Ratings based on 1,870 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Short but nice. Very clean. Nice people working to be helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Glad you appreciated all we have to offer, from the little "boutique" touches and services to all the amenities - we just feel the same way! We've got a great bunch of staff and always great to hear their hard work is appreciated as well! Thanks again for the terrific review, see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

For the price, one of the best hotels.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
I paid $150 with tax. Definitely the nicest hotel for the money. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful. They also have nice little touches like cookies and lemonade in the lobby. Overall great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for truly appreciating our hotel and our staff. We work very hard to ensure our guests have the ultimate guest experience -we call it "Affordable Luxury"- being taken of from the moment you walk in by our courteous front desk staff; enjoying the luxuriously comfortable rooms; dining at our award-winning restaurant; and having all of your needs and requests seamlessly taken care of. We hope to see your again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful staff and beautiful hotel!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
We had some travel difficulties due to flight cancellations. After driving all night and arriving very late, the staff was warm and checked us in to our room quickly so us weary travels could get much needed sleep. The rooms are spacious and clean. Loved our stay at this hotel and will definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
So sorry to hear you had trouble getting out from the airport but very glad you got to stay with us and experience our independent hotel and the type of service and amenities we strive to provide. We love our staff and have some of the best in town! See you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Awesome friendly service and beautiful ambiance.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The ambiance...the fact that it was so elegant and not like chain hotels...
Cons: Not really anything... I just wish my stay would have been longer...
Location: The location is great - was in town for work. Close to restaurants and the facility where I was visiting.
The personnel was awesome and the facilities were beyond those of a basic chain hotel. I have already recommended friends to check out the Kirkley...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We do take great pride in our independent hotel & restaurant and in providing those extra "touches" you mentioned. We always try to go the extra mile to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and seamless as possible, working hard to keep our hotel as clean and well maintained as possible. Thanks again for a great review and we look forward to your next visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Find another place to stay

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Very quite! The Liberty Univ football team was staying in the hotel on Friday night. We couldn't tell they were there once we closed our door.
Cons: Fix all the bad 'experiences' above.
Location: Visit Liberty University on Candlers Mountain.
Unfortunately, this was not a pleasure trip as we were there to attend the funeral service of a relative. Lynchburg has a quaint 'little' town atmosphere with little to do beyond ones' primary reason for visiting. 1. Food: We cannot attest to the quality of their food service as, although the Sunday brunch menu looked fantastic, we just couldn't make it work for us. 2. Check-in was problematic as there was no valet or bellboy to assist with getting our luggage out of the vehicle and up to our room. At check in, the only cart available was one small 3-wheel airport style which took two trips with items falling off the cart twice as I traversed the lobby. Not one of the several employees bothered to even offer assistance. It was easier when we checked out as we discovered the two regular 4-wheel valet carts so we managed to get all our stuff out and down to the car in one trip. 3. The room was spacious so one has to wonder why they only provided one desk type chair and a most uncomfortable modern ‘lounge chair’. The usual folding suitcase table/rack was not present so one’s only choice was to either put the suitcase on the bed or on the floor. Fortunately, there were sufficient drawers in the chest of drawers for us to unpack our belongings. However, once empty, we still had to store the suitcases on the floor in the corner as the closet floor was taken up with the mini-frig/microwave combo. 4. Unlike almost any hotel I’ve ever stayed in, there wasn’t an ice machine on ever
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so sorry for the issues that you had faced during checking in and your luggage. We usually receive kind praise for our staff. If you happen to stay with us again, please feel free to ring the front desk and a luggage rack can be brought to you without haste. Also we had removed all the ice machine from the floors which adds to the quiet experience you had mentioned.Ice is found in our lobby vending room and we'd be happy to bring that up as well. Hopefully you'll try staying with us again and offer us the opportunity to give you the experience we have become know for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashburn, Virginia

Really nice!

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Nice bathrooms, very nice pool, fitness and lobby area - loved the fire pit. Also loved the staff and the service.
Cons: Breakfast - a discount of half off the breakfast buffet would have been nice.
Location: We were in Lynchburg for Family Weekend at Liberty University, and this hotel was an ideal location.
This was our first stay at the Kirkley, and we were very satisfied. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice. Our only issue was with the room temperature - we had trouble controlling it. The staff was wonderful - very pleasant and allowed us to check in early as they had a room available. We enjoyed the pool, fitness center and the fire pit in the lounge very much. My daughter and I sat by the fire pit into the night, and they didn't turn it off until 45 min. after they were supposed to - and even then they were apologetic about shutting it down. It was so nice to be in a place where we really felt like we came first on their agenda. :) The only thing that would have made it more perfect was some kind of breakfast included or at least a discount on their breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We do take great pride in our independent hotel & restaurant and in providing those extra "touches" you mentioned. We always try to go the extra mile to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and seamless as possible, working hard to keep our hotel as clean and well maintained as possible. Thanks again for a great review and we look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Great location to Liberty University

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: The staff are the best
Cons: My main thing I would love to have at the Kirkley is some kind of room service at night, it would be nice to come home at night and be able to order.
Location: location is perfect, close to LU, stores and restaurants
This was my fourth time going back to the Kirkley. Another enjoyable stay, hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are always super friendly. Love how close it is to LU, stores and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Cathy, thank you for the 4 stars. Your loyalty is so very much appreciated and yes we have the greatest bunch of staff we could ever ask for, just fantastic! I'm so sorry, we don't offer traditional room service. You can call in and pick up when the restaurant is open (till 9pm weeknights and 11pm weekends). Thanks again for your great review, hope to see you soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Effective

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Upscale room
Cons: Bathroom is not ergonomic because old shool
Location: You wouldn't go to Lynchburg unless you had a good reason anyway.
Effective hotel, somewhat old but they have attempted to improve the interior. Though they have a non-smoking policy, the rear of the building attracts smokers and the air blows back into the corridor. It should be a smoke free campus. Not the best parking area. Overall convenient to Lynchburg. GPS is not reliable however for locating hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are truly sorry for your experience with us. Please be assured that we will follow up and share this with our owner and management team. We always strive to provide the best possible guest experience but we obviously fell short that day. Thanks again for your review, let us know next time your in and we can guide you to some of the great things our area has to offer!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Franklin, OH

Noise

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Room comfort
Cons: Fix the problems as stated above.
Location: Nothing to do on Sundays.
I drove 7.5 hours to see my daughter that I haven't seen in months. It was a rainy day and we had to stay in and played games as a family. (We couldn't watch/rent movies on the tv as there wasn't any access) Nothing to do in the town since most businesses are Christian run and closed on Sundays. Nonetheless, while playing games at 7pm, I received a call from the front desk asking us to quiet down because someone else complained about the noise of us laughing. Instead of someone from the desk coming to investigate the situation themselves they decided it was ok to appease the other tenant's complaint instead of them telling them that it was early evening and there wasn't a restriction on quiet time at the hotel. The hours of 10pm to 6am are routinely quiet times at most other hotels. Nonetheless, our fun laughter and good time was cut short due to some idiots request. And the hotel had no holds barred when housekeeping knocks on everyone's door at 8am to see if they can clean the room and opens the door if you don't fly out of bed right away to answer the door. No signage was provided to let housekeeping that you didn't want bothered in the am. They knocked on every door ! Will not visit this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We encourage our guests to post candid comments about their stay with us. We are truly sorry for your experience with us. Please be assured that we will follow up and share this with all our staff members. We always strive to provide the best possible guest experience but we obviously fell short that day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Twenty trips to Lynchburg, first time here

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Always stay at the national chain hotels, first time at the Kirkley. Spectacular,. Best in Lynchburg. Don't let the plain exterior fool you. 5 stars all the way around
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind and candid review. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel. We take great pride in our independent hotel and are thrilled you agree that we offer the best option in Lynchburg for affordable luxury! Hope to see you soon!