Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Very good hotel in old quarter of Lyon

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble. Great location. Breakfast on the Terrace really enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

schlechtes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: die Lage ....
das Hotel war mit 4 Sternen ausgezeichnet und besaß nur ein Fenster, das so hoch war, das sich nicht hinaussehen ließ !! Die Zimmerausstattung war spartanisch, ein Metallspind der an die Armee erinnerte. Öffnete ich das Fenster, war es unbeschreiblich laut. Also für einen Stern hätte ich es angemessen empfunden .... Bitte sehen Sie sich mein Zimmer des Aufenthaltes an. Ich kann nur über dieses eine Zimmer sprechen. Das Ganze kostete 135 € und ich dachte ich sei bei "Vorsicht Kamera" gelandet. Von Außen betrachtet, verfügt das Hotel bestimmt über nette Zimmer .... Allerdings kann ich das von meinem Zimmer nun nicht behaupten.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not a nice hotel small bed

Posted Jun 22, 2016
The hotel had small rooms small bed my feet were hanging out at the end of the bed there was no fridge in the room no bath and one thing I didn't understand you had to leave the room key with the reception every time you go out which I didn't understand I would not stay again in that hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Really central and fab location

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: location, quirkiness
Great hotel no pressures, no issues and fab location in a great city
5 out of 5
by marie-claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Angela from Washington, DC

Gem in Vieux Lyon!

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Visited Lyon solo for a quick 2 days of sightseeing. Collège Hôtel was centrally situated in Vieux Lyon, a short walk from many of the great bouchons (traditional Lyonnais restaurants), shops, and sights in the area. Very short walk to the funiculaire up to the Basilica. Also easy to walk back across the river to the Presqu'il, Please Bellecour, other historic sites, an the extensive shopping district. The hotel was tidy and charmingly decorated, with attentive staff. I especially loved the bathroom with the luxurious jetted tub!
4 out of 5
by Jean-Noël

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells, UK

Disappointing - not four star.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Central location. Communal fridges on each floor with soft drinks a nice idea.
Cons: Tea & coffee making in rooms plus provision of safe.
Location: Good location.
Very quirky & rustic. Rooms were sparsely furnished (no doubt to reflect the college theme) but ours was dirty on arrival. There was also a very dangerous step in the room, which was unmarked. Our biggest complaint was noise - our room overlooked a very noisy cafe that seemed to stay open all night (definitely the case on Friday & Saturday).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Hotel centrally located, staff extremely helpful

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Super friendly staff, very helpful with recommendations, comfortable lobby
Cons: Double beds for couples does not work, not enough space which means people don't sleep well. Room interiors are a bit sparse, feels a bit cold.
Location: Excellent restaurants, but need to know where to avoid tourist traps.
Location of hotel is excellent. You are in the middle of everything without feeling the energy of the city or the noise. There was some confusion regarding my reservation and the staff was able to clarify it quickly and without issue. Rooms are sparse, per the branding of the hotel, but personally feel they take it a little too far. The hotel used to be a school so they use black chalkboard paint, clean white paint everywhere, but the black and white themes in the room feel sparse and a bit lacking. Every room has a double bed and with for one person, it works. For my couple friends, they struggled with the lack of bed space and bedding.