Ratings based on 485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camberley, Surrey, UK

Excellent location and Hotel style.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Style, location, and our Junior Suite was massive. The Concierge was very friendly, knowledgable and helpful.
Cons: Nothing !
Location: The Bellacour square has the Lyon main Tourist Centre, together with both Metro station, Tour Guide starting points; and many excellent dining options
The location of this hotel in the Place Bellacour is excellent for both transport and restaurants. The Lyon hop on bus and City Card are a great value and means of seeing this large town, and the choice of dining establishments is very extensive. Also, the Rhone Express is a very good option of getting to and from the Airport, highly recommended. We had a very enjoyable 6 day stay, and the train journey link to & from Dijon was a good option too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely good location; luxurious rooms

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and boutique luxury.
Cons: Front desk staff on day 2 was brusque and inaccurately responded to question regarding a possible later booking.
Location: Metro stop steps from hotel, close to shopping and restaurants.
1st night stay on 9 day vacation....very lovely rooms (deluxe with view of Place Bellecour). The breakfast was great and the adjoining rooms were perfect for our family of 4. Hotel staff very accommodating for our stay and even offered a 2nd bed so that my teens didn't have to share a bed. We were most appreciative of that. the breakfast was the best of our stay in Europe and I would definitely try to stay here again when visiting Lyon. The concierge and check in staff on day one were perfect. Only downside was the front desk clerk inaccurately answered my question about a possible later booking...saying no rooms were available... when when I checked just within an hour later online they were. I did not book. I got the feeling she didn't really desire to help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Overpriced not worth 5 stars

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Location but that's it.
Cons: Refresh filthy wallpapers in corridors, review bathrooms, don't give paper cups for tea, increase room size, put transparent curtains top of blinds...
Location: Place bellecour is very central
I was very disapointed by this hotel : tiny room, corridor wallpapers needing a refresh, etc .. but worse for a five star hotel, I had to request propers cups to replace paper cups proposed by default in the room for tea. What's next : plastic cups ? Other details were wrong, such as the lack of screens / transparent blinds on windows if you like being under dressed but still enjoying Lyon's warm sunlight. Also, no bidet and the tiniest bathtub I've ever seen for this hotel category. I believe you can find plenty of better alternatives both on cheaper end or on real luxury end.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Le Royal, Lyon

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Beautiful hotel in the heart of a gourmet hot bed easy access to all the sites and fantastic restaurants.
3 out of 5
by patricia

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
Très déçu pour un hôtel 5 etoiles petite chambre et salle de bain pas du tout agréable rideau de douche en plastique je n y retournerait pas
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2016 by Barbara CARBONNEL, Hotel Management
Chère Patricia, Quelle déception de vous lire. Je suis navrée que vous n'ayez pas apprécié l'hôtel. Je suis ravie de vous annoncer qu'une deuxième phase de rénovation de salles de bain est prévue courant 2016. Nous avons également différentes catégories de chambres avec différentes superficies. Nous invitons nos clients à réserver la catégorie Supérieure ou Junior suite pour plus d'espace. Je vous propose de me contacter directement. Je serai ravie d'échanger avec vous. A bientôt, je l'espère. Bien Cordialement. Responsable Commerciale.
5 out of 5
by OLIVIER from Marseille

Bel Hôtel de Charme

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
Pour une nuitée dans la ville Lyonnaise excellent escale dans ce bel hôtel de charme que je recommande vivement
5 out of 5
by Huseyin cemal from İstanbul

Yürekten tavsiye ederim

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Her bakımdan mükemmel yeri,oda konforu,ve özellikle cok sevecen sıcak ilişki.kahvaltı harika.butik otelin en üst seviyesi,gerçek 5*.
5 out of 5
by Cyril

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: All is good
Very nice boutique hotel, centrally located, easy to access
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get the newer rooms and city view, if possible.

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
This one is a good choice. I had a small issue related to the room I got. In the site it looked like that the room had a bath tube. I asked for a room with city view as well. But not all the rooms had a bath tube. So you get a little confused if the room they gave you is the correct one you booked, since you didn't book the cheapest one. We had complained and they offered us a room that should be the same category of ours, but had a bath tube. Well, the room was not in good shape. It sure needed fixing mainly in the bathroom. So, be aware when you book what you are paying for. Besides that, the stay was very pleasant. The hotel has a good atmosphere, but does not have a fitness area.