Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location, highly recommended

Posted Jul 5, 2016
This hotel is ideal for a short city visit to Lyon. Well located, clean, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are not huge as previous posts mention but we managed (2 adults and a 4 yr old) for 3 nights. Would definitely recommend and also stay at other Campaniles' if they are like this one!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tb

to small

Posted Mar 14, 2016
no room service, to small, even breath is to difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

nice hotel close to rail and tram station

Posted Nov 9, 2015
room was clean and comfortable.bar staff was good service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livingston, New Jersey

It is a lovely hotel to stay at.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: It was extremely convenient to the railroad station (Gare Perrache) and also to Catholic University where I taught a one week seminar.
Cons: They are in the midst of renovation and I am certain when this has been completed breakfast will be available.
Location: There are an abundance of restaurants and also little shops on the Rue de Victor Hugo
This is my third time at this hotel and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from England

Respectable Establishment in Central Lyon

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent and the staff I interacted with were extremely helpful, taking the time to talk me through a map of the city.
Cons: My door was stiff to the point of being difficult to open and, due to refurbishments, there was no on-site breakfast. No in-room fridge.
Location: The hotel is between the rivers (which are perfect for strolling along) and near the Old Town and the Basilica & Roman ruins overlooking it.
The Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence is situated between Lyon's two rivers and is within easy walking distance of the historic Old Town, making it an idea location from which to start an expedition of the city. Directly beside Perrache train station, it has excellent transport links, although bear in mind that this is not Lyon's main train station, the Gare Part-Dieu, although the hotel is readily accessible from there via tram. The receptionist who checked me in was extremely pleasant, enquiring about my journey and taking time to point out (in French) key locations on a map to me when I confessed that I was not familiar with Lyon. Both check-in and check-out were very straightforward. My single room was fairly small, but given the low price, I was perfectly satisfied, especially as, with the exception of the stiff door, everything was clean and fully-functional. A fridge in the room would nevertheless have been a welcome addition. The bathroom was however larger than I anticipated. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment during my stay and should be even better appointed once renovations are complete. My worries that the hotel might be noisy due to its proximity to the railway proved unfounded and my sleep was not disturbed. I was also fortunate enough to have a scenic view of the park outside. All in all, the Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache -Confluence provides excellent value for money to travellers looking for a place to spend the night in Lyon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Lovely hotel opposite pretty park

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The position, the cleanliness and the staff
Location: Lyon is stunning! The hotel is within close proximity to the beautiful cobbled streets with fabulous restaurants and sights
After staying in the wrong end of Paris, the hotel was a lovely surprise. It is opposite a pretty park and within walking distance of the best parts of Lyon. The staff were very helpful and polite and the room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the value

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Good hotel for the price, close to old Lyon and train station. Very helpful staff, comfortable room, a bit old but it's minor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms larger than in the city.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Close to the airport. The restaurant was open fairly late.
If you need a hotel close to the airport, this is fairly convenient. There is a free shuttle to the airport which is about 15 minutes away with heavy traffic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from NC

Small room. Very convenient location.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
OK for 1-2 nights. Small, very basic. Not in the best shape but 2 minute walk to tram bad metro, and a bit further to Perrache rail station.
1 out of 5
by Ruth from London

INFESTED!!!!

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Absolutely NOTHING it was DISGUSTING
Cons: EVERYTHING, starting with eradication of the infestation of parasitic bedbugs that would eat you alive in your sleep, after that general cleanliness.
Location: I have no idea I didn't stay in the hotel long enough to find out
I arrived at the hotel quite late, and had to wait being ignored for about 10 minutes while the receptionist took a phone call. Once I eventually got to my room, it was nothing like any of the promotional photos shown in the internet, it was tiny, dark quite dirty, but I could have lived with that. The tea/coffee making facilities consisted of a kettle one paper cup, one tea bag and one sachet of instant coffee, no milk or anything else, again, I could have lived with that, I'm not too fussy really. Then I noticed the BED BUGS on my bed, two of them, I removed them, and started to have a closer look at my bed, then realised there were also Bed bugs crawling out from behind the bed around the walls and even over the ceiling. At that point I took my suitcase and went back to reception, the receptionist did not seem at all surprised and just asked me if I wanted a different room. I said no asked for him to call me a cab and I left, to take my chances finding a room in a clean hotel elsewhere. Of course because I had prepaid my room fee, I got no money back at all. This place is literally DISGUSTING and I would urge NO-ONE EVER BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!