Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Lots to see!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: In-room microwave and mini-fridge.
Location: Hiking, Small towns, D-Day Memorial, Poplar Forest
Route 11 (from I-81 to Lodge) is extreme, downhill twists and turns, go slow and cautious, it's also not very long. Lodge restaurant and registration building is 5-star, very nice looking. The rooms are basic cinder block walls, but clean and comfortable. The view of the lake and mountains are very nice. The hike to the top of Sharp Top is challenging (not dangerous), but at times, a strain on cardiovascular system. Go slow, stop and rest, views from the top are spectacular. Hike to the top is 1-1.5 hours and trip down is easy. Bedford is a charming town with good food and small shops. The D-Day Memorial is all outside (consider weather), but the guided tour is interesting and will probably save you time from stopping and reading all of the plaques. If you can, read the book "The Boys from Bedford" before you go. Will return to this area to climb the other peak, visit Poplar Forest, and ride bikes on the High Bridge Trail.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Was to be a romantic ending to a long trip.. not !

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: the view was beautiful..
Location: Location right off Blue Ridge Parkway.. beautiful view overlooking lake with mountain in background..
The hotel reminded me of the Dirty Dancing hotel and loved the balcony overlooking the lake altho it was too cold to go out there... but the rooms were old and altho was told that they were redone last year, did not portray that... found a used hairy washcloth on top of shower rod... front of dresser was covered in either coffee or coke. window sill overlooking lake was covered in dead flies... the restaurant prices were a little extreme in my opinion.. did not eat there because of that.. had called and requested an upstairs balcony room.. also put in my comments when I booked.. luckily when we got there they were able to fullfil by request because it was not full... but was told I would have one 2 months in advance when I booked..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Great location. Room was very musty smelling. Room needed a good thoural cleaning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful lake setting

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Loved the peaceful setting, lake view, and great hikes right from the lodge
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

What a view!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Everything! Also liked that it was dog friendly
Cons: Because it's so far from stores , it would have been nice to have a mini fridge and microwave.
Location: The scenery all around was beautiful. We visited the Natural bridge, that was only a 15 min. drive. Lots of vineyards and a wine trail.
Though it doesn't look like much from the parking lot don't be discouraged. Once you enter the room and open the curtains to see the beautiful view and balcony(which every room has) you'll understand why you must book this hotel well in advance. The room we had was spacious with a sitting area, a wall mounted HDTV and a comfortable king sized bed with clean modern linens. The bathroom was small but clean and adequate. The grounds are well kept with several seating areas. The lodge consists of 4 long building arranged around one side of the lake so you could just sit and enjoy the view or take a walk on the trail surrounding the lake. We even saw some otters playing in the lake in the early morning hours. The first building you come to is the welcome desk and restaurant in which a whole wall was windowed so you can enjoy the mountain view during dinner. Yes, we did eat there and took advantage of the bar. Because this is right off the Blue Ridge Hwy you don't have much of a choice unless you like driving those mountains at night..we opted for not! That was OK though because dinner was good and the atmosphere and service even was better! We came to this lodge from FL to get in a little Autumn scenery this year and we truly enjoyed it! Thank you Peaks of Otters!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Setting

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The view from our room of Lake Abbot was beautiful. Easy one mile trail around the lake. Coffee pot in room, large TV on wall ( had to watch Cubs win!), Restaurant on premises all made for convenient stay. Right at entrance to Parkway via route 43 from Bedford. Food was good at restaurant even though the menu wasn't large. The bed was comfortable. We were able to book a king sized bed. We ate breakfast twice and dinner once during our 3 night stay. Going up Sharp Top mountain is a must. We took the bus but still had to hike 1500 feet more. A little rough being we are in our 60s but so worth seeing the 360 view from top. You can even view the lodge and if it had been a clear day one can see West VA mountains.
Cons: They stress water conservation (even challenge you to 5 minute shower) but why isn't toilet updated to the newer ones that use so much less water? Spotty Wi-fi
Location: Right at entrance to Blue Ridge Parkway via RT 43. Lots of hiking trails you don't have to drive to. D Day Memorial is a must see.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great time!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Beautiful!
Clean and simple, great views, friendly people at this hotel. Great salmon at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: There are lots of hiking options and the drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway is a delight.
Three of us shared a room on a recent night, and all very much liked the room (each one has a balcony) and the wonderful view of the lake surrounded by mountains. The restaurant food was good, and we enjoyed the well-kept walk around the lake as well. The staff were all professional and courteous. We also liked that they encourage recycling by providing a bin in each room. We hope to return for a longer stay sometime.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views, and friendly hosts.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: We loved the surrounding trail access and quick hop onto the Blueridge Parkway to explore!
Cons: We have no complaints. Enjoyed our stay very much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Had some trouble with heat, either on high or off.