Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, very polite and helpful staff!

Posted May 16, 2017
The stay was very nice, hotel has a good location. Easy to walk around, close to the train station, park and business district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good 2 star hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
While the bathrooms in the rooms are a little small, the hotel is very good value for money, especially considering its proximity to the metro.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Good Staffs Breakfast could be improved
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The staff was very helpful and informative about the area.
Cons: Everything was great with my stay. No complaints. Would stay here again to see Zurich.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this for my daughter, a student, who had to go to Lyon for a meeting. This is what she says. - Room reasonably comfortable and pleasant. - Bathroom very basic and toilet didn't look stable, flush button broke the second I touched it - No toiletries apart from soap/body wash stuff that smelt horrible and made my hands red and sore - Breakfast nice - limited choice, but fine for one morning - Heard loud conversation that might have been argument between what seemed to be two staff members or manager and staff member while I was eating breakfast. Made me feel uncomfortable, couldn't not hear it but didn't feel like my business. - When I went to reception desk to buy toothbrush/toiletries the guy there was really nice, but I suppose I shouldn't have had to go there. A pack with toothbrush, toothpaste and shower gel cost 5e. - Location good and central, but lots of noise outside window at night. - Got on Wifi but couldn't get Internet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel to enjoy Lyon.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Car park we have reserved wasn't available, but the staff helped us to find the public parking space nearby. Hope they could tell us we need to pay at the machine straight away. We came to know it when we asked if we need to put any sign up. Location is good. Not many bars and restaurants really nearby, but in 15-20 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location and helpful lovely staff

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Staff is really nice, they are helpful and remember you that is a nice little touch :-)
Cons: Some mentioned as well that the hotel uses some kind of cleaning material that smells unpleasant.
Location: Very convenient location, you can easily walk to most of the places,
Perfect for a long weekend. I had an "economy" room, it is indeed very small but it's fine as long as you don't want to spend too much time in your hotel room. The hotel must have been recently refurbished, the bed is comfortable and the lounge is nice to sit around in case you have some time in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel convenient for train station

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Its situation and ethos and the delightful cherry theme!
Cons: The mattresses in our room were a little lumpy. Only one hand towel for 2 people was provided though a second was given without complaint.
Location: Near Lyon Perrache station. Handy for Place Bellecour and vieille Lyon.
Hotel Simplon is like stepping in to past while being very conscious of the environment. Staff were extremely helpful and an excellent breakfast of good quality is provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Typical room

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location is the best part
Cons: Can't make the rooms bigger...so nothing.
Location: Walking distance to several museums ...close to trams and metro...close to Bellecoeur the main square...little grocery store across the street.
We stayed here 4 nights. Great location close to trams and metro. Took a taxi from Par Dieu the main train station for abou 17 euros as it was quite late when we arrived, but the tram goes directly to the station Parreche within one or two blocks of the hotel. Ample restaurants within walking distance for morning coffee etc so you don't need to eat at the hotel. Lovel park one block away. Clean room...nice decor but barely room to walk around the bed. Staff did not seem to know as much as other staff in hotels where I have stayed. However, they were very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Christchurch, New Zealand

Great hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very good, efficiently run hotel that is handy to a lot of the town on foot and close to a major public transport hub. A good breakfast was available and our room was very comfortable and great value for money. Stayed for four nights and it proved an excellent base from which to explore Lyon. Would definitely stay here again.