OZ.Unfortunately very few people were around Maybe a dozen all up It is the quiet season but also with the conflict We are a family and at no time did we feel unsafe and the local people were just so happy 2 see us and nearly all the people we saw said to us welcome 2 Egypt and thanked us for coming
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CHENGLU from Taiwan

so so

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
nice view
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CHENGLU

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels