Featured Image

Reviews of Lynchburg Grand Hotel

3 out of 5
Lynchburg Grand Hotel
601 Main St, Lynchburg, VA

Overall score and ratings

3.8

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 130 out of 474 reviews
5 - Excellent 27%
Rating 4 - Good. 183 out of 474 reviews
4 - Good 39%
Rating 3 - Okay. 95 out of 474 reviews
3 - Okay 20%
Rating 2 - Poor. 53 out of 474 reviews
2 - Poor 11%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 13 out of 474 reviews
1 - Terrible 3%

4.0/5

Cleanliness

4.1/5

Staff & service

3.4/5

Amenities

3.6/5

Property conditions & facilities

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
To be fair. The lobby and accompanying grounds are great and definitely beautiful. The room and elevator were dirty. And even with the heater on high all night it was extremely cold. So cold that me and my wife decided to bring our toddler in bed with us to better stay warm. The tv also would randomly pixelate. The staff were very courteous, yet not the friendliest. Yet very professional.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jan 11, 2022
Dear Jamie, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues with your room. We will contact you regarding your visit.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Front desk staff friendly and helpful.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Dec 20, 2021
Thank you for your review

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
For an older hotel, it is well cared for. Staff was very nice. Very clean....one of the best showers I've ever had in a hotel! Will stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Dec 6, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room was very comfortable. I was quite impressed with the quality of the linens. Staff was accommodating when I requested change, even though they no longer deal in cash at the desk, a lovely security officer provided me with change and was super friendly. The décor throughout was classy and understated. I also couldn't stop remarking on the wood paneling and wood floors of the elevators! A simple thing, perhaps, but it was nevertheless a jolly thing to me! I would definitely return here for another stay.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Nov 26, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Older, dated decor, but clean and quiet. Very close to the theater we we attending. Parking was a breeze. I can't say enough about the staff at the front desk. Very competent and nice. I needed vending machine change, and the male night shift clerk went out of his way to go to his car and get it for me. Then he offered me bottled water free. I wss pleasantly surprised! Nice folks.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Nov 21, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Awesome place and friendly staff!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Nov 15, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hospitality was genuine. The food was excellent
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Nov 8, 2021
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
We came back to our room after a late-night to a very wet carpet. The carpet was soaked due to a leak in the ice machine in the room next door. When I first called the service representative believed the call was a prank and it took a while to get someone to check out the room. Eventually, a security guard came and mentioned that it would be difficult to switch rooms due to the late time. We decided to go to bed to check out early but nothing was done about the situation. We were forced to walk around the very wet unit until we checked our first thing in the morning. Paid full rate for a room with a leak and received nothing in return to make up for my very unpleasant stay.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Keisha Reeves Rooms Division Manager on Nov 1, 2021
Hello! Let me first start off by apologizing! I, too, would be upset because of the situation you faced. I will be speaking to my staff who talked with you that night, the front desk agent and the security guard. I want to make sure we correct our mistake! Please provide me with your name the reservation was under. I will personally did this and be in touch when I do!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
The staff is wonderful but the hotel needs a facelift.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 26, 2021
Thank you for your review!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The parking was next to the hotel building in a parking garage. Room was near the end of the 2nd floor, so usually can take the stairs down instead of walking all the way to elevator, but the stairs at the end of the hall didn’t lead to the first floor.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 27, 2021
Thank you for your review! Our stairwells are designed to lead to the fire exits for regress in the case of an emergency.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
nothing
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 26, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 23, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
easy, in and out. nice and quiet
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 21, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Happy and concerned about cleanliness
The hotel personnel were so nice and accomodating but Our room had an empty liquor bottle beside the bed and food crumbs under the opposite bed. If it had not been so late, we would have asked for a different room, but we only had 6 hours to sleep, so we did not move. The staff was so happy to be back to work. We were told they had just been open 3 weeks.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 21, 2021
Thank you for your review!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Dated but good price for a busy homecoming weekend in lynchburg. Double beds are small for 2 adults. Need to upgrade bathrooms. Overall good value..
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 17, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
N/a
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 13, 2021
Thank you for your review!

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for your review!

