Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good value hotel close to transport hub

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location and value for money
Cons: A bin in the room would be useful although there was a very small pedal bin in the bathroom.
Location: Nice supermarket across the road and pedestrianised walking street a few minutes walk away.
The hotel is very close to Perrache station and a nice walking street with shops and restaurants. From the airport I took the tram to the second stop and then connected with metro line A that runs straight to Parrache. The tram is a little expensive, but slightly cheaper if you buy your ticket online in advance (which I did). On arrival the hotel receptionist was very friendly and spoke good English. My room was a little small, but had everything I needed with good wifi. I didn't have breakfast and instead went to a local cafe which works out cheaper if you only want a drink and croissant. Overall the hotel was very good value and I enjoyed my stay. Many attractions are within easy walking distance of the hotel and the area generally seems very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Right downtown

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: Needs some updating, painting. Breakfast was so-so
Lyon did not impress me much. Lots of restaurants nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

5 mins to Perrache station

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location. The size of the room. Breakfast
Cons: The bathroom sink area is a bit small.
Close to the downtown area. The location is very convenient. The room is quite spacious compared to regular European rooms. The bathroom is a bit small but very clean and organized. The breakfast was pretty good especially the egg poaching machine and the ham and salami section. If you want to save money but still want to stay in the 2nd district (downtown area), this is a perfect hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for a brief visit

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Small but comfortable room - perfect for a short stay. Great location, walking distance to everything of note in the city. Walls are quite thin - the couple next door seemed to be really enjoying their stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
No coments
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good value for money but a little dingy

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the location was good. The rooms were clean
Cons: The decor of the rooms was quite dark and dingy and the beds were uncomfortable. There was no hair dryer and milk for tea and coffee in the rooms.
Location: The location was excellent and walking distance to lots of great places to visit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable bed and the showers are really good.
Cons: Dungeonesque decor and slamming doors
This was my second stay at a budget hotel in Lyon and I preferred the other hotel. Hotel des Savoies is quirky in its decor and lay-out but the black wallpaper makes it feel a little like a dungeon. It is clean and comfortable though. Although the rooms are small, they feature a good use of space so I never felt as though I was lacking anything. The showers are great. One thing which was bothersome is that the latching mechanism of the doors require that the doors be slammed rather forcefully in order to latch. It was other people slamming their doors which woke me up every day during my stay. Although the noises of other guests never kept me from sleeping, when awake, I did notice that I could hear entire conversations of other guests from my room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well decorated, convenient location, small rooms

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location, beautifully decorated and staff very helpful. Bed was very good however room was too small for my wife and I to be comfortable. A toaster and microwave would have been useful, but room too small to fit them in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was brilliantly located and staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels