Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caracas

This is not a Hotel. Do not recommend.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: lousy
Cons: Should not be posted in Expedia as a Hotel
Location: Location is good if you do not have to waste your time looking for the property and its manager.
We felt completely deceived. This is an apartment in a building with no identification. Thanks only to the concierge (extremely kind and helpful) of a (true) neighboring hotel (The Cour des Loges), did we learn that our "Hotel" was in little building with closed brown door. The concierge managed to get through to the person that was supposed to welcome us. It took us 2 hours to figure that out. Once the guy showed up with the keys Then you have climb a 60 step (I counted them) very narrow spiral staircase. Of course, there is no one to help you with the luggage. Once inside, the main bedroom is spacious, but the bathroom is as small as you can possibly get. And there were flees jumping around. We think expedia should reimburse us for such a dismal failure and disappointment. They should verify properties before allowing their customers to be so bluntly miss led
5 out of 5
by Brian from Austin, TX

Home in Lyon

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I travel often. Each month we travel within the U.S. Each summer we take a trip overseas. We've stayed in many hotels; some have been nice, others...not so much. My wife and I agree that Le Petit Tramassac is our favorite hotel/B&B of all. The location is perfect. It's an historic, protected building from the 13th century; smack-dab in the middle of Old Lyon. Of course, the room has modern utilities, but maintains an old-world charm. Vincent, the owner of the property, is EXTREMELY welcoming. He gave us pointers on where to eat explore. He warned us of the tourists traps. He made us feel right at home from the moment of our arrival. If ever in Lyon, please do yourself a favor, and BOOK THIS HOTEL. You will be thankful you did. My wife and I are, and we have many fond memories of our "home" in Lyon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Samta Rosa CA

This apartment is lovely.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. The apartment is spacious and decorated nicely. It has all the amenities you need and the location is excellent. Vincent will meet you at the apartment and go over all the details. He also offers resturamt recommendations. We went to three of the restaurants that he recommended and they we fantastic. Just be aware you need to be able to climb steep stairs, if that is not a problem book this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful boutique-style apartment - recommended!

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Everything! Overall, a charming, well-equipped apartment in the perfect location.
Location: One of the best - very central and in one of the prettiest parts of Lyon. Most attractions/metro/funicular within walking distance.
A hidden gem! I’m so glad that we chose to stay here during our Lyon break. I can’t imagine a better place or location from which to experience the city. A lot of thought and care has gone into the gorgeous décor and this beautiful apartment is extremely well-equipped boasting the all-essential corkscrew, free Wi-Fi, hairdryer, washing machine, tea/coffee and even a dishwasher. The custodians of Le Petit Tramassac are extremely accommodating and the check-in/out process at the apartment was very easy. We emailed our arrival times to the staff (who seemed happy to communicate with us in both French and English) using the form on their main website and arranged to meet outside the apartment to collect the keys. It was all very efficient and hassle-free. Moreover, you couldn’t ask for a better or prettier location (and I'd rate Vieux Lyon over Presqu'île for a holiday-type break) with the majority of Lyon’s attractions and amenities sited within walking distance. Le Petit Tramassac itself is just a few minutes’ walk away from both the metro & the funicular that takes you up to the Basilique Notre Dame de Fourviere and the Roman theatre - a must for any new visitor to Lyon and free to wander around except for if you’re visiting the museum. Unless you have serious mobility issues (in which case the spiral staircase could be a bit of a problem as detailed by previous reviewers), I’d wholeheartedly recommend Le Petit Tramassac to any visitor to Lyon. Definitely stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect For The Intrepid Traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2016
For those who want an authentic experience of historic Lyon - and are up for all it entails - this is the PERFECT room for you. We loved the experience! This is not a hotel - but rather a series of rooms located right off of Rue St. Jean - the major pedestrian walkway. It is a very 'petite' little side street and the entrance is virtually a secret passage into one of Lyon's famous spiral staircases up to your room near the top of the building. Those with concerns about heights or who have trouble with stairs would be better off elsewhere; the steps are very steep and safety is not built-in. Once up to the room (it is the equivalent of 4 flights of stairs), the room is very nicely decorated and very well equipped. And you could not be a better location for exploring Vieux (Old) Lyon. My wife and I hope to be back next year. TIP:There is a restaurant nearby that is very authentic and of high quality: Aux 24 Colonnes. The best bakery in the area is: Boulangerie Du Palais (outstanding).
5 out of 5
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Gorgeous apartment, quite unique.

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Not much
Location: Old town, shops, sights restaurants, transport, funicular, churches.
3rd floor apartment in a 14th century building. If you're not up for a 3 floor spiral staircase of approximately 50 steps every time you want to go out this is not for you! Lovely living space, lots of mirrors add to the feeling of space. Well equipped kitchen and had a washing machine which is a definite plus. Staff were extremely helpful, recommending places to visit and eat. Close to restaurants, cafes, markets, shopping, and many interesting places to visit. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: An authentic stay with a great design and space.
Location: Situated in the Old Town. Walking distance to all areas of Lyon. Perfect location. Be mindful there are ~60 stairs to climb but this adds to the charm
A very warm welcome by Vincent which was second to none. He was so kind and thoughtful on arrival - taking our bags to the hotel room, telling us about the history of the building, providing a map of Lyon and highlighting things for us to do! The accommodation was amazing, we were very comfortable and the location was really central. We would definitely stay there again! Thank you Vincent for your kind hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

July 2013

Posted Jul 27, 2013
An excellent option for anyone wanting to stay in Vieux Lyon and who doesn't mind walking up four flights of stairs. Worth the walk for those who are physically able!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel très bien situé dans le vieux Lyon

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: La situation et le personnel
Cons: Au niveau des escaliers
Location: Excellente situation
Reviendrons ! À conseiller ! Très confortable et calme malgré la situation