Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Novotel hotel Lyon

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: the check/out was smooth, hotel staff were helpful.
Cons: the hotel furniture and carpets need refurbishment urgently.
Location: Location is average, not much to do in the vicinity, one has to travel to the city center, nothing in walking distance of interest.
The Hotel smelled from the moment we entered it, the carpets obviously very old and probably rotten, the hotel is is need a a major refurbishment. Room was smelling again probably due to the carpet that seems very old and heavily used. The elevator card system does not work properly. The price vs the result was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pleasant hotel with pool and dining options and secure parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Lyon Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: everything was as expected of a good quality hotel
Cons: signage in car park
Location: a short tram ride from centre, shopping centre 2 stops down.
very pleased with this hotel only difficulty was finding the hotel car park and lack of signs to find your way from car park to hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A Decent Hotel for a Quick Stay

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Location: Close to he aquarium and the main highway
Great staff, clean small rooms. My room had a smell of cigarettes that no one seemed to pay attention to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK, Midlands

Was there for masters athletic world champs.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Had a great 9 nights while champs were going on used hotel as was situated between the 2 athletic tracks I needed. Great staff, pleasant and friendly. Meals were fab. Close enough to walk to shops and restaurants. (30-40mins walk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Close to the city.
While the hotel was clean and comfortable, most of the staff did not seem to speak English. The hotel was right next to a Tram station that gets you virtually anywhere in town. Overall, this hotel worked out well for my family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Close to the city, but not walking distance. The rooms need updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

After long tiring trip this was pleasant surprise

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: All very good
Cons: Car park signage
Location: Had an evening stroll to river but didn't go far enough to discover many things nearby.
Had read other reviews, some good, some not so, so was not expecting too much. Just needed for a stop over on way to Spain and after a long days travelling was pleasantly surprised at how nice, clean, tidy and helpful hotel was. Staff understood English and were very nice, room & bathroom was lovely and clean, breakfast was good. Restaurant in evening was really good. Only one slight confusing issue is the parking. There is ample parking but need to be aware that it is underground and a bit difficult to find which area is Novotel and once parked how to get out of car park. After a bit of wandering around down there we saw small sign and escaped into stairwell and then foyer. Leaving, you have to enter codes to lift shutters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Overnight stop on way to South

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I had an overnight stay with my two children. The staff on the front desk and in the restaurant and bar were attentive and friendly. The hotel is geared up to cater for families and this made the whole experience very straight forward. Novotel has its own allocated parking area which has a higher level of security, which gave peace of mind with a car full of holiday luggage. We had a nice room and dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. I would certainly stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Banging in the walls

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: Location, staff and appearance
Cons: Banging in walls all night long!
Great Hotel...only issue was a banging in the walls ALL NIGHT LONG!!! Heat pipes??? Breakfast was ok.