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Outdated
The hotel is very outdated. elevators had not been inspected since 2019. not worth the money spent- for just a few dollars more, i could have been in a newer hotel. tv barely worked, room was dark. Staff was very nice and friendly
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 11, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 9, 2021
Thank you for your review!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was in no way “Grand”. The rooms were dated and dirty, the bathroom doors were made of plywood and some didn’t close. The beds felt like you were sleeping on a trampoline and the pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 8, 2021
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that your visit was not great.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Oct 4, 2021
Thank you for your review!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Adequate
This was fine for a basic hotel stay. Our non-smoking room and a smell that didn’t go away and the pillows and towels weren’t the best. It was clean and the staff was helpful though.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 27, 2021
Thank you for your review!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Needs to stock up on drinking water....
Your customers need drinking water! As much as your customers pay to stay at your facility, drinking water should ALWAYS be available. It wasn't available from the front desk or in any of your vending machines. I'm not asking that the water be free, I'm asking that it be available!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 27, 2021
Thank you for your review! We do keep bottles of water at the front desk, however were probably out at the time.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 27, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel
Check in was so easy! The front desk clerks were professional and very friendly! The room was really clean and the parking was very easy to get too!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 20, 2021
Thank you for your review!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything seemed clean and nice in the room. Most troubling part of the room was finding dirty towels and a previous guest underwear shoved up on the top shelf over the closet. Was pretty nasty. Made you wonder if our sheets had ever been changed from the previous guest and if they just made the bed again.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 20, 2021
Dear Raymond, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that. That is not normal for our housekeeping staff to miss such a thing. We will work to ensure this doesn't happen in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff is always friendly and welcoming.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 19, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Very nice attentive staffs
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Tony GM on Sep 13, 2021
Thank you for your review!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Convenient to use
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 6, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good stay
We were there for a concert at the Academy of the Arts. This hotel was across the street from it. We had a great stay at the hotel, our room was clean and all appliances were in working order. We will definitely stay again. The restaurant in the hotel did not look open and staff was not there. We really wanted to use the bar but it was not available
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 30, 2021
Dear Steven, THANK YOU for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 23, 2021
Thank you for your review@

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 22, 2021
Thank you for your review!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Only one ice machine working in the hotel. Wi-Fi is very poor, room was comfortable enough.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 22, 2021
Thank you for your review! To my knowledge all but one of our ice machines are operational. I will check that.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Sep 19, 2021
Thank you for your review

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
This property is aging and could really use a facelift. My room was hot when I entered because the AC wasn’t on at all.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 21, 2021
Thank you for your review!

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 16, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Awesome staff and comfortable room
I love my stay! The gentleman who checked me in was very friendly and professional. Management was awesome. The bed was super comfortable and had four big, very comfortable pillows. The room remained cool for hours after turning off the air conditioner. And, I appreciate the convenience of the parking garage attached to the hotel. Due to people and the comfort, I would definitely stay there again.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 9, 2021
Dear Marlene, THANK YOU for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
Could be a better stay
Nice looking & clean. Easy check in. Microwave, mini fridge & coffee maker in room. Free Off site parking. But it’s just around corner of hotel so no problem. I partially picked this because it has a lounge & kitchen. I was thinking we could do room service. Due to Covid, I didn’t want to go out. Well, they’re both currently closed. The room was hot when we got here because AC was off. We turned AC on high at coolest setting & left for a while. Almost 4 hours later, the room hadn’t cooled off much & the bathroom was still hot. They did send maintenance up right away but there was nothing wrong with the AC. We didn’t sleep well. This morning, it’s cooler but not cold by any means. Also, the bed isn’t the worst but it’s not great either. Both of our backs hurt this morning.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Aug 8, 2021
Dear Leila, THANK YOU for your review. So sorry to hear about the issues you experienced. We will contact you privately.

3/5 Okay

Ok but a little run down.
When I first arrived at the hotel, it looked like the ownership had just changed. The restaurant was shut down while I was here, I was looking for a full-service hotel. When I got to my room, I noticed that my windows hadn’t been cleaned for ages, so bad that I had a hard time seeing out. In the elevators, some buttons wouldn’t light up and other buttons had lost their number entirely. Paint peeling from the ceilings… This could be a nice place again if it got a facelift and if they reopen the restaurant for general service again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jul 28, 2021
Michael, THANK YOU for your review! All of the things that you mentioned are being addressed currently. Hope to see you in the future once our facelift has been done.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Renovation greatly needed but comfortable.
Good if you know what to expect. In need of renovation/modernization. It was like being transported into the 80's. It was clean but the state of the hotel itself needs improvement. Had to call twice to get fresh towels. Pool was currently closed (I assume due to COVID-19). Other than that it was comfortable and in town.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you for your review!

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
At night you could hear people yelling, fighting and slamming doors. Some guy was banging on our room's door looking for his girlfriend. A beer can lay on the floor near the side entrance. A pizza crust lay on the table outside the elevators on our floor.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jul 22, 2021
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review! We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit. With a full hotel, with several different groups, attending for various reasons, it's not easy for staff to monitor and stay on top of all areas of the hotel over a short period of time.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
My friend and I were looking for a hotel to spend the night for a quick weekend trip to the lake. We didn't care about
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jul 17, 2021
Thank you for your review!

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jun 19, 2021
Thank you for your review!

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jun 17, 2021
Thank you for your review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful hotel and the staff was very courteous. The hotel is in the middle of the cultural area of downtown. The hotel is just a block away from the Texas Inn the, "T-Room" as the locals call it, which is an interesting dining experience. I definitely recommend staying here.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on Jun 10, 2021
Thank you for your review!

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location was great but no place to get coffee, no place to eat. The carpet in the room was old and dirty. Overall room was old and worn
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Tony Camm GM on May 31, 2021
Thank you for your review!