Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Tim

Quirky, comfortable, welcoming

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the Emperor Room for a couple of nights mid August. This is upstairs in the main building and accessed through the lounge. We never saw anyone else in the lounge and treated it as part of our suite. The room is comfy, quiet, right temperature and lavishly decorated in black and gold with a slight oriental touch. Separate bathroom with bath and standalone shower. Toby collects stuff. The building is full of his collections. Not overpowering, but it's part of the decor. Enjoy his collections of hats, butter dishes, pipes... Toby is a generous host, and really wants to help you make the most of your stay. Try him for restaurant recommendations - he's very honest about where he suggests. He also cooks a great breakfast, not greasy or fatty and everything is cooked to order right in front of you. There are plenty of other non-cooked breakfast choices as well. The breakfast room/kitchen does not smell of food at all. The location is superb. Handy for the train if that's how you arrived, and there's off-road parking if you come by car. I think he said he has a bike shed too. You are literally less than five minutes walk away from the high street and quayside. If you're heading into the New Forest, you're also on the right side of town to get out easily by car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Good bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Its position was perfect for sight-seeing in the area.
Cons: Could do with a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries.
Location: Near to station and ferry so car not needed. Good walks in the area too.
Tobi welcomed us and showed us to our spacious room. Very good breakfast. Very close to station which was very handy for the boat show in Southampton. 15 minute walk to IOW ferry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Met by the convivial host Tobi, who looks after you very well. We stayed in the apartment which was excellent for our needs. Comfortable bedroom with ensuite. Upstairs there was a lounge and fully equipped kitchen, with the added bonus of a balcony to sit out on. Tobi provided local information as to places to visit and restaurants to eat at, which is very helpful for visitors not familiar with the area. Location is ideal only a short stroll into Lymington high street where all the amenities are available. Additionally you are right next to the station if you wish to travel to the IOW ferry, only one stop away, or go further afield.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Comfortable b & b in middle of Lymington.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Nice host. Good breakfast. Lovely room. Good towels. PArking on site.
5 out of 5
by Louise

Comfortable stay in Lymington

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed a very comfortable room, beautifully furnished and quiet. Location great, a few minutes walk into town. Parking very useful. The owner was very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Delicious cooked breakfast with fresh coffee and friendly chatter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Highly Recommend Britannia House!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Location, proprietor, proximity to train station and ferry dock. Especially enjoyed the town of Lymington. A wonderful hotel and a wonderful town.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Visit New Forest, Beaulieu, Isle of Wight. Take train to Winchester. Enjoy walking around the town and the waterfront. Go to Market Day!
My husband and I booked "the apartment" for eight days after a cruise which ended at Southampton. We really enjoyed our stay at Britannia House. Toby was very welcoming and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable including serving an excellent breakfast each morning. Lymington is a very enjoyable place, especially for people who like the water. The Britannia House is literally right next to the train station. (Don't worry, you don't hear any train noises while in your room.) And, it is a very short walk to the Isle of Wight Ferry from Britannia House. Toby gave us many good tips about local restaurants, Market Day, etc. Our only problem was that we left too soon! We so enjoyed everything Lymington and the Britannia House had to offer. Highlights included many evenings spent sitting on the balcony enjoying the view of the Isle of Wight and sipping a glass of wine! We also enjoyed taking the train to Winchester and visiting the Cathedral (take the guided tour there, it's worth it). We also visited Beaulieu at Toby's prompting and enjoyed the beautiful house and gardens there. The best thing I can say about Britannia House is that we hope to visit again very soon....
5 out of 5
by Jason

I very enjoyable stay.

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly host. Room was lovely, Good advise on the area. Nice walks around the coast and marina. Nice local quirky shops that you wouldn't find any where else. Would happily stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney - Australia

Excellent location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Fabulous well run place, especially if you get the room upstairs. Loved everything about it.
5 out of 5
by Andy

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Tobias is an excellent host - very welcoming and extremely helpful. A lovely, clean, and beautifully laid out establishment...... and a great breakfast to start the day. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent B&B in delightful Lymington

Posted Mar 3, 2017
I had a lovelying bedroom, very comfortable with everything I could want plus a sitting room and kitchen. Kerry was most welcoming and friendly. Also knowledgeable about Lymington. Main house had a delightful breakfast room. I only like cereals for breakfast but I noticed the fried breakfast and toast was cooked to order. A very friendly and individual type of B&B. So much nicer than a conventional small hotel or chain.