Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, England

Good value hotel in Lyon centre

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Cheap and cheerful hotel in centre of Lyon, was comfortable but a little noisy with windows open and bit hot with them closed. Within walking distance of old town, approx. 25 mins which was great. The main gripe was the private parking which was quite a way down the road and difficult to lug suitcases up to hotel. WiFi was very slow too but for the money you can't really complain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bang on for what we wanted

Posted May 16, 2016
Looking for a cheap room to stay whilst visiting for the rugby. Perfect and cheap. Exactly what I wanted as was looking for a cheap price. Clean basic and safe. Staff helpful. If you just want somewhere to sleep and go out with mates then this is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara

Good hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016
The people in the hotel is great, The breakfast is good only The problem is not in ground, is 1 first floor up,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Very underwhelmed, but its in an OK area. Its a bit tired and the staff aren't exactly helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada - Lebanon - Switzerland

Avoid

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Bed/pillow was comfortable (even though dirty)
Cons: Cleanliness
Area: Overpriced: Paying $100+ a night for this was absolutely a rip-off. Especially considering that’s how much I paid per night at a 4 star Hilton Hotel in Times Square New York. Counter: Not very welcoming. Little English (not an issue for me but may be for others). Took a photocopy of my passport, which I had never had done at any hotel so it was quite uncomfortable. Wifi: the wifi info will only work on 1 device. So when I used it to log in on my phone, I was not able to use it on my laptop. Tip: Plug in your phone using the usb then create a Tethering spot on your phone. It should get it to share the internet. Wifi was pretty slow too. Cleanliness: Where to start?! I lifted the bed sheets and on the mattress I have hair, locks of hair, dust, stains and POSSIBLY bed bugs ( I saw black spots through the mattress so I’m not 100% sure). Very reluctant to sleep on it. Didn’t dare check under the bed. Bathroom is clean. No shower curtains. Room: There is a half sized pillow in the closet and that’s it for pillows. The back had stains. No air conditioning. Tried to open the window for fresh air and the smell from the restaurant downstairs/nearby was way too strong.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Adequate for a stop-over in Lyon

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: proximity to the tram stop and metro.
Cons: it was in need of TLC
Location: Not the most up-at-heel part of Lyon.
The reception had no record of our booking although we'd phoned the day before, and they were fully booked. Fortunately, they had a spare for such eventualities so we faired better than the couple who arrived after us, also with a booking, who were turned away. It was adequate for a stop-over on a rail tour, but I wouldn't want to stay there longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Convenient basic hotel but look elsewhere.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location on T1 tram route which links the two main rail terminals and other points of interest such as the Musee Des Confluences. Easy walk to centre.
Cons: Air conditioning. I had to have the window open at night and got bitten by mosquitoes. Wifi was slow and erratic, often not on.
Location: On T1 tramline. Walking distance of tourist office, the Museum of the Resistance, most points of interest in the city centre. Many useful shops close.
Room was quiet and clean. At back of hotel, so away from tramline outside front of hotel. Breakfast was good value for 7 euros for a reasonable buffet, though I have had better buffets included in the room price at other hotels. There was no air conditioning, which should be a basic essential in any hotel in Lyon summers. I had to have the window open at night, so various insects moved in and bit me. The wifi (another basic in the modern world) was woeful. Slow, erratic, often unavailable. And you had to ask for a wifi password which was time-limited before it expired. The layout of the rooms was bizarre, as they were not arranged on conventional floors. There was a small, unusual and very awkward elevator, but it did not stop at the level of my bedroom, which was on a corridor running off an intermediate landing. So I had to haul my suitcase up and down stairs. I had considerable problems even finding my room when I arrived, as it was a simple room number, which bore no relation to its vertical position. Given the structure of the hotel, these massive shortcomings simply can't be overcome - unless you completely gut and rebuild the interior. Room was well maintained with basic toiletries replaced in the bathroom. But it is close to many useful shops, including a dry cleaners, several restaurants, two supermarkets (including a big Lidl) and a patisserie. There is a Metro station 300 metres away which allows quick access to other tourist spots, including the Lumiere museum
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Staff were not welcoming and room had very basic facilities. Would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to old city and the rhone & Saone rivers.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Cons: air conditioning
close to old city, rhone & Saone. reasonable distance from railway station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Close to Place Bellecour

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Breakfast is good value and rooms are reasonably clean.
Cons: Very outdated decor, needs an update urgently. Shower over bath but no screen or curtain so bathroom floor gets soaked.
Location: Place Bellecour is a 15 minute walk and close to tram stop for Lyons Part Deau but very noisy area at night.
Hotel is situated in not a nice area. Lots of kebab, pizza, curry places crowd it in. Student area and is noisy at night. Taxi rank on opposite corner with car radios playing all night. Not a place for more discerning travellers.