Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folkestone

Charming hotel but ask for a room at the back

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The superior room was very small - we wondered what a standard room was like..... No air con in February so we had to keep windows open and let in the night racket from the street. One night a laundry van was parked at 1.30 am making a loud noise for about 45 minutes. Reception was friendly but a bus map would have been helpful. Breakfast was good but the chlorine smell from the pool area impinged. I realised too late I should have requested a room at the back. Not really 4-star standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Great staff, convenient to airport. Perfect as a transit location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Great hotel centrally located. Rooms are updated and clean, perhaps on the small side, but very nicely appointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful, comfortable hotel in a super cool historic area, and close to transit. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sweet hotel with lots of character

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
HGT was lovely for a relaxing weekend break discovering old Lyon. The cute basement swimming pool and jacuzzi was quite trippy and very chill. There was a lift, but sadly due to the period of the hotel there were many steps and trip hazards making in inaccessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Perfect location for exploring town, and old town.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
You can easily walk from the main square, and from the Hotel de Ville metro stop to this hotel. You can easily walk to the Old Town across the river, and up to the Basilica. AND, you can rent their tandem, and head out along the river bike paths for lots of green space.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and cozy

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is built in an old structure,so it has some limitations (e.g., a small elevator), but honestly, that is part of what gives this hotel its charm. The modern touches do not detract from the charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yvr

Super helpful staff

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Staff at front desk go beyond what is expected to be very helpful. Locked car keys in car and would probably still be in Lyon except for the front desk folks. Hotel is well located to see around Lyon for a day. We stayed one night on our way from Provence to CDG airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
I loved the pool! The room was great and had wonderful decor. I loved the shower and the nice touch with the bath robes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location, value and the friendly staff.
Cons: Softer bed.
Location: Many reataurants and bars. Nearby, within 5 minutes. Old town is 10 min walk across the river. All in all a great location.
This hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff where friendly and welcoming. The location was just perfect for seeing the city. Dozens of places for food and beverage nearby. This is not the Ritz, I have stayed at many a luxery hotel but when I have to foot the bill I look for quality at a great price and this hotel hit them all. A softer bed would be all I needed to ask for. This will be my go to hotel when I return to Lyon.