Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

out of town for work

Posted Jun 8, 2016
We were working on a project at a nearby airport. The hotel was convenient and nice enough for work travel. No problems with the accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Location is nice but...

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Repair various room items - shower curtain, AC/heating unit cover. Have sufficient linens to give clean ones each day. Clean the common areas.
Location: Across from LU. Some nearby restaurants (not the greatest though). Difficult to enter/exit when local school is dropping off/picking up students (LCA)
I stayed there 5 days, and not a single day did the cleaning staff have bathroom linens - something was always missing, and I had to go to the front desk every evening to get a towel, or a washcloth, or a bath mat. When I mentioned this at check out, I was told they had ordered more that very day. On check-in, the only bathroom amenities were 4 bars of soap. On my third day, I got 2 bottles of shampoo. That was it for the entire stay. They didn't have anything else. The floor in my room needed vacuumed, which they took care of when I asked. There were sunflower shells in one stairwell on my first day; they were still there when I checked out. The shower curtain rod was falling off the walls on each end; I'm surprised it didn't come completely down. I expected a little better, since the hotel is across the street from Liberty University, meaning they would almost be guaranteed a steady stream of parents and prospective students over the year. Given the terrible upkeep of the hotel, I'm surprised they remain in business. I'll be staying somewhere else during my next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Not for those who work nights

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Room wasn't vacuumed when our checked in. Even though I specifically requested action, the room was vacuumed over my entire 4 night stay. Apparently, the vacuum only works from 8-10 just outside of rooms with Do Not Disturb signs on it. Breakfast very sparse a well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people, disgusting room

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: The people were very friendly and helpful!
Cons: Cleanliness is imperative. I can understand it is an older building, but the rooms were disgusting.
This place was sketchy and gross, to be polite! It was obvious that nobody cleaned the room. It was not vacuumed or even wiped down! There was a ton of hair in the 'YMCA' bathroom drain. There appeared to a palm sized amount of mold growing in the picture and a leftover burnt incense stick to boot. I slept on the bed with my clothes on and my jacket over the pillow... I assumed a hotel couldn't be any worse than camping and I was wrong. GROSS!
3 out of 5
by Adam

Just good enough; but still lacking.

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel before and it was okay. It continues to decline. There was breakfast, if that's what you call stale cereal and watered down apple juice. There was more food but lacking. The wifi almost never worked, nor did the tv (it stuck on one station). The shampoo is the best I've ever used at a hotel and the room was okay. However, I doubt I'll stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Connie from wv

OverPriced

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
For the cost $224.59 for a king room at Super 8 Lynchburg VA 3736 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg was overpriced and out of reason. We have stayed at Super 8 in Daleville, VA before with a double room that was cheaper, cleaner, and nicer for 1/3 of the cost of this room. The only reason we chose this was because of location to Lynchburg University. What a terrible, overpriced, experience. Something needs done at management level to fix this incompetent mess. We will not stay again. Thank you, Connie Helmick
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Never experienced this

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Went in first room and must have not been cleaned because someone had used the bathroom and did not flush. I flushed it and it overflowed. Room 2 sheets stuck to mattress cover with stains on them. In stead of front desk accommodating us they pretty much asked us to go somewhere else. Will never go to a super 8 again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Good for an inexpensive one night stay.

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: Price, proximity and availability.
Cons: If the room was warm upon arrival.
When I was checking-in, the evening desk clerk was providing me information while he was walking in the back room. The morning desk-clerk was much more relational and professional. When I opened the door to enter the room, a gust of cold air blew by me because the window was wide open, causing the room to be a mere 40 degrees. Thank goodness the heat worked so that by the time I came back to go to sleep it was warm. The TV remote had no batteries and the desk clerk didn't have any either. The breakfast was like what I would make at home so it was good.
3 out of 5
by Marjorie from Lancaster, PA

Hotel a little dated but adequate

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Visited family in Lynchburg over 4 days. The hotel and room were adequate; however, the housekeeping service had room for improvement. When cleaning our room, we never had our towels replenished and had to go to the desk. We were told by the housekeeper that they always bring the towels later in the day (not sure when but we arrived at 5pm and did not have clean towels). We were awakened at 10:20am on Saturday and we asked the housekeeper to return in an hour. She told us that was against policy and she could not return. Not sure why as we were not checking out till the next day. We had to leave the room for 10 minutes for her to clean. Again, the towels were not replenished and we had to go to the desk. The housekeeper did clean the room adequately and was pleasant. We also had an incident on a Friday night in which an inebriated male was running in the hallway and banging on all the guest room doors. The police were notified and he was removed without incident. No harm was done to any of the guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will pay more for a better place next time

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Will never stay here again. Didn't sleep at all the first night due to people running up and down the steps right by our room ALL night. Smelled marijuana all through out the hallways both nights also. Would really appreciate a refund because even though it was cheap it wasn't worth the money