Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth City North Carolina

Visiting relatives

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff. The morning receptionist was very pleasant and the night clerk was very helpful when we needed assistance with the tv remote
Cons: the room could have been a bit cleaner but as I said earlier, it was probably an oversight since the room had been recently renovated
Location: Bedford is a small town with minimal tourist attractions. They are the home of the D Day Memorial and close to the Smith Mt Lake and Peak of Otter
Bedford is a small town that does not have a great deal of tourist traffic so there is a limited number of hotels in the area. We went there to visit relatives so this hotel met our needs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room could have been a bit cleaner. They had recently completed renovations and had not cleaned inside the cabinets outside of the bathroom. There was sawdust and construction debris under the counter. I would consider that an oversight on their part since that area is not used for storage. I was looking for extra towels and thought they may have put some in there. They were a bit stingy on their towels but I am sure if we had asked, they would have supplied more. I enjoyed my visit and my stay and will probably stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok but what I expected

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Amenities and Breakfast.
Cons: Cleaning the bathroom.
Location: Great restaurants close (within 5 minutes)
The room was clean with a couch, coffee table, tv, bed, desk, dresser, microwave and fridge. The bathroom was not clean. I did not report the bathroom as being dirty (mold on shower curtain, mold on the shower head (which wiped off easily with shampoo and a washcloth), hair in the shower drain catch. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

Never will We stay there again.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: yes cleanliness and offer what they say
Location: its ok
the room had a bug in it. there was hair in the bathtub from the previous people. the continental breakfast was supposed to have omelets, but didn't and the help said they usually don't but its on the menu. we paid $66.00 for the one next and the day before we left expedia was offering it for 45.00, which they are supposed to guarantee the best prices. Will not stay here again. Also my husband brought and apple back from the continental breakfast and it had bad spots on it. the bathtub also was dirty and the the shower curtain had mildew.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seaford, VA.

Moth-Eaten Blanket and Empty Whiskey Bottle Under

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Very very disappointed in this hotel. The blanket on our bed was full of holes, eaten by moths, and we had to take it to the office for a replacement before we could even unpack. There were only two towels in a room meant for four people, there was three of us, so we had to go BACK to the office again for more towels before showering. Shower curtain had mildew on it. The in-room coffee tray was dirty with dried up spilled coffee on it. There was an empty Jim Beam whiskey bottle under our son's bed, by the headboard. The breakfast is dry cereal, toast, or waffles. No fruit, yogurt, or anything else with any nutritional value. The staff stares at you while you get toast and coffee, which was unsettling. I can't believe the Days Inn logo is on the sign for this place. Just terrible.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Hibbing, MN

Drive on....

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
We flew into Roanoke at night and this was the only hotel available within about 80 miles in any direction. Although we were unhappy about paying $130 plus taxes etc. for a Days Inn, we rented the room. We got there to find the room smelly, dead cockroaches on the bathroom floor, bugs crawling on the ceiling, cheap linens etc. We slept a little after killing the moving bugs and moved on. We did not eat the "free" carb-heavy breakfast as I can only expect roaches in the kitchen also. This was the worst room I have ever rented on Hotels.com.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordon from California

Days inn needs maid services

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Our 2nd stay at a Days Inn. Both were understaffed and seriously in need of maid service, particularly the bathrooms. The last available room was charged at an overpriced $130, and upon arrival had not been serviced at all with trash all over and unmade beds. The "clean" room they found had fresh towels and the tub looked like a dog had a bath in there, black ring with hair, the floor had sticky spots and urine around toilet base. The good points were parking and tv. Neighborhood ok. We would consider a refund in order, but not our way to demand. Very sorry had a rough night with no shower and questioned cleanliness of beds so slept dressed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gina from Vienna Va

Never again!

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Thin walls, van full of teenaged kids arriving both nights, and passing trucks and cars made it hard to sleep. Hair & stink bugs left in bath drain along with 2 dead beetles in bathroom. My 12 yr old would not sleep under the covers for fear of bed bugs. He actually wanted to sleep in the chair! Only 2 positives; water pressure and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2015
It was a nice experience, the room was nice and clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil from Apex, NC

It was an "ok" stay

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
The service was good. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. All of the ice machines were out of order so the only way to get ice was out of a cooler in the main office. That was a big inconvenience. Also, we had difficulty getting the shower to work. Turns out that the knob that must be pulled to turn the water on was excessively tightened and required 'excessive' force to actually pull it out (required 2 hands and a lot of strength). They did fix it quickly when I brought it to their attention. There were also a fair number of stink bugs on the ceiling in our room. I'm not sure what causes them and if the hotel can control them but it was pretty nasty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stryker, OH

Everything else was booked so we stayed here.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Price was very low, unfortunately so was quality.
Cons: Improve cleanliness.
Upon entering the room late at night there was a dead bug on the pillow. The next morning we discovered a big clump of hair on the bathroom drain. The in room coffee pot had not been cleaned and had a coffee pod left from the last use. Last of all the coffe carafe was the wrong size for the coffee maker so the coffee overflowed the machine instead of draining into the carafe. This is the only time I have ever posted a bad review of a hotel but I thought the condition here was pretty terrible.