Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The stone tower, La Tour Rose, through which you could climb to your room via a spiral staircase.
Cons: we were happy with the hotel in all respects.
Location: It's in the heart of Vieux Lyon (Old Lyon). There are cobblestone streets around the hotel, a traboulle nearby, and many shops and restaurants.
We wanted to stay in Vieux Lyon for the Festival of Lights 2016. Vieux Lyon had several of the exhibits plus it is a World heritage Site. This hotel was perfectly situated, just 100 feet from the Metro Station and Place St. Jean . The hotel was clean, friendly and nicely decorated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by La tour Rose Lyon , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your post . We have really appreciated people like you. Our Hotel is different like other and you have liked that, even if sometimes it was not so perfect ! We hope your comeback in OHIO has been cool because your house was under the snow ! :) La tour Rose thank you again, Best regard, Anna-Sophia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Somewhat mixed

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: La Tour Rose has the potential to be a really top small hotel, and in some ways it’s already there - the large rooms, the position in the Rue du Boeuf, the interesting old building, the designer furnishings, the helpful staff, the prices.
Cons: In other ways it has some work to do. The front desk is not manned after 11.30. We arrived in mid-October 2016 to find that not only the restaurant, but also the bar, was closed for alleged future refurbishment. As a result there was also no room service. We were not warned of any of this in advance and there was no mention of it on the hotel website. One new front desk employee had clearly had no training and knew nothing about the hotel. She actually switched off the lift at 11.30 one evening just as we were arriving back from dinner; it was fortunate that she was still there, as my wife is disabled and could not possibly have climbed the stairs to the top floor. The toilet in our room had limited flushing potential, and at one point a plumber had to be called. The worst aspect, and the one most easily addressed, was probably the maid/cleaning service; we stayed for six nights, and the sheets on the bed were changed no more than once (and we’re not sure about that once); I had to ask three times to get a new box of tissues; daily cleaning was pretty perfunctory; some spilt talc on the bathroom worktop was there for two days; the maid left the bathroom window open wide one day so that the room became rather cold by the time we found out in the evening.
Location: About 40 restaurants and bouchons with 5 minutes' walk. Interesting old buildings. Nearby museum.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melmac

like staying at Disney's haunted mansion

Posted Sep 14, 2016
veeeery old hotel, barely renovated. Shower was broken, no wifi signal in room, allergy prone, creepy old pics of people staring at you. No housekeeping we had to ask n the receptionist took care of it. No way a 4 star hotel. Pros: location with lots of restaurants around , has CNBC n Bloomberg. The staff was super nice to us. But I wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
by MR from Armagh, Northern Ireland

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful old style hotel room no distance from great restaurants and bars in the Old Town of Lyon.
5 out of 5
by Diana from Washington DC

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel la Tour Rose was a wonderful experience for us. It is in the heart of the old Lyon [Vieux Lyon] and is also very convenient for walking to the larger, downtown Lyon. Our room was simply lovely, with a very elegant and clean bathroom. The desk staff was very professional and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Gregory from Lyon

A facade

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Looks great from the outside and quite fancy, but in reality if you look a bit closer it is a facade. Plugs falling out the walls, lights don't work, nobody answers the phone when you call reception. Luckily it is in Vieux Lyon, it's only redeeming quality.
2 out of 5
by Rafiuddin from London, UK

Seen better days

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
It's a unique hotel, but not up to the reputation. The room was large and unique, but the bathroom and separate toilet felt dated. The hotel seems to have had a good reputation for events, but the front desk was barely staffed, the restaurant was empty, and so was the hotel it seems, in early September. The location was great, in the old part with lots of restaurants in the evening, but few options for breakfast. Worst was the wifi and tv, neither of which worked reliably, which was a big problem as a business traveller.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was charged twice for my stay at this hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Cons: Customer Service
I was charged twice for my stay at this hotel. I paid through Expedia with my corporate card, but when I arrived was charged again on my personal card. I have emailed and called the Hotel la Tour Rose several times and never received a return response. I have escalated my claim, and will never stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Excellent location, hotel in very poor condition.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: New bedding, remodeled bathrooms
This was a 1 night stop over for us, so we didn't mind, especially for the price. If we had been staying 3+ nights we would not have stayed. This hotel is in a very ideal location in the old town center of Annecy along the canal. For those that want a quiet nights sleep, then this might not be a good choice as there are revelers into the night and then the work crews and delivery start early. The hotel is a reminder of others we have stayed at in Europe that are bare bones basic - which personally I think you need to do at least once, otherwise you get spoiled and lose some of the charm of an old, cramped, built a long, long time ago hotel of yester-year.
5 out of 5
by Dave from Fort Collins, CO

Intimate hotel in the heart of Lyon's old town

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
Was working in Grenoble, and flying out of Geneva on Sunday before Christmas, and thought I'd stop in and check out Lyon. Old town Lyon is gorgeous, and the Tour la Rose is right in the middle of the old pedestrian area. (The taxis have a special way to lower the barrier and get you right in which is handy, but other than that virtually no traffic in there.) I booked because of the reputation of the restaurant, which did not disappoint