Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in central location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Four of us were there for a long weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and a nice touch to have a pianist! They provided an umbrella in the room which was great as it was rainy. Only one key per room but they accommodated us when one returned without a key.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

George Hotel Made Me Very Welcome

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great experience at the George Hotel. It is old style luxury. I suppose someone who wants ultra modern 5 star luxury would be disappointed here, but I loved it. The hotel is mostly as it was over 100 years ago. As an example the room is accessed via a large skeleton style key. The service was phenomenal. I asked to be met at the Lviv train station and the hotel asked me which carriage I was travelling in. My foot had not even hit the ground from exiting the train and the hotel employee was greeting me as he held a sign with my name. Arriving at the hotel, the bellman is out the door and approaching the vehicle before it even comes to a full stop. Bellmen are eager to serve and ask the guest to please make whatever requests they can think of. Check in personnel are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast buffet is good, one morning with a man playing the piano, the other morning with films of the hotel and surrounding area from the past showing on a large screen. Location of the hotel is perfect, right on the main historical square.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warsaw

Bad customer service

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Hotel is centrally located, and looks European, but service is Ukrainian. Hotel advertises free breakfast, but the staff never reminds the guest of it. Thanks to the staff, the guests were deprived of breakfast which they paid for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mindful Canadian travellers

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the area
4 out of 5
by elvetia from New York

Comfortable

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice old fashioned hotel will very nice high ceilings
3 out of 5
by Justin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Diane from Selkirk Manitoba, Canada

Like coming home!

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
We keep returning to the George mostly for convenience and cost. The staff speak English and are always friendly. I missed the fridge in the room and no bathrobes were provided as our reservation had stated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Superb breakfast with live piano music.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin from Los Angeles

I'll Return to This Hotel Every Trip to Lviv

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
I upgraded from a room without bath to a newly, elegantly renovated room with queen size bed and a very modern bathroom, and it was worth the extra amount. The desk service was excellent, fluently English-speaking and consistently helpful in all things. The hotel restaurant was very good, and a large buffet breakfast was included in the price. The location is extraordinary for sightseeing and taking part in the cultural life of Lviv, right at the bottom of the large prospect park and avenue culminating in the Opera House and art museum. Just across the street begins the very scenic and entertaining old city of Lviv.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Ryde

Special Trip

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
The George is a very nice hotel. Rooms are very big, warm and always very clean. Excellent staff.