Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lawrence

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient and nice hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was in a wonderfully convenient location with respect to all amenities - restaurants, shopping, metro, etc.
5 out of 5
by june

One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in.

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Figure out where the front door is before you arrive. There is reserved temporary parking, but not on the street we thought it was - the hotel sits on a corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Great breakfast.
Cons: Internet access and speed can definitely be improved. Even the paid fast internet is extremely slow and inefficient.
Location: great shopping and restaurants nearby; walking distance.
Welcoming staff made our stay a warm experience. Spacious rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast is wonderful. Great location. Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by BARBARA CARBONNEL, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great comment regarding your stay. We hope that in spite of your bad experience with the internet access, we will have the pleasure top welcome you among us in the future. Please accept our apologies. Sincerely. Barbara Carbonnel Sales Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location to explore Lyon

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Clean, traditional, spacious room, exactly as described, good breakfast spread, pleasant staff, good value for quality - you get what you pay for.
Cons: Very little. Perhaps more satellite channels in English? But then, why would you stay in your room watching TV when Lyon is just outside?
Location: Old Lyon is a foodie's paradise. Beautiful rivers to cruise, great shops (when the pound is stronger), really pleasant people everywhere.
Checked in for a surprise weekend for the wife's birthday. Pleasant staff, no fawning, just polite and helpful. Perfect English spoken in response to my pidgin French - couldn't ask for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The patio doors did not close fully and our room had a draft. Once we closed the blackout drapes it was comfortable.
Location: The old city, lots of restaurants and bars, the subway
This hotel is a bit dated but we found that added to its charm. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is located within walking distance of the old city and a subway stop is across the street. We were very pleased with our choice of hotel. The added bonus is that Paul Bocuse's L'Institut is located in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good brand/mediocre hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Sofitel can do better. No doormen. Shower in disrepair. Staff so-so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Fantastic boutique hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Everything. The location was superb and the hotel itself was very nice
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: The hotel is on the place bellacour and is perfectly located for restaurants shopping and touring.
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The rooms (we had two because of a wedding in the middle) were very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and breakfast was terrific. Everything about the hotel was good: Cleanliness, courtesy, comfort, location. It was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from largo, Fl.

Le Royal is gorgeous!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms were lovely, the staff was extremely courteous and the breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Nice area to walk and sightsee. We were especially interested in seeing Notr Dame de Fournier and Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
My family and I were treated like royalty or as the staff said like family